We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Istanbul” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sultans Royal Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sultans Royal Hotel
Ranked #58 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
los angeles
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Istanbul”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

First of all i would like to say that Istanbul is a wonderful city to visit .Great tourist sites lots of history.A must see city to visit in ones lifetime.
The Sultans Royal Hotel is a great hotel.We found the staff helpful,friendly,the hotel was clean,the rooms we stayed in #301 & 302 were spacious and comfortable.The restaurants near the hotel were also good especially Mostra Fish restaurant. Will definitely be staying at this hotel again when we bring our adult children to see the wonder of Istanbul.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ayoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    732
    196
    21
    1
    3
See reviews for
219
378
83
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
198 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

This hotel had the friendliest staff I have ever experienced. I am happy to call them my friends after our 6 night stay at the hotel. The breakfast and housekeeping staff always welcomed you with a genuine, warm smile. Words cannot express how well I was treated, and It was a great feeling knowing that they would help me with anything, anytime, without question. All of the front desk staff were very helpful for finding attractions and restarants, and willing to have a conversation about anything. However, Ersin and Serkan went above and beyond this with their kindness and hospitality. Ersin gave me his email and phone number to contact him if we needed help with anything. We became good friends very quickly, and meeting him was one of the best experiences of our European travel that lasted over 5 weeks. He is truly a great person.

The hotel was very, very clean. Every inch was spotless! The rooms were great, they even painted the ceiling! They were large, with plenty of space to unpack. Most importantly, the wifi was very fast!! The bathroom was large as well with a blowdryer, shampoo and any amenity you would need. The mini-bar had very resonable prices, although we did not use it. The breakfast was fresh, diversified and delicious. Every type of food was available, and the breakfast room was very clean as well. Both the housekeeping and breakfast room staff were also very courteous and friendly.

The hotel was able to give me a late checkout, which helped a lot because I was running behind; the staff was willing to carry our bags and load the shuttle busses without asking for a tip. We used their shuttle busses coming from the SAW airport, and going home through the TAV and both shuttles were great. We were offered Turkish delight during our ride!

The value of the hotel was great. Having friendly staff is priceless, and the rooms and quality of the hotel should have demanded the highest prices in Istanbul, and yet The Sultans Royal was a fraction of the price.

Our room was very quiet, and the beds were very comfortable allowing us to have great sleeps to re-energize for the next day of seeing the beautiful city of Istanbul.

Room Tip: The room that we stayed in faced the back of the hotel and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jbarbs8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

The most friendly and genuinely caring staff we have ever come across, heped us fall in love with Istanbul. The breakkfast was good, and the standard of cleanliness in the rooms was second to none. Thanks again to Sirkan and the other wonderful members of the management team

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1976Gavin1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yardley, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Sultans Royal Hotel. We found it situated in walking distance to the Blue Mosque and other tourist sites. The staff was very friendly, and helpful regarding tours and restaurants. Our room was clean, comfortable, and a delicious breakfast was served every morning. I usually woke up at 5am, and walked the streets without any worry. During our 5 day stay, I made friends with the hotel staff. One of the staff, Ersin, owned a '70s Fiat. I told him I like classic cars. We posed for pictures in front of the car, and he offered to give me a ride in it. On the day of our departure, we left at 6;30 am. The staff made us an early breakfast, which was very kind of them. Upon leaving, we hugged and shook hands with them. We had tears in our eyes. Because of the staff, it was the best hotel I've ever stayed in. They made our time in Istanbul truly enjoyable. If you go there, I suggest you dine at the nearby Seatanbul and The Babylon. Both have terraces overlooking Istanbul and the sea.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frank b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed for 4 nights, brilliant small(ish) hotel, great helpful staff (they pointed out all the attractions on a map, and how to travel in the most cost effective manner), decent breakfast, and very well located.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Saif A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed for 6 nights in this small and very quiet hotel. We were very happy with our room, which had space for seating and (that very rare thing) a large bath and was very thoughtfully appointed with everything we needed (robes, plenty of towels, pillows, blankets, reading lights, toiletries, etc.). The breakfast was very good. Most of all, the staff was very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. Thanks to the staff, our trip avoided a disaster on the first night when my husband lost his passport and some cash to a pickpocket 3 blocks away. The staff went back with him to the scene of the crime so we could provide an accurate report to the police. Then, while we were researching the passport replacement process, Levent, a young staffer, went back again to check out the CCTV cameras and found the wallet -- minus cash but with the passport.

We had a number of very good meals within a block of two of the hotel. At one, Karina, we had an especially good fish casserole (really, more of stir fry with fresh vegetables and mushrooms in addition to fileted chunks of fresh fish).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MitsuWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed here 5 nights in September 2013. Our room was clean, bright, and big enough. The bed was a little hard, but comfortable. Same size as an American Full size. The A/C was great, very comfortable in the room. The bathroom had a shower, no tub. The staff was fantastic and very helpful. I have never encountered a more genuine appreciative staff. They helped with restaurant recommendations as well as sightseeing. They were fantastic. Breakfast was good, the Eggplant especially. Eggs everyday as well as cheeses, meats, and salad stuff. Great tea. The hotel location was perfect. 5 minute walk to Blue Mosque, 10 minutes to Hagia Sophia. Many good restaurants within walking distance. If you stop at the restaurant across the street, say hi to Efes! He is great.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aaron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Tashkonak Hotel
Tashkonak Hotel
#92 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#31 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#36 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Premist Hotel
Premist Hotel
#42 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#22 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Sultanahmet
Garden House Istanbul
Garden House Istanbul
#53 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultans Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultans Royal Hotel

Property: Sultans Royal Hotel
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Mustafa Pasa Sok.No: 29 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sultans Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sultans Royal Hotel Istanbul is not just another new hotel on Istanbul’s historic peninsular. Situated 5 minutes walking distance to Blue Mosque, Aya Sophia, Topkapi Palace Musem, Underground Cistern and other historical, cultural monuments in Sultanahmet. Sultans Royal small but classic, elegant, recently restored 3 story hotel is ideally located for exploring and discovering this enchanting city and the perfect place to relax while planning your next day’s expedition into Istanbul’s colourful and exciting history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Expedia so you can book your Sultans Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing