We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shockingly bad and bordering on criminal”
Review of Hotel Promise

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Promise
Ranked #676 of 1,047 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Shockingly bad and bordering on criminal”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We booked three double rooms from the 8th - 10th May 2014. All seemed to be normal with lovely rooms....until; (cue dramatic music)
- one room failed to close properly without first having to do a course as a locksmith.
- the drilling in the building next door began. Vibrating throughout the hotel for the duration of the stay.
- we were told they had made an error in their booking and needed our rooms back!
- and then it began to rain!!
Despite refusing to give up our rooms, as we told them this was their error, they threatened to evict us from the hotel. We capitulated and with a promise of a ten euro discount on the price of a single room we were moved to what I can only describe as storage cupboards....though that may be an insult to storage cupboards.
Before moving rooms the rain began to pour through the light fixture of one room...when we complained they said it was fine and we would be vacating that room the next day anyway. Great logic!?
When paying the next morning, reluctantly and after more debate, we were refused change when paying in cash, which more than covered their supposed discount. When returning home we discovered that our card had been deducted not only the original fare but also the promised discount which had been ADDED leaving us paying 20% more for two nights in this Faulty Towers of Istanbul. One night in a double room, which was essentially outside in a rainstorm, and one night in a mop cupboard.
After numerous ignored complaints we have been left with no recourse but to give a shocking review of this hotel and advise customers to avoid this place like the plague.
Hotel Promise – where they pledge to try and kill you before making you pay more than you agreed. If you are a masochist then this is the place for you.
Do not let this put you off beautiful Istanbul. This hotel is the exception to the rule.

Room Tip: Please choose a room in....another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesEMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    14
    7
    3
    20
See reviews for
Families
0
15
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Booked a room through hotel.com only to arrive and be told that our booking was cancelled and the room we had booked was not available any longer, we were given the option of paying the additional charge and get the superior room. We still have not receive any explanation from hotel.com and from what I have now read it looks to me that this is the pattern that the owner follows for some extra cash but this is causing issues to the guest. Up until we walk in to that hotel I was in love with the city, since that I would not go back

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ang110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I went with my wife for 1 week (starting 22 March till 29 March 2014) and it was amazing. the hotel is very clean and in a very good location. The most amazing was the receptionist, she was so helpful in everything. she helped us to go anywhere in istanbul and she managed for us lots of trips and she was showing us every single thing in istanbul and how can we have nice trip.

I really want to thanks her alot for her help. she let us decided that whenever we will go to istanbul we will stay in promise hotel (unless she left the hotel).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amreldahman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I loved the hotel it's simple and clean & the personnel was very kind & helpful, they speak turkish & english & arabic.
It's noisy at night because of night clubs beside the hotel.
If I come back to Istanbul I will book in same hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kindsuheir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Last weekend i was here for the seccond time (first time november 2013) and i made already a reservation for the last weekend of june.
Promise hotel is a nice city hotel with smaller 1 person rooms and nice 2 persons rooms for a good price.
Very nice, kind and helpfull staf who do everything to make your stay in the hotel as good as possible.
Also at only 2 minutes walk from Istiklal Caddesi, THE PLACE TO BE IN ISTANBUL TAKSIM for nice bars, nightclubs and restaurants, so you'll never need a taxi ;)
I am looking out to be back in Promise hotel again on 27 june for 4 days.
Thanks again to Mustafa Bey and his kind team for the nice time in Promise hotel.See you all again soon ;)

Room Tip: Al the rooms are nice even the ones at the street side are quillet because of the low trafic street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patrick v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We love'd staying in this hotel!The staff was amazing and room was nite, for 3 nights was perfect, small but always clean and smelling good :) In only 1 minute walking you can be at Istiklal Street, where you can find everything... We recommend!!!
A big thank's to the staff, especiality to Mr. Tarik!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeddah
1 review
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I booked this hotel for five nights. The room was very basic in size but very clean. Location of the Hotel, near to Istiklal Street, is a plus point. Furthermore, staff attitude was very positive and friendly. Next time i would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ata r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,950 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,725 reviews
Sultanahmet
Angel's Home Hotel
Angel's Home Hotel
#93 of 1,141 in Istanbul
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,141 in Istanbul
3,278 reviews
Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Oryapark
#212 of 1,141 in Istanbul
114 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#157 of 1,141 in Istanbul
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Promise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Promise

Property: Hotel Promise
Address: Topcekenler Sok. No 10, Istanbul 34420, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #676 of 1,047 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Promise 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel located one of most popular tourism centers of Istanbul.Hotel is a boutique hotel with 17 rooms.All rooms couple of tiem before upgraded all rooms has new decoration,our hotelclose the city centers and has easly transportion opportunity,hotel's staff can speak foreigner language(english,german,russian. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Promise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing