We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful hotel to which to come back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sultans Royal Hotel
Ranked #74 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Sultans Royal is a wonderful hotel. I was there with my parents for a family vacation, and we spent 5 nights here. Not only is Istanbul beautiful, but this hotel is in the perfect location for the major sights in Istanbul. Located in Old Town, close to the Blue Mosque, the Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace and the Aarcheological Museum and great walk to the Grand Bazaar. There are wonderful restaurants all within walking distance from the hotel. One of our favorite "neighborhood" places was Karina Fish House 3 buildings from the hotel ! It is about a 7 min walk to the tram to get to New Town, and the transportation is very easy. Even announcements in English for the stubborn Americans not willing to try to learn a bit of Turkish.
One of the best parts of the hotel was Ersin. He was so helpful to find the local good spots, Kokoreç and with is fantastic sense of humor, he became part of our family very quickly! He was very patient with me while helping teach me a few key phrases in Turkish.
So glad we stayed here and cheers to new friends and a great place to come back to !

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Samantha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (957)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

382 - 388 of 957 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2013

This small hotel, tastefully converted from a pretty house, is in an ideal location in a quiet street close to the Blue Mosque. It has excellent modernised rooms with air conditioning and double glazing. The rooms are not large but very well appointed with good en suite bathrooms and free wi-fi. They serve a really good Turkish style breakfast in a small but bright dining area. The biggest single plus is the overall genuine friendliness of the staff who could not have beem more helpful. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the location -a quiet street close to the Blue Mosque but there are many similar hotels in the neighbourhood to choose from. The staff are friendly and the rooms are clean.But I expected more for the price.
Is has been recently renovated but not stylishly -glitter on the ceiling decorations, tacky coloured glass etc. Furniture is basic in the small rooms- a small wardrobe with six hangers for two people,two small drawers -that is all the storage space! The shower was in the bath [which had no plug,nor had the sink].The bed was very short.The small vase of flowers was left throughout our stay tho' all the petals had fallen.The walls were so thin i could hear the person in the next room snoring!
Having read of the great breakfast I was disappointed to see old omelettes on a warming disk and orange 'juice' which was cheap orange squash. A choice of four types of olive didn't compensate.All the while loud music videos play on a large screen.The bread ,honey and tea was good.
Overall a disappointing stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank albert057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Sultans Royal provided *the* best service out of all the hotels we stayed for this trip (which spanned 4 cities across Turkey, including a 5-star property.) We got to know 3 of the front desk managers and they all had good spoken English and were very helpful. Like other tourist-oriented hotels there were sightseeing packages available at the front desk, but at no point did the staff get pushy when we indicated we were free-and-easy travelers.

We had to check out at a very early 4.30am on our final day, and the front desk even proactively asked if we'd like to have complimentary packaged breakfast! We found the location excellent for sightseeing around Sultanahmet (short 5-10 minute walk to the Blue Mosque) yet well insulated from the early morning and evening calls to prayer. There literally isn't a negative thing to say (ok, if we had to nit-pick, the WIFI was spotty at times.) Highly recommended, and we'd go back without hesitation if visiting for sightseeing again.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 205 and found it excellent and spacious. Third level facing the street is apparent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank benjtan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

What an amazing hotel!! Location is perfect, the rooms are very comfortable and clean and the breakfast is delicious. As for the staff, they are the best I have come across.

My luggage was lost by the airline on the way to Istanbul, and had it not been for Ersin, the hotel manager, chasing them up for me I don't think I would have got it back. Not only did Ersin manage to locate my luggage for me he also gave us plenty of local tips on places to see, things to do and places to eat. Turkey is now one of my favourite destinations and a large part of that is due to the Sultans Royal Hotel and their fantastic staff. Looking forward to going back already!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Holly O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We stayed at the Sultans Royal over Easter Weekend. The hotel and rooms are in very good condition and well maintained. The staff is very friendly, always had a smile for every guest, and was very willing to help with recommendations and information about the city. The buffet breakfast has a lot of variety and many Turkish dishes that we enjoyed. There are a couple of nice restaurants close by and it is only a short walk to street of very nice restaurants. It is very well located close to attractions and we were able to walk everywhere.

There are only two points to be aware of for other travelers. Noise travels easily through the walls and we found that some early rising guests tended to wake us up. Yet I believe this is likely to be the case at all boutique hotels in the area that have been converted from existing buildings. If this will bother you, then consider seeking a more commercial hotel. Plus we found the beds very firm and we had a difficult time sleeping as our personal preference is for a softer mattress. If you enjoy a firm mattress then this is unlikely to be an issue for you. It is likely that the noise affected us more because we struggled with the mattress.

Overall, we had a positive experience at this boutique hotel and would recommend it to other travelers.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AussieAbroad000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

My family and I actually booked with this hotel because of the recommendations on TripAdvisor. I am happy to say that TripAdvisor did not steer us wrong! This hotel was absolutely great! It is perfectly located within walking distance of all the major attractions in the Old City (including the Basilica Cistern, Blue Mosque, and Hagia Sophia), lots of restaurants, and a nice little convenience store. The rooms are large and very comfortable. They also feature painted ceilings (which I really liked). I think the best part of this hotel, though, was the friendly and super helpful staff (especially Ersin and Ismael)! They were all incredibly nice people and made us feel right at home.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SarahS922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Tashkonak Hotel
Tashkonak Hotel
#78 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,461 reviews
Sultanahmet
Rose Garden Suites Istanbul
Rose Garden Suites Istanbul
#44 of 1,159 in Istanbul
835 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#83 of 1,159 in Istanbul
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
#146 of 1,159 in Istanbul
485 reviews
Sultanahmet
Orient Express Hotel
Orient Express Hotel
#58 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,766 reviews
Sultanahmet
Premist Hotel
Premist Hotel
#92 of 1,159 in Istanbul
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultans Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultans Royal Hotel

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Mustafa Pasa Sok.No: 29 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £28 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sultans Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sultans Royal Hotel Istanbul is not just another new hotel on Istanbul’s historic peninsular. Situated 5 minutes walking distance to Blue Mosque, Aya Sophia, Topkapi Palace Musem, Underground Cistern and other historical, cultural monuments in Sultanahmet. Sultans Royal small but classic, elegant, recently restored 3 story hotel is ideally located for exploring and discovering this enchanting city and the perfect place to relax while planning your next day’s expedition into Istanbul’s colourful and exciting history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sultans Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing