We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sultans Royal Hotel
Ranked #74 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2013

This is nice three star hotel with 16 rooms in the sultanhamet district. Tons of boutique type hotels all over so there are a lot of choices. Love the cobblestoned streets... Our room ( was on the side away from the street-so our view was that of the rear of buildings and alleys) was spacious with good bathroom, shower and tub but average amenities....Housekeeping did a fine job - room was always clean.
TV is small and hardly any English channels, but in Istanbul - TV is not necessary (there is always a lot to do). Breakfast was excellent - with grilled veggies, bread, dried fruit, french toast, eggs etc....and was always being replenished.
Great staff - they were always very attentive.
Great location - 5 min walk to Aya Sofya,Blue Mosque,Hippodrome and market.

Room Tip: Room 205 for a quiet sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ikita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (957)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

389 - 395 of 957 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2013

This is a very nice boutique hotel in the heart of the Istanbul area. It is conveniently located within walking distance of most of the must see sites. The hotel is close to good cafes. The rooms are comfortable, well appointed and spacious for Europe. The staff are friendly, extremely helpful and make your stay that little bit special. Would gladly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in the family suit which was 2 adjoining rooms. We enjoyed the room very much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pmaggard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

When we travel overseas, we never make reservations, we just wing it and go to the location we know where we want to be and then go hotel to hotel until we find just the right one for just the right price. We stayed here the week of Thanksgiving. This hotel was in a perfect location near the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Palace and Bazar. The staff were very friendly, they helped us arrange a trip to Ephesus. The breakfast every morning was fantastic. As with any hotels in Europe, the rooms are small, the beds were small. We viewed many other hotels in the area and for the price, this was by far the best!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KMR9900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Our family spent six nights at this hotel and we were extremely pleased by every facet of the hotel. It is very well situated - within a few blocks walk of the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia. It is in a very quaint area, shops and restaurants nearby, but very quiet at night. The front desk is extremely helpful - they book tours and make dinner reservations and provide advice and recommendations as to what to do and where to eat. The rooms are very nice and well decorated. The hotel itself is relatively small (16 rooms; 3 levels) and it has a very warm and friendly and charming atmosphere. Overall, our family would highly recommend this hotel. I cannot think of anything remotely negative to say about it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patricek693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We stayed at this hotel in February and were pleased with our choice of hotel . The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were comfortable and clean. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are looking for a good hotel close to the attractions.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cskrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Excellent hotel!
We visited it in low season and the price was more than reasonable.
The service is really nice. They do care. Of everything you need.
Rooms are also great: beautiful, cozy and clean.
I’ve loved cooked vegetables for breakfast.
I definitely recommend this hotel and will come back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 123_Olena_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Came upon this hotel on tripadvisor and chose based of recommendations. Definitely TWO thumbs up!
(This was the 2nd hotel chosen for the remainder 5 night during my last visit to Istanbul)

The location is pretty hard to find if you're not familiar with the place and if walking from SultanAhmet tram station. Not to mention top of a hill. Best route i found is walk through Arasta Bazaar to the end (closed at night though), then down the hill, 3rd turn left - at a corner lot grocery store. (cant miss it as you can see 3 seafood restaurants through the left lane)

So after searching for a good 20 minutes (had a good walk though it's a nice cozy location) when i finally found the hotel. Arsen (one of the receptionist) was already in front and already greeted me with my name as if knowing me for years. I know they know i was coming but that sort of confidence is just top draw. Upon arriving, i was immediately offered refreshments knowing a had a good sweat climbing the hill. (I had way too much tea in the hotel in the end).

It's a nice small hotel (16 rooms i think) with good setting and a very friendly vibe. The staff made sure they know alot in regards to their guest so that they can cater to every need at a moments request. I made friends with both Arsen and Erdal and the rest of the crew and i had a blast. They in turn introduced to their other friends around the neighborhood which made eating, shopping and sightseeing so much easier.

Otherwise the room is clean, nice, cozy and suprisingly medium to large. Spacious bathroom but no bath (or at least not in my room) but with comfortable seating shower. Interestingly the bathroom's floor was heated which made it comfortable (as Istanbul was still cold). The TV had a lot of channels and be sure to alert reception if you have any TV requirements so that they can set it in advanced for you (though visiting Istanbul, there should be little time for TV anyway!). WiFi is included and fast! They have a fridge in room and although the mini bar rates are fairly reasonable, there are grocery stores just a minute away for any snacks and drinks that you need. Breakfast is included with a decent spread and turkish style available. However there was not much variety in between (stayed 5 nights) but at least the food was tasteful, fresh and appetizing.

It is obvious the staff is highly experienced and they will go the distance to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Highest of recommendations!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matgerad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Tashkonak Hotel
Tashkonak Hotel
#78 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,463 reviews
Sultanahmet
Rose Garden Suites Istanbul
Rose Garden Suites Istanbul
#45 of 1,159 in Istanbul
836 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#70 of 1,159 in Istanbul
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
#140 of 1,159 in Istanbul
485 reviews
Sultanahmet
Orient Express Hotel
Orient Express Hotel
#57 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,767 reviews
Sultanahmet
Premist Hotel
Premist Hotel
#81 of 1,159 in Istanbul
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultans Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultans Royal Hotel

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Mustafa Pasa Sok.No: 29 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £28 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sultans Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sultans Royal Hotel Istanbul is not just another new hotel on Istanbul’s historic peninsular. Situated 5 minutes walking distance to Blue Mosque, Aya Sophia, Topkapi Palace Musem, Underground Cistern and other historical, cultural monuments in Sultanahmet. Sultans Royal small but classic, elegant, recently restored 3 story hotel is ideally located for exploring and discovering this enchanting city and the perfect place to relax while planning your next day’s expedition into Istanbul’s colourful and exciting history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sultans Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing