We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful "home feel" hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sultans Royal Hotel
Ranked #61 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful "home feel" hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed at Sultans Royal for a week earlier in March this year. It was a family trip to celebrate my dad`s 70-s birthday, first time in Istanbul for all of us and staying at Sultans Royal became one of the best experiences & great memories from this trip. If you are looking for a quiet, comfortable, “home feel” kind of place to stay with a great value for the money – this hotel is a perfect choice. We chose it mostly based on the traveler`s reviews & couldn’t have been happier, it ticked absolutely all boxes for us. Easy to use website/ reservation system with a very personalized & proper follow-up from the hotel (we booked directly on their website), airport transfer (free from Ataturk Airport) was there on time to pick us up at 5:00am on Sunday, the hotel is very new (complete renovation less than a year ago) so rooms even if on a smaller side were very clean, comfortable and had everything necessary, quiet neighborhood, really nice daily breakfast buffet and fantastic location – 8-10 min walk to Blue Mosque, Aya Sofia & tram as well as many good restaurants & coffee shops. And I have to say that for us the biggest gem of the hotel was definitely its staff, all the lovely people working there that made us feel so welcomed, almost like we were staying at home with family & friends. The most attentive & friendly people ever, you made our trip to this beautiful city even more special, and your hotel totally deserves all the great reviews given here on Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    732
    196
    21
    2
    3
See reviews for
219
378
83
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Stayed here for my 30th Birthday. We were greeted and welcomed from the moment we arrived. Staff were helpful and thoughtful. Our room on the 3rd floor was open, airrey, bright and modern with our own balcony too. Location was perfect, close to the main tourist spots but in a quiet street. Handy for everything.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonPeggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights. It is a great location as it is within easy walking distance of all the historical sites but is on a quieter street. We had a room on the 3rd floor which had its own outdoor terrace with a table and chairs. The room was a good size,modern,clean with all the standard amenities. The breakfast provided was good and had lots of variety. The staff at the front desk were very helpful. On our 1st day Ahmed gave us an orientation of the city which was very useful. My only confusion now after reading other reviews is that we were not offered a free transfer from airport but paid for both ways so I would clarify this. Definitely would recommend Sultans Royal Hotel!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Joan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Been there in March 2012. Rooms are not very spacious, but very clean and have all necessary amenities. Bathroom is convenient (no problems with the shower). There is no heating (except air-conditioning), so there is a choice between fresh air and comfortable temperature.

Location is perfect for Old City, but is quite far from main entertainment area (Taksim), though tram stop is within 5 minutes walk from the hotel.

Most of the personnel is very helpful and would help you whatever you need. All personnel is English-speaking. Breakfast is ok. Wifi is free and speed is very good.

If you pay in cash you will get 7% discount, also there is a free transfer from the airport if you stay for 3 nights or more.

Room Tip: Room on the first floor is ok, there is no noise from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ukrainian_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osaka, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2nights. It was a little difficult to find but location was good.
Receptionists was friendly and gave us much information for sightseeing. Thanks to them, We really enjoyed Istanbul efficiently.
Breakfast was delicious and included a variety of foods. I recommend this hotel to everyone.

Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank j1990ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

The Sultans Royal is located in walking distance to the Blue Mosque and other points of interest. Many excellent restaurants are located nearby. There is a taxi stand approximately 100 feet from the hotel, though the taxi drivers were certainly the worst part of Istanbul. The tram station is also close and only about an 8 minute walk away.

The hotel was very clean and was recently remodeled. The rooms are an adequate size and larger than many other rooms found in Europe and Asia. I am not sure how the views are from other rooms but our view was the back of an old building. Free breakfast was provided downstairs every morning.

The customer service is outstanding. All personnel at the front desk went out of their way to assist us with everything we needed. In particular, Ersin was extremely friendly and an excellent source of information. We have added a picture of him at the front desk of the lobby.

The hotel provided a free hotel transfer from the airport and would have provided a round trip transfer if we had stayed for 7 days. We thought it was an excellent value at $88/night considering the location, quality, customer service, and complimentary airport transfer.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Sultans Royal. Both gentlemen at the front desk went above and beyond to make our stay special- from lending us a tripod and giving us photo tips, advice on what to see when, lending a phone charger and arranging tours. Our main reason for choosing it was the configuration of their family rooms- two complete rooms at the end of the hall, each with their own bath, but connected by a small hall and with a door closing them off from the rest of the hotel! The rooms were spotless and very new... pleasantly decorated... I'm quite particular about hotel rooms... And these were a just perfect. Breakfast was scrumptious... We enjoyed the variety and found something for everyone! Restaurants- Don't miss Amedros for the food and Bodrum for the view...especially at night...a magical city

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Overseasamerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#25 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Sultanahmet
Premist Hotel
Premist Hotel
#42 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#31 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Tashkonak Hotel
Tashkonak Hotel
#90 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
Sultanahmet
Garden House Istanbul
Garden House Istanbul
#51 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Tughra Hotel
Sultan Tughra Hotel
#115 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultans Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultans Royal Hotel

Property: Sultans Royal Hotel
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Mustafa Pasa Sok.No: 29 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sultans Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sultans Royal Hotel Istanbul is not just another new hotel on Istanbul’s historic peninsular. Situated 5 minutes walking distance to Blue Mosque, Aya Sophia, Topkapi Palace Musem, Underground Cistern and other historical, cultural monuments in Sultanahmet. Sultans Royal small but classic, elegant, recently restored 3 story hotel is ideally located for exploring and discovering this enchanting city and the perfect place to relax while planning your next day’s expedition into Istanbul’s colourful and exciting history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Sultans Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing