We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average Turkish food”
Review of Can Restaurant

Can Restaurant
Ranked #426 of 13,493 Restaurants in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Sultanahmet
istanbul
Level Contributor
6,730 reviews
3,002 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10,080 helpful votes
“Average Turkish food”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This is one of those who are working like a factory made production,very basic and simple taste dor locals but with the extensive food exhibited in the showcase they attract the foreigners.You can not see some local people at this kind of touristic restaurants in this kind of central touristic places as they prefer to go to more local and small ones in side or back roads of yhe maim street where they have very tasty local food.However,
this kind of eateries are more popular now for tourists,first of all,they use good quality of food and nothing can be wrong here because of the flow of the running customers round o'clock.But the taste is ?!.,,

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank junior1907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    44
    7
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Solid but average”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We went in for a quick lunch and for the rice - have been hungry for it after days of kebab. The prices are a bit too high as the place is pretty much canteen-like. Not the best dining experience but none of the dishes were bad.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bongjia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catania, Italy
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Expensive lunch!”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Our private guide brought our family of 4 here for lunch after visiting sites in the area. After selecting our food (2-3 sides per person and only water to drink) our grand total was 117 Turkish Lira! I had told the cashier we'd pay for our family of 4 plus our guide. After sitting down to eat our guide mentioned how she is able to eat free. Hmmm...pretty sure we paid for her meal. When she went up to ask the cashier he denied charging us for her meal. Regardless, it was expensive for what we got. The prices were too high for this no frills cafeteria style restaurant. Lesson learned! Check out the menu/prices before moving through the food trough like sheeple! The food was just OK...only the bill was memorable:(

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keri-Bryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“nice turkish food”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

we visited topkapi palace for about 4hours in the morning and in a rainy day.So we were wet and so hungry. We saw the foods from out side and it looked so delicious so we went and tried it.
The food was delicious specially the soup which was so good in that rainy and cold weather. But the prices was higher compare to same ones in town. It's a touristic area so it is expected to be higher.
All in all it was a good experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Azadeh2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good service&price, delicious food”
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

I saw the food from the outside window and i came to try it! It was a great moment! Great food And cheap price!
Try the turquish rice, the potato cream, the chicken with potatos! Everything is delicious

Helpful?
Thank ldcf1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Can Restaurant also viewed

 
Istanbul, Turkey
 

Been to Can Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing