We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Supersatisified”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sultans Royal Hotel
Ranked #61 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Supersatisified”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

From the staff, down to location, cleanliness, food and service, this hotel left us with nothing but good memories. Found it trip advisor ofcourse and am glad I booked it. There's way too many hotels in the area but this little one was a gem for us.

Though a bit of an uphill walk it's just 3-5 mins away from the blue mosque and the sultan ahmet tram stop which was very useful in the cold weather going to Emminounu for the spice market and beyond.

Couldn't research Istanbul much as it was a last minute trip and the staff turned out to be really useful in that regard. Breakfast was always ready by 7:30. Loved the honey cheese and olives!

The room we got i.e. 205 didn't have much of a view but we had a good deal of privacy and absolutely no noise. It was on the smaller side but had a nice comfy couch, very useful. A sturdy safe in the cupboard, nice bed, (don't remember keeping awake) a spotless washroom with everthing in order, rooms made daily.

The walls maybe thin as we did hear other guests when they walked about the passages but didn't hear anything once they were in their rooms.

All in all a great place which I wouldn't hesitate to recommend!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fahad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    733
    196
    21
    2
    3
See reviews for
219
378
83
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I stayed here with my wife and two kids (one of whom is a toddler.) The front staff welcomed us with coffee, tea and sweets...gave us a nice, quiet room...and took complete care of us over the 3 night stay. Ersin even surprised us with cake and wine to celebrate my wife's birthday.

The hotel is walking distance (with baby!) to the palace. There's plenty of shopping and restaurants nearby. There's also a taxi stand on the corner, so you can hop a taxi easily.

The breakfast was a real buffet. Good selection and good food.

In short, perfect hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

We found this on trip advisor and it is all that and better. Unrivalled service and hospitality. Car pick up at airport was on time, fantastic breakfast, lovely immaculate rooms, and helpful advice. Ignore the comments about noise - you are in the old city with narrow streets and lots of activity. It is part of the charm of the neighborhood and not anything to do with the hotel. We slept like babies. Also loved the suite with an outside door separating our rooms. We will stay here again!

Helpful?
2 Thank Chival11
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ontario
Level Contributor
55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We selected this hotel from the reviews on Trip Advisor. It is one of the many small and medium sized hotels that are adjacent to the rear side of the Blue Mosque. It is a five minute walk through the Arasta Bazaar to the Blue Mosque and Haghia Sophia.The retrofitting of this Ottoman house is superb with the bedrooms very well appointed, clean and new. The bathroom is well designed and was spotless. The breakfast room is in the basement but is very bright as there is a set of overhead windows on one side. The breakfast offerings are quite good with many Turkish offerings, great jams and honey and some western offerings. The staff are particularly friendly. It is difficult to rate small hotels against the international 5 stars because they are different animals. Our ranking within small hotels would be 5 stars.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hutchoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
130 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The Sultans Royal Hotel is located in a nice quiet street in the popular tourist area of Istanbul - Sultanahmet. Great location for exploring the area - easy walking distance to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Grand Bazaar, Spice Bazaar, etc. Also, the Istanbul Tram is also conveniently located near the Blue Mosque area. There are many restaurants to choose from that are only steps away from the hotel.

We stayed at the Sultans Royal for one week and decided to go for the Terrace Suite that is located on the top floor of the hotel. As the name suggests, this room includes an outdoor patio with table and chairs with a view of the Bosphorus - Nice! The room and bath are very clean and comfortable (see photos). The front desk service was great the whole week that we were there - they provided free use of umbrellas when rain showers came, booked a night-time dinner show for us and provided maps and directions to the tourist attractions.

The hotel provided complimentary breakfast that included coffee, tea, juices, pastries, scrambled and hard-boiled eggs, bread selection, fruit selection, meat selection, salad selection. Their breakfast selection was enough to satisfy my appetite with no problem. The breakfast room was bright, clean and very inviting.

If I were to come to Istanbul again, I would definitely consider the Sultans Royal Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AZCasualTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Out of 5 nights in Istanbul, I had 2 nights here. Price was not much more than my other stay but the experience was like night and day. This hotel is situated among other hotels and not far from the Blue Mosque but I had a great sleep because it was so quiet. The bed was plush and comfortable. The check in was friendly and hospitable. Breakfast buffet was quite standard and did the job.
Location-wise, 8 minutes away from the tram so not super ideal but still close enough. Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia are only minutes away.
I would definitely stay here again and/or recommend it to anyone who wants to visit Istanbul.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexcga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed a wonderful 3 night's at Sultans Hotel. the staff and Management were very friendly , clean rooms and very comfortable .
the location was Perfect .
will recommend this hotel to all my friends .

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Premist Hotel
Premist Hotel
#42 of 1,141 in Istanbul
739 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tashkonak Hotel
Tashkonak Hotel
#90 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,450 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#26 of 1,141 in Istanbul
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Recital Hotel
Recital Hotel
#64 of 1,141 in Istanbul
865 reviews
Sultanahmet
Senatus Hotel
Senatus Hotel
#24 of 1,141 in Istanbul
755 reviews
Sultanahmet
Rose Garden Suites Istanbul
Rose Garden Suites Istanbul
#50 of 1,141 in Istanbul
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultans Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultans Royal Hotel

Property: Sultans Royal Hotel
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Mustafa Pasa Sok.No: 29 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sultans Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sultans Royal Hotel Istanbul is not just another new hotel on Istanbul’s historic peninsular. Situated 5 minutes walking distance to Blue Mosque, Aya Sophia, Topkapi Palace Musem, Underground Cistern and other historical, cultural monuments in Sultanahmet. Sultans Royal small but classic, elegant, recently restored 3 story hotel is ideally located for exploring and discovering this enchanting city and the perfect place to relax while planning your next day’s expedition into Istanbul’s colourful and exciting history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sultans Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing