We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room & location but a few negatives”
Review of Recital Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Recital Hotel
Ranked #65 of 1,150 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Qatar
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great room & location but a few negatives”
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Positives: we booked a corner room for 5 nights. The room itself was large and spacious for all 4 of us (children aged 9 & 12 on double sofa bed). Room is spotless, comfortable & all you could ask for. Hotel is in a good location; 5 minutes walk to the tram routes/manjor attractions. Staff all friendly and helpful.

Negatives: our room smelled of smoke when we arrived. The hotel would have moved us had another family room been available. The smell dissapeared after a few days of leaving the windows open. Breakfast very average. Good range of cheeses + cold meats + figs etc. Bread rolls. Bread for toast. 3 cereals. Boiled eggs. Chips/fries made an appearance on our last morning! 2 types of juice - not fresh. Unfortunately the buffet was not well replenished when things ran out. And mugs and glasses weren't always available. In the room, you only get a free bottle of water for the first night and have to pay thereafter.

I would rate this hotel as excellent based on the room and the location, but just gave it average due the the poor breakfast. Overall, I didn't feel it provided value for money based on the room rates we were paying over new year.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JocketteQatar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seyfettin C, Manager at Recital Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2013
Dear Recital Hotel Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for your kind attention to our Hotel.It was ver kind of you to spare some of your time and convey us your comments regarding our services.
We believe that we can improve our services by the comments and suggestions of our guests.
We do appreciate your kind contribution to our perfection in this regard.
We hope to welcome you here in Recital Hotel Istanbul again with all our traditional hospitality.
Yours Sincerely,

Seyfettin CETINCAKMAK
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    611
    220
    35
    2
    1
See reviews for
210
348
65
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

great location in the middle of Sultanahmet, very nice rooms and very helpful staff. Standard room was upgraded for free; It's the best price - performance hotel in Istanbul, I'm sure. I'll definitely book it next time I'm there...

Room Tip: i think all rooms are ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janez R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seyfettin C, Manager at Recital Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2013
Dear Recital Hotel Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for your kind attention to our Hotel.It was ver kind of you to spare some of your time and convey us your comments regarding our services.
We believe that we can improve our services by the comments and suggestions of our guests.
We do appreciate your kind contribution to our perfection in this regard.
We hope to welcome you here in Recital Hotel Istanbul again with all our traditional hospitality.
Yours Sincerely,

Seyfettin CETINCAKMAK
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2012

I stayed at Recital Hotel for 2 weeks in September 2012. I recommend this hotel to anybody who is looking for a comfortable, clean place to stay near central Istanbul. Staff at Recital Hotel are very polite and helpful. I especially thank one member of staff called Ersin for his kindness and hospitality and wish him the best in his hotel career! I look forward to booking another stay there for next year!

Room Tip: Rooms on level 3 have a good view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marjan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seyfettin C, Manager at Recital Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2013
Dear Recital Hotel Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for your kind attention to our Hotel.It was ver kind of you to spare some of your time and convey us your comments regarding our services.
We believe that we can improve our services by the comments and suggestions of our guests.
We do appreciate your kind contribution to our perfection in this regard.
We hope to welcome you here in Recital Hotel Istanbul again with all our traditional hospitality.
Yours Sincerely,

Seyfettin CETINCAKMAK
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

I had a great stay at this hotel during my visit to Istanbul in November 2012.

I felt very welcome upon arrival and was instantly given some tips on places to visit in the city. Room was nice and clean and very quiet, air conditioning (not needed this time of year but good thing to have), nice bathroom with shower, TV. Room was cleaned every day to a good standard. Most of the main attractions are less than a ten minute walk away, and there is a tram stop about 3 minutes away.

Too minor things to point out is breakfast was ok but not great and I took quite a while to find it (no big fancy street lights) but apart from these small things it was a great stay for a reasonable price, would come back.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wzirmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seyfettin C, Manager at Recital Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2013
Dear Recital Hotel Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for your kind attention to our Hotel.It was ver kind of you to spare some of your time and convey us your comments regarding our services.
We believe that we can improve our services by the comments and suggestions of our guests.
We do appreciate your kind contribution to our perfection in this regard.
We hope to welcome you here in Recital Hotel Istanbul again with all our traditional hospitality.
Yours Sincerely,

Seyfettin CETINCAKMAK
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2012

I've been in Istanbul last may 2012 the weather was great and Recital hotel was perfect very clean, wonderful location near to most important historical places in sultan Ahmed area grand bazaar blue mosque etc.. But the most important thing was the staff which built with us me and my family very nice worm relation and they assisted and guid us every time we need them and we built a friend ship with few of them specially I mention the receptionist Murat , the restaurant waiters supervisor Gukhan,and his pretty wife and other staff .if I visit Istanbul my first choice would be Recital.

Room Tip: Perfect location
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Osamaalrayyess1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seyfettin C, Manager at Recital Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2013
Dear Recital Hotel Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for your kind attention to our Hotel.It was ver kind of you to spare some of your time and convey us your comments regarding our services.
We believe that we can improve our services by the comments and suggestions of our guests.
We do appreciate your kind contribution to our perfection in this regard.
We hope to welcome you here in Recital Hotel Istanbul again with all our traditional hospitality.
Yours Sincerely,

Seyfettin CETINCAKMAK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

The Recital is close to everything or most things in Sultanahmet, 3 mins. to the tramway on Divan Yolu which connects you to most of Istanbul and 10 minute walk to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, Topkapi Palace and the Cistern.
Many good restaurants are very close by and the Grand Bazaar is also about 10mins. walk.
The hotel is clean and the staff very friendly and most speak some English. We were there for a week and they could probably change the breakfast a little more, and it's time to change the toaster (the bread would not stay down, you had to fiddle with it too much). The scrambled eggs were always out and we would be there between 9:00 and 9:30, a small thing granted but we never got scrambled eggs and we were there for a week. But overall the breakfast was acceptable.
Our room was perfect (201). For someone that needs quiet to sleep it could not have been better, it faced the back of the hotel probably the air shaft, there was a frosted plexiglass over the window so you couldn't see out, but when you went to bed and closed the window and put on the air you could hear nothing, no city noise at all, so got a great night's sleep. If you want a view of the city go to the roof where the view is spectacular, you can see the Golden Horn with Beyoglu on the other side and also across the Bosphorous to the Asian side.
The mattress was a little firm but that is how we like it. The room size is just right and the bathroom is modern with a very good shower. All in all the Recital is a perfect little hotel and the next time in Istanbul we will be back.

Room Tip: If you face the back it will be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seyfettin C, Manager at Recital Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2013
Dear Recital Hotel Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for your kind attention to our Hotel.It was ver kind of you to spare some of your time and convey us your comments regarding our services.
We believe that we can improve our services by the comments and suggestions of our guests.
We do appreciate your kind contribution to our perfection in this regard.
We hope to welcome you here in Recital Hotel Istanbul again with all our traditional hospitality.
Yours Sincerely,

Seyfettin CETINCAKMAK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We travelled with our 20 month old and it was perfect. Close walking distance to all the major iconics. The staff were absolutely wonderful with our daughter and assisted us in every way possible. Would definitely go back so a big thank you to all the staff you made our stay wonderful!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JIZK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seyfettin C, Manager at Recital Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for takind the time to post a review on tripadvisor.I am very glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay at Recital Hotel.Me and my team would be happy to see you back at Recital Hotel .

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#19 of 1,150 in Istanbul
756 reviews
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#13 of 1,150 in Istanbul
888 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#63 of 1,150 in Istanbul
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#30 of 1,150 in Istanbul
822 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,150 in Istanbul
1,734 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#40 of 1,150 in Istanbul
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Recital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Recital Hotel

Property: Recital Hotel
Address: Binbirdirek Mahallesi Piyer Loti Caddesi, No: 21 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 1,150 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Recital Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recital Hotel, located in the central part of the historical peninsula Sultanahmet, offers its luxury and hospitality to our guests. Most of the historical attractions of Istanbul are either within a few minute walk or can be easily reached by various means of transportation.Some of the most famous ones in the environs of Recital Hotel are St.Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Underground Basilica Cistern, Grand Bazaar, Spice Bazaar, Ancient Hippodrome and the Obelisk of Theodosius. Recital Hotel has 31 spacious and individually decorated guest rooms, including 3 Corner Suites, 2 Superior Sea View Rooms, 9 Superior Rooms, 3 Deluxe Rooms partial sea view and 14 Standard Rooms. All rooms have a private bathroom with bathtub or shower, free high-speed and wireless internet connection, hairdryer, direct dial telephone, flat screen HD LCD TV, satellite system, minibar, self control heating/air-conditioning, a safe box and tea/coffee facilities. The stylish rooms and luxurious amenities at the Recital Hotel make it an elegant sanctuary that shimmers with sophistication. The hotel has a fitness,a bussiness center and a terrace overlooking the Marmara Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Recital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing