We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sultans Royal Hotel
Ranked #63 of 1,140 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel and helpful staff”
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

Were already booked and paid for another hotel in Taksim Square. Upon arrival we had to change location since our pre-booked hotel was closed because of the protests. The staff at The Sultans Royal is really great and helpful, we couldn't have been luckier when our driver ended up taking us to them in the middle of the night searching for a place to stay. Ended up staying there for 6 nights.

Have to say it is the loveliest find during our stay in Istanbul. The location is perfect, very close to the major sights in the Old town. We had to change rooms during our stay since they only had the suite our first night. Is was beautiful, big room with balcony. Our second room was a lot smaller but also had robes and everything else we needed during our stay. So good we didn't want to change when they offered us to look at different rooms.

While checking out and without us asking for it they offered us a free ride to the airport which was a great end of a great stay.

Helpful?
4 Thank Eva T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    733
    196
    21
    2
    3
See reviews for
219
378
83
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calabasas, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

This hotel was a great fine. It was conveniently located no more than a 5 minute walk to Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, and Topkapı Palace. The hotel was on a very quiet street, away from the noise and crowds. The room was small, but very clean, nice windows that let in a breeze and a good size bathroom. The aire conditioner worked well and was quiet. Breakfast in the morning included eggs, breads, and assorted meats and cheeses, served sunny lower level. What made the stay special was the staff. I arrived at 7am after an overnight flight, and my room was ready and they welcomed me to breakfast. Ersine, running the front desk, not only gave me an orientation, he offered me turkish coffee and we talked about his love of fishing, the south of Turkey, and Turkish coffee. The next day I received lessons on how to make Turkish coffee. After a day of touring,I had a plate fruit waiting for me, and te next day fresh flowers. The room was stocked with a large bottle of water and Turkish Delights. I am looking forward to going back so I can continue my conversations with Ersine.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bruin91302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Nice little hotel near the Blue Mosque. Clean room, king size bed, air conditioning in room that wasn't noisy. Breakfast was buffet only, adequate only. No milk for tea/coffee in room though. Very friendly staff, eager to help. A nice bottle of wine waiting in the room when they found out it was my birthday, nice touch. For a short stay it was just what we needed.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaydeeAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Located in sultanahmet within walking distance to all the major attractions. Set on a quiet cobblestone street, the location and staff were excellent. Front desk were accomodating in all areas, helped with airport pick up, and were a delight to deal with. The breakfast room and breakfast was very good. will return again next time we visit instanbul

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trung Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We agree with all the positive comments in other reviews. Our stay was made especially good by wonderful surprise birthday cake to our room! Thank you to a very friendly and thoughtful staff, who helped to make our holiday even more special.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

The hotel staff have been very accommodating! Our room was spotless with wonderful little touches that made our stay even more enjoyable. The hotel is in a perfect location, just a short distance from some of Istanbul's most beautiful sights.
We will most definitely stay here in the future on our next trip to Istanbul.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

The Sultans Royal Hotel made our experience in Istanbul great. On arrival we were upgraded to a room on the top floor with a terrace. That room was really nice and added greatly to our enjoyment during the stay. The location couldn't be better...walking distance to all major sightseeing. There is a small convenience store at the end of the block for drinks and snacks. The staff was as friendly and helpful as can be. I would definitely stay at this hotel again and also recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlDGator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Premist Hotel
Premist Hotel
#42 of 1,140 in Istanbul
739 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tashkonak Hotel
Tashkonak Hotel
#91 of 1,140 in Istanbul
1,450 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#23 of 1,140 in Istanbul
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Senatus Hotel
Senatus Hotel
#24 of 1,140 in Istanbul
752 reviews
Sultanahmet
Recital Hotel
Recital Hotel
#68 of 1,140 in Istanbul
864 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#40 of 1,140 in Istanbul
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultans Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultans Royal Hotel

Property: Sultans Royal Hotel
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Mustafa Pasa Sok.No: 29 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 1,140 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sultans Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sultans Royal Hotel Istanbul is not just another new hotel on Istanbul’s historic peninsular. Situated 5 minutes walking distance to Blue Mosque, Aya Sophia, Topkapi Palace Musem, Underground Cistern and other historical, cultural monuments in Sultanahmet. Sultans Royal small but classic, elegant, recently restored 3 story hotel is ideally located for exploring and discovering this enchanting city and the perfect place to relax while planning your next day’s expedition into Istanbul’s colourful and exciting history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sultans Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing