We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Neorion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Neorion Hotel
Ranked #6 of 1,150 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Aust
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in a triple share room in early June and found the hotel to be as good as stated in all the other reviews.
We booked directly with the hotel on the internet and Loreta from customer service couldn't be more helpful.
She arranged for the purchase of Museum cards and transport cards for us which made sightseeing so much easier.
A transfer from the airport is free for stays of 3 nights or more and a 10% discount is available for payments by cash.
We arrived at the hotel early in the morning and was offered breakfast even though at that stage we hadn't checked in yet.
What made our day was that a temporary room was provided for us to use (to rest in and shower) whilst we waited for our room, which was available from around 11:00.
No requests were too much and staff went out of their way to be helpful.
The location was excellent, a stone's throw away from heaps of restaurants and small shops selling all sorts of goods and food, very close to the port, the tram and within walking distance to all the major sites in Old Istanbul. Very close to Banks and ATM machines also.
It was very close to Hodjapasha theatre as well where we went to see an excellent show called White Rose, the hotel can book or buy tickets for you.
Breakfast is plentiful with an excellent selection of hot and cold foods available.
There is also a selection of mezes available each day for free from 1-7pm laid out by the hotel. We took advantage of this on many occasions and found the food excellent.
We had to leave early on the last day and the hotel made the effort to lay out breakfast for us an hour before opening time.
I've been to many hotels over the years all over the world and can honestly say this is up there with the best in terms of service. You will not regret staying there.
One other thing, triple share were 3 separate beds and at all times the correct number of towels, toiletries, water etc.. were provided, which in my experience is not always the case elsewhere.
Internet is free and of a reasonable speed with 2 free PCs provided for guests' use in the lobby.
Even though the hotel calls itself a 3 stars hotel the service and amenities provided takes it to 5 stars in my opinion, without the snooty attitude and price. You also don't have to tip or nickel and dimed for everything like at 5 stars establishments.
I've noticed one reviewer mentioning something about Asian customers being treated with disdain by staff in comparison to Caucasian clients. We did not find this to be the case the whole time we were there. We ourselves were treated with the utmost courtesy and respect even though we did request a lot of "extras" from the hotel - by the way we are of Asian extraction ourselves so I don't know where that particular person got his/her observation from.
The hotel is near to 2 mosques so the daily morning muezzin calls to prayer may be a bit loud.
Rooms with street views may be noisy due to the trams. Ask for a room away from the street if this is a concern.
In summary this is a great hotel, not luxurious by any means and with no views to speak of but with vastly superior service in comparison to the 5 stars. I would not hesitate to recommend to anyone and would happily stay at this place again next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street if noise is a concern
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank austraveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neorion H, Guest Relations Manager at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for the Comments regarding our hotel.
We are pleased you have enjoyed your stay here!
Being a excellent hotel in your opinion is something that gives us happiness and motivation now.
It is always a honour to host you here.
Looking forward welcoming you on your upcoming trips to the city.
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,975 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,667
    280
    23
    3
    2
See reviews for
679
1,471
167
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (649)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed here at the suggestion of a friend, and we are so glad we did. Spacious rooms, quick and excellent cleaning service, wonderful help from the concierges, fine location in the old city (and near the tram to travel elsewhere), and a great meze (snack) buffet from 1:00 to 7:00 p.m.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chip445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We were very happy at this Hotel! The location was perfect, the accommodations were top notch, the service was excellent and included breakfast and afternoon snacks and even a glass of wine here and there at no charge. They have a great roof top terrace with a fantastic 360 view and seating. They made reservations for all our events and the staff could not have been more helpful. This hotel is a real treat!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neorion H, Guest Relations Manager at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your comments about Neorion hotel and Staff working here.
We are so happy to know you were happy here.
We hope we get the chance to host you again..
Neorion Family sends You Best Regards..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Very good hotel - it is not much to look at from the outside but the inside is impeccably maintained and we found the service great. The views from the roof are amazing. Pro's - quite room, good bed, great shower, friendly helpful staff, decent breakfast. There is also a spa/pool and my husband got a massage - very good. Transfer to the airport was coordinated as well. Highly recommend, we would stay there again.

Room Tip: we did not have a view but the room was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The hotel is in a top location just a short walk from some of Istanbul's top attractions. We were able to get everywhere we wanted to go (Blue Mosque, Cisterns, river cruise, bazaar etc) in less than a 10 min walk. Our greeting was really nice. We were given a drink on the house and then a member of staff talked us through how things worked and where things were. It's also worth noting they provided a mini bus pick up from the airport. Rooms were clean and spacious without being grand. Breakfast was good quality and as expected from a standard hotel buffet, without being special. There's a really nice roof terrace with good views of the Bosphorus and whilst it doesn't have an in situ bar there is a phone to order drinks which appear without bother, although a touch slowly when it's busy

Room Tip: Ideally go for a higher floor to distance yourself from street noise (though this isn't too bad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neorion H, Guest Relations Manager at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments here regarding our hotel.
Thank you as you have chosen us for your accommodation in İstanbul.
So that we could get the chance to introduce you our service.
It is always a plesure hosting you here!
And we are looking forward to welcoming you on your upcoming trips to İstanbul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The Neorion hotel was everything we could have asked for in a city centre hotel in Istanbul. Central location, spotlessly clean rooms which provided everything we needed and decent breakfast buffet. The thing that really set it apart was the amazing staff, everyone we met could not do enough for us, from the very informative but not over the top welcome chat, the great restaurant that they booked for us for dinner (Matbah) to the service we received on check out, they were superb all the way through. I would stay here again without hesitation and recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in the heart of the old city. Only point for improvement would be to have a bar on the roof terrace, the fact you had to ring down did delay the service, but this is a minor point in the overall experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neorion H, Guest Relations Manager at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your reviews.
We are so pleasure now with the ''amazing staff''definition.
Your happiness isour motivation!
Hope to welcome you in your next trips to İstanbul.
Best Regards From Neorion Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We have spent a full week at the Neorion Hotel in Istanbul. The location of this hotel is perfect, all the major sites being within walking distance. Service quality and the excellent hospitality made us feel “at home”. Although small, the room was pleasant, and the bed extremely comfortable. Breakfast is good, and the free buffet, served between 1 and 7 p.m., may feel very welcoming after a full day of sightseeing, or as an invitation for a mid-day break at the hotel. The menu, however, could be more imaginative. Guests can also benefit from the spa until late at night, and enjoy a splendid view of the old city from the terrace. Overall, a peculiar mixture of high professionalism and genuine human warmth made our stay at the Neorion Hotel a delightful experience.
Teresa & Carlos

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neorion H, Guest Relations Manager at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your delightful comments.
We are so pleased to know you enjoyed being here and our service.
It is always a pleasure to host you here,
Hope we will be able to get the chance of welcoming you on your next trips.

Best Regards From Neorion Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#8 of 1,150 in Istanbul
2,986 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#5 of 1,150 in Istanbul
2,964 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,150 in Istanbul
3,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#12 of 1,150 in Istanbul
2,909 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#18 of 1,150 in Istanbul
2,068 reviews
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#4 of 1,150 in Istanbul
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neorion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neorion Hotel

Property: Neorion Hotel
Address: Orhaniye Street No 14 | Sirkeci, Istanbul 34120, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 1,150 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Neorion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Neorion Hotel is at the very center of Istanbul's history and culture, ancient and modern. Named for Byzantium's grand port (see the map) on the Golden Horn, it welcomes visitors from around the world just as the port did in the great days of Constantinople. Neorion is more than a comfortable travelers' refuge in the heart of the city. It was conceived and designed to honor and reflect all of the cultures who have enriched the city and its empires. To stay here is to learn and enjoy the cultures, cuisines, arts and traditions of all the travelers who have come before you.The hotel's 53 guest rooms and suites bring the past to life, with all modern comforts. The swimming pool, Turkish bath, massage spa, cultural library, and museum-quality decorative arts are supplemented with complimentary fine arts musical performances, cuisine demonstrations and cultural events exclusively for hotel guests. Stay with us! Experience all of Istanbul, ancient and modern, right where you live, and just outside our door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Neorion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing