We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and hotel are nice, but staff very poor.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Salinas Istanbul Hotel
Ranked #678 of 1,171 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stayed there for a long week end. Location is nice cause is very close to all touristic attractions of istanbul. Rooms are quite small, but nice. Staff is gentle in the appearance but we discovered that is just on the outside.
We were there for a romantic week end and we asked the reception to book a specific restaurant that we found in tripadvisor and decided to visit. He told us "no problem" but then he commented that "it was full". What is wrogn is that I've tafterward personally called the restaurant and easily booked a table for us both, so it was not full, the reception just avoided to call them.
Moreover, on saturday afternoon, coming back from our morning visits we found the room door open, nothing was wrong, nothing stealed in our room, but the cleaning staff forgot to close the door. Unacceptable in my opinion.
I repeat,nice location, take care of the staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elguanarteme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2013

So the hotel is in a great location (one your driver can find it) and it is within walking distance to all the major attractions, restaurants, the tram....etc. So if you are looking for a place to drop your bags and explore a city it is good for that.
They try really hard to be of service which is great and much appreciated! They offered us some coffee upon arrival and were very willing to help us if we needed reservations so that was nice.

As far as the hotel itself it is in need of some SERIOUS updating. The rooms are old and dated. Mine was quite oddly set up and the blanket on my bed was rough and scratchy. But if you can get it on the cheap and you know what to expect then it is all good.
The breakfast was mediocre. They will make you some eggs if you ask (as they are not just out and waiting) and frankly that was really the only part of breakfast that was worth eating. The rest was very bland and plain.

Summary: cheap hotel, good location, dated and a bit dingy but if you don't mind that type of place adn expect that it will absolutely serve its purpose.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank uptonIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We stayed at Salinas in April, 2013 and we had a great time. Our room was both cozy and quiet. Breakfast was good but repetitive, more variety is needed. The staff were exceptionally helpful (especially Omer and Ali) and we recommend staying here for your next visit to Istanbul.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samir A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

the hotel's location and decoration was very good. it is near to grandbazaar and blue mosque you can go by walking. rooms with ottoman decoration made us feel great. the breakfast in terracce was delicious. staffs was helpful and polite. it was my first staying in this hotel and i have enjoyed. if you think going istanbul, i offer salinas istanbul :)

Room Tip: standart rooms are cheap and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank hatice d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

This is a cute little hotel in a fantastic location, just minutes away from the tram station and the Grand Bazaar. The staff is very friendly and tried to teach me Turkish :) The rooms are clean, the wifi is dependable, and breakfast is served daily with a view of the sea. Obviously this is not the Four Seasons, but for the budget-minded it is an excellent choice.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
16  Thank chiarosscuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

I ve visited this hotel many times and I am a satisfied client....
Easily the best in the Beyazit-Sultanahmet area....great position and value
near to every major attraction 5-10 minutes walk....the Grand Bazaar is 150m away
The rooms are clean and well equiped....the bathroom verry big especially the shower
The manager mr. Hakan is always there for guests..friendly guy....
Will be returning there.....

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Our family of four adults stayed here New Year's Eve. We were impressed by the staff, cleanliness of the hotel and breakfast was fantastic. Rooms are adequate size and water was hot in the shower. Location is superb near the Beyzit stop on the tram and within walking distance from attractions. A good value

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank bill d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyazıt
Kent Hotel
Kent Hotel
#286 of 1,171 in Istanbul
332 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bomonti Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
The Golden Horn Hotel
The Golden Horn Hotel
#242 of 1,171 in Istanbul
400 reviews
Hotel Niles Istanbul
#27 of 1,171 in Istanbul
867 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#3 of 1,171 in Istanbul
3,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salinas Istanbul Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salinas Istanbul Hotel

Address: Mimar Kemalettin Mh. Buyuk Haydar Efendi, No:26 Beyazit | Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #678 of 1,171 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £36 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salinas Istanbul Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Salinas Istanbul which is family owned and it located in the Grand Bazaar district of the old city. Our hotel located 3 minutes of walk away from the Grand Bazaar, and 12 minutes of walk from the Blue Mosque, St Sofia and the Topkapi Palace. Salinas Istanbul Hotel aims to offer its guests a convenient setting for exploring the old city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Salinas Istanbul Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing