We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A new, fresh hotel in Sultanamet is always a treat!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sultans Royal Hotel
Ranked #91 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2011

As a frequent traveler to Istanbul and a fan of staying no where else in the city except Sultanamet, its always great to find a new, fresh experience in the old city which delivers the location, amenity and service necessary. The Sultans Royal delivers the whole package along with a great breakfast and excellent friendly service from the staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank larry01970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (957)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

637 - 643 of 957 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2011

The people who work at Sultans Royal really make the hotel. Everyone, from the front desk staff, to the cleaning crew was exceptionally friendly, helpful and accommodating. They went above and beyond - answered all my questions, helped us find things, helped us learn some key Turkish words/phrases and so much more. When we missed breakfast one morning, they brought the food back out for us. When I wanted to know where I could buy fruit, one of the people on the staff walked with me (it's a really twisty-street confusing neighborhood they're in!) to the nearest fruit stand and helped me negotiate my purchase! When I requested a room change (I'm a light sleeper and was sure to wake up staying in the room by the lobby), they were incredibly gracious and helpful in making it happen.

Breakfast was also a highlight - hot dishes (scrambled eggs, borek) were constantly refreshed; cold dishes were tasty and unique (roasted red peppers with yogurt sauce, potatoes with herbs and other veggies, some kind of sausage in tomato-y sauce, among others); a variety of fresh and dried fruit, yogurt, cucumbers, tomatoes, cheeses, cereal and probably other things I'm forgetting - all nicely presented and in great supply. For drinks there was water, tea (both leaf tea and the granulated fruit teas that are common in Istanbul), coffee and orange drink (this was odd to me as an American - actual orange juice being de rigueur here - but it seems to be the thing in Turkey).

Great location - on a quieter street in a very pretty area a few minutes walk from all the big sites and the tram.

The hotel is new and very clean with simple but pretty decor - traditional Arabic (to my untrained eye) meets modern with lovely painted ceilings, small crystal chandeliers, wood floors, and minimalist furniture in the rooms. If you are looking for the Ottoman rug/antique-style four poster bed experience this will not be for you, but if you are looking for attractive modern Turkish with classic influences, this is the place to be.

Other things to think about -
1. The breakfast room is not your standard rooftop terrace. Instead it is in a sunny courtyard-like room at basement level (although it does not feel at all like a basement - skylights stretch the length of the room). The room was cool in the hot summer mornings, and was prefect for easily-sun-burned me, but if you want breakfast with a view, you'll need to go elsewhere.
2. The entrance to the hotel is up several steps and the elevator inside is up a few more steps - for those with mobility issues.
3. This is a boutique hotel so things are not standard - rooms vary in size. Most of the rooms are a perfectly good size from what saw, but at least one was on the small side. We stayed here twice (at the beginning and end of our vacation) and the second room was bigger, but the bathroom was smaller with space to hang only 1 towel.
4. There was very little space to unpack - a small armoire with 4 hangers (and no space for more) and the tiny dressing table drawers were the only storage space in the room. This, however, was our experience in hotels and pansiyons across Turkey.
5. No sweeping views - the 1st and 2nd floor rooms look out at the street on the front and out at another building on the back. They're still perfectly sunny and pleasant, though and the rooms at the back are quite quiet. I believe the 3rd floor rooms are all family-size, but they might have views.
5. The doors aren't especially heavy and you can hear people as they walk by in the halls. We didn't find this to be too much of a problem because of how few rooms there are on each floor, but I was certainly aware of being able to hear people walking by - and them, presumably, being able to hear us.
6. No washcloths. Only 1 of our hotels in Turkey had washcloths so I guess this is standard as well?
7. It's a bit tricky to find when you first get there. The hotel does not seem to actually be on the street that it's address is. A map on their web site showing walking directions from the tram might be helpful, but the whole area is so winding and poorly marked, you might get lost anyway! That's part of the adventure right?

Regardless, the superb staff at Sultans Royal made sure we had a fantastic stay. We were also able to take advantage of a deal they're running for a free one-way airport transfer, which I took to the hotel upon arrival and from the hotel back to the airport at the end of our second stay - a great convenience.

The only reason I didn't give this 5 starts (circles?) is that being a light sleeper the sounds through the doors were an issue (and the feeling of lost privacy). Even so I can't really imagine a better experience. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: 1st floor rms are near the lobby, rms at the back are quieter (no views), 1 small rm has small patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 0ut-0f-0ffice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

All things were excellent. New hotel spacious rooms super clean best area to live in instanbul what more can you ask for? Staff are all friendly young and very very helpful. Two small remarks as previously mentioned some noise for the back rooms after 8:00 in the morning and the breakfast is good but can be improved a little. O and one more thing for smokers you have to go outside but this is something i prefer although i smoke heavily. If the boss is reading keep your staff and make them happy with payments because they deserve it until the last cent!!!! Definetly stay there

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TERA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

I have only great things to say about this hotel:
- perfect positioning, only 5 minutes away from sights: Topkapı Palace, Ayasofya (Hagia Sophia), Sultanahmet (Blue) Mosque, Basilica Cistern (Yerebatan Sarnıçı) and Grand Bazaar;
- new hotel decorated with a combination of modern and traditional (good taste)
- helpful staff
- good breakfast but no diversity
- quite area

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rossonerro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We couldn't make a better choice! This hotel is just Fantastic. Brand new building perfectly located a few minutes walking from Sultanahmet square.
It is quiet and safe, and with all the amenities you can ask for.
The room has a good size, comfortable beds and extremely clean. There is a flat screen TV with lots of English channels.
But the best thing for us was the staff, people who make their best for the customer: friendly, always with a smile in their faces and very helpful.
The breakfast is amazing: Buffet very varied and fresh.

You can not go wrong with this hotel!

Highly recommended. I hope we will be back soon.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Since we entered into the hotel we were greeted by a friendly person at the reception, this person presented us the hotel and the hotels services. Till the end the services proved to be exceptional. Starting with breakfast which was very good and finishing with sleeping time all it was a dream. Service receptionist gave us information about the places that must be visited. Room cleaning was made every day - all was shining. On the last day we had a surprise - after we visited a small partof town, and we returned to the hotel - .......the car was washed. Top marks for this hotel. 100 points.
N.B. The most hospitable of all - Serkan receptionist who has a special charm.
We promise to return.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Laurentziu34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

The hotel does everything it advertises: central in Sultanahmet, clean room, large bathroom, complete amenities, descent breakfast etc. It's in a safe location, there are plenty of little shops around and it's really 6-7 minutes from Sultanahmet Square. The hotel staff is more than helpful to guide you around Constantinople, where to go and how to go there.

I was only temporarily alerted when some guests checked in at around 17.00 and I could hear their conversation with the receptionist, as well as some workers drilling behind the hotel at 08.00 - but I was already awake. I only mention this, because there's always room for improvement!

We stayed for two nights and it was as a hotel was supposed to be: trouble-free! This hotel will be my first choice of stay when I visit again.

Room Tip: Room 102 has a view at the street, it's really quiet. Room 204 looks at the back of the hotel, n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank soterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Tashkonak Hotel
Tashkonak Hotel
#70 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,472 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
#121 of 1,163 in Istanbul
489 reviews
Sultanahmet
Orient Express Hotel
Orient Express Hotel
#59 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#67 of 1,163 in Istanbul
525 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#28 of 1,163 in Istanbul
714 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#85 of 1,163 in Istanbul
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultans Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultans Royal Hotel

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Mustafa Pasa Sok.No: 29 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £24 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sultans Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sultans Royal Hotel Istanbul is not just another new hotel on Istanbul’s historic peninsular. Situated 5 minutes walking distance to Blue Mosque, Aya Sophia, Topkapi Palace Musem, Underground Cistern and other historical, cultural monuments in Sultanahmet. Sultans Royal small but classic, elegant, recently restored 3 story hotel is ideally located for exploring and discovering this enchanting city and the perfect place to relax while planning your next day’s expedition into Istanbul’s colourful and exciting history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sultans Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing