We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel for sightseeing around Old Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sultans Royal Hotel
Ranked #69 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel for sightseeing around Old Town”
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Sultans Royal provided *the* best service out of all the hotels we stayed for this trip (which spanned 4 cities across Turkey, including a 5-star property.) We got to know 3 of the front desk managers and they all had good spoken English and were very helpful. Like other tourist-oriented hotels there were sightseeing packages available at the front desk, but at no point did the staff get pushy when we indicated we were free-and-easy travelers.

We had to check out at a very early 4.30am on our final day, and the front desk even proactively asked if we'd like to have complimentary packaged breakfast! We found the location excellent for sightseeing around Sultanahmet (short 5-10 minute walk to the Blue Mosque) yet well insulated from the early morning and evening calls to prayer. There literally isn't a negative thing to say (ok, if we had to nit-pick, the WIFI was spotty at times.) Highly recommended, and we'd go back without hesitation if visiting for sightseeing again.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 205 and found it excellent and spacious. Third level facing the street is apparent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank benjtan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    734
    196
    21
    2
    3
See reviews for
219
378
84
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

What an amazing hotel!! Location is perfect, the rooms are very comfortable and clean and the breakfast is delicious. As for the staff, they are the best I have come across.

My luggage was lost by the airline on the way to Istanbul, and had it not been for Ersin, the hotel manager, chasing them up for me I don't think I would have got it back. Not only did Ersin manage to locate my luggage for me he also gave us plenty of local tips on places to see, things to do and places to eat. Turkey is now one of my favourite destinations and a large part of that is due to the Sultans Royal Hotel and their fantastic staff. Looking forward to going back already!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Holly O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We stayed at the Sultans Royal over Easter Weekend. The hotel and rooms are in very good condition and well maintained. The staff is very friendly, always had a smile for every guest, and was very willing to help with recommendations and information about the city. The buffet breakfast has a lot of variety and many Turkish dishes that we enjoyed. There are a couple of nice restaurants close by and it is only a short walk to street of very nice restaurants. It is very well located close to attractions and we were able to walk everywhere.

There are only two points to be aware of for other travelers. Noise travels easily through the walls and we found that some early rising guests tended to wake us up. Yet I believe this is likely to be the case at all boutique hotels in the area that have been converted from existing buildings. If this will bother you, then consider seeking a more commercial hotel. Plus we found the beds very firm and we had a difficult time sleeping as our personal preference is for a softer mattress. If you enjoy a firm mattress then this is unlikely to be an issue for you. It is likely that the noise affected us more because we struggled with the mattress.

Overall, we had a positive experience at this boutique hotel and would recommend it to other travelers.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieAbroad000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

My family and I actually booked with this hotel because of the recommendations on TripAdvisor. I am happy to say that TripAdvisor did not steer us wrong! This hotel was absolutely great! It is perfectly located within walking distance of all the major attractions in the Old City (including the Basilica Cistern, Blue Mosque, and Hagia Sophia), lots of restaurants, and a nice little convenience store. The rooms are large and very comfortable. They also feature painted ceilings (which I really liked). I think the best part of this hotel, though, was the friendly and super helpful staff (especially Ersin and Ismael)! They were all incredibly nice people and made us feel right at home.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SarahS922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2013

This is nice three star hotel with 16 rooms in the sultanhamet district. Tons of boutique type hotels all over so there are a lot of choices. Love the cobblestoned streets... Our room ( was on the side away from the street-so our view was that of the rear of buildings and alleys) was spacious with good bathroom, shower and tub but average amenities....Housekeeping did a fine job - room was always clean.
TV is small and hardly any English channels, but in Istanbul - TV is not necessary (there is always a lot to do). Breakfast was excellent - with grilled veggies, bread, dried fruit, french toast, eggs etc....and was always being replenished.
Great staff - they were always very attentive.
Great location - 5 min walk to Aya Sofya,Blue Mosque,Hippodrome and market.

Room Tip: Room 205 for a quiet sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ikita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

This is a very nice boutique hotel in the heart of the Istanbul area. It is conveniently located within walking distance of most of the must see sites. The hotel is close to good cafes. The rooms are comfortable, well appointed and spacious for Europe. The staff are friendly, extremely helpful and make your stay that little bit special. Would gladly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in the family suit which was 2 adjoining rooms. We enjoyed the room very much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pmaggard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

When we travel overseas, we never make reservations, we just wing it and go to the location we know where we want to be and then go hotel to hotel until we find just the right one for just the right price. We stayed here the week of Thanksgiving. This hotel was in a perfect location near the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Palace and Bazar. The staff were very friendly, they helped us arrange a trip to Ephesus. The breakfast every morning was fantastic. As with any hotels in Europe, the rooms are small, the beds were small. We viewed many other hotels in the area and for the price, this was by far the best!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KMR9900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Tashkonak Hotel
Tashkonak Hotel
#90 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,453 reviews
Sultanahmet
Premist Hotel
Premist Hotel
#58 of 1,156 in Istanbul
743 reviews
Sultanahmet
Rose Garden Suites Istanbul
Rose Garden Suites Istanbul
#50 of 1,156 in Istanbul
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Recital Hotel
Recital Hotel
#67 of 1,156 in Istanbul
876 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#42 of 1,156 in Istanbul
731 reviews
Sultanahmet
Garden House Istanbul
Garden House Istanbul
#51 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultans Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultans Royal Hotel

Property: Sultans Royal Hotel
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Mustafa Pasa Sok.No: 29 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sultans Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sultans Royal Hotel Istanbul is not just another new hotel on Istanbul’s historic peninsular. Situated 5 minutes walking distance to Blue Mosque, Aya Sophia, Topkapi Palace Musem, Underground Cistern and other historical, cultural monuments in Sultanahmet. Sultans Royal small but classic, elegant, recently restored 3 story hotel is ideally located for exploring and discovering this enchanting city and the perfect place to relax while planning your next day’s expedition into Istanbul’s colourful and exciting history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sultans Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing