We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming hotel, beautiful area”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Serdar-i Ekrem 59

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Serdar-i Ekrem 59
Ranked #136 of 1,186 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Charming hotel, beautiful area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

The hotel and the rooms are very nicely decorated. We really loved the room which had a well appointed kitchenette. The area is beautiful and quiet yet minutes away, on foot, from Galata Tower and Istiklal Street. Small grocery store across the street and a larger one 3 mins away on foot. Small eateries on the same street and many other options within walking distance. The service was very personal, and Zeynep the hotel manager, made us feel quite at home. This was our first time to travel with our children and she definitely made things easier for us. I cannot say enough about the lovely area with the cobblestone streets. The climb up and down the streets around the hotel is challenging though, so bring comfy shoes. Usually we would go with large hotels but this time we went with something different and we were very happy we did.I would definitely recommend this hotel for a stay in Istanbul for travellers who appreciate something different. Staying here was a beautiful experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank esperanza-wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
45
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

My husband, daughter and I spent 5 nights on the 2nd floor (app 3) in Serdar-i-Ekrem. The street and house are very pretty and the apartment looks exactly like the images shown on the website. We felt as if we were in a modern NYC apartment with all the brickstone ; )
There is a very comfortable double bed, a sofa couch/bed, a well equipped kitchenette, airco,tv,enough storage fo your clothes, and a bathroom with rainshower. It s in walking distance to hip nice cafe s and small boutique shops, the Galata tower and the main shopping street Istiklal Caddesi.
The only minus: it can be a bit noisy as you can hear the guests in the above apartment walk and talk (so we tried to keep them in mind by walking bare footed in our apartment), and the garbage containers are in front of the house, so they smell and are messy.
Zeynep is very nice, speak English and will try to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: top floor supposed to have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendelien D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

We have spent three nights in Serdar-I Ekrem hotel in Istanbul. The hotel has amazing rooms and very friendly staff. I highly recommend the hotel. It is so close to Galata Tower and very famous Istiklal caddesi. Enjoy your nights there...

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely. Some has special features and some has better views. It's up to your prefe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asli A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

As we had 5 days in Istanbul we decided to go for something other than the usual hotel room. For the same price as a nice hotel room we found ourselves a fantasic little apartment with a really comforatble sitting area and really well equipped kitchenette - as well as the usual comfy bed and bathroom and the most amazing view of the Bosphorous as the biggest bonus.

We booked the top floor suite of this 5 room apartment building, knowing it was the only one that had the view and in my eyes it was worth every extra penny. We didn't see the other rooms but had a good look at the website photos and decided to splurge on this at the end of our trip.

Like everyone before us who has stayed in this top floor room and reviewed it on Tripadvisor, we were blown away by the view - I normally read a lot while I am on holiday but I barely picked up my book when we stayed here. There was so much to see out the windows, with the Topkapi, Aya Sofia and Blue Mosque all on the horizon and the ships going up and down the Bosphorus in the foreground, the TV never got switched on either. The quality of the furnishings and decoartion was all really good and the place was kept immaculately.

To be honest, we barely used the kitchen facilities but if you wanted to eat in, the place was well equipped, and cleaning done daily. There are convenience stores on every corner selling a good range of food and a great choice of cafes to try on the doorstep if you don't fancy self-catering. We tried a couple of local cafes for breakfast and really enjoyed the neighbourhood atmoshphere.

We also really liked being away from the central tourist hub of Sultanahmet. Beyoglu/Galata is still a central area but a little less overtly touristy, with a good mix of local and foreign residents and less persitant hassling from merchants and restauranteurs than we found on our trips to Sultanahmet and the surrounding area. It's easy to get around on the public transport and although on a steep hill, within walking distance of most major tourist sights. Five minutes downhill to the Galata bridge and a tram ride up the hill for the return trip if the legs were no longer willing!

One other practical thing worth mentioning - when we booked we went through Booking.com, as this was where the hotel website defaulted to, but I think it's worth contacting the management to see if they can discount the price at all if you pay them direct. We also booked a private transfer through the hotel from the Airport when we arrived. This was double the price of the normal taxi fare and although we had the reassurance of the driver knowing exactly where he was going - I don't think the place would be that hard to find for the average taxi driver.

Altogether, this place met all our expectations and lived up to the reviews of the previous guests. Don't hesitate to try it yourself.

Room Tip: The room at the top is really worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paperduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA USA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

We spent 3 nights in this nicely furnished, comfortable apartment, but could have easily spent a month. It is beautifully decorated and mixes modern styling along with classic touches such as original exposed brick walls.

There are just 5 apartments in the building, each one on its own floor. We stayed in number 4, one from the top. It looked out onto a quiet, cobbled street from which it is easy to walk up a couple of blocks to a long shopping passage that goes all the way to Taksim square, or down the hill to catch a tram to many other popular sites between 1 and 5 stops away -- taking only a few minutes. Or, you could stay right in the neighborhood and just steps away you have many great dining choices of all price ranges which are close to the Galata tower. There are also many small corner stores from where you can buy drinks and snacks for the in-room refrigerator.

We didn't hear any noise from the unit above or below us, or from the quiet street that it overlooks.

The bed was comfortable, located in an alcove off the living room. The safe in the room is probably the smallest I've ever seen and could only be used to keep passports, wallets or other small items in. Certainly no cameras or electronics would fit. This wasn't an issue for us, as we felt perfectly safe leaving those items unsecured.

The marble floor of the bathroom is heated, and while the bathroom was small it wasn't too small.

Each floor of the hotel seems to have its own wi-fi access point, so there was no problem getting a strong, reliable signal. There is an LCD TV in the room with plenty of channels, including several English news options. Despite having only 5 units, this building has an elevator/lift.

There was always someone in the office during the day in a sub-level office to the side of the building. She was able to help with suggestions and questions we had. She even graciously stayed until 11pm on a Sunday night to meet us and give us the key after our flight was delayed 7 hours.

One other really nice thing: each day there were small baked treats by the front door which were terrific.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank absf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

We stayed four nights at the top floor apartment in this wonderful "apartment hotel". The view is sensational, as the pictures on the website show you. The apartment is great - spacious and well furnished, quite new and tastefully fitted out with everything you are likely to need. You should ask for Room 5 to get this super view.

Staying in this older district of Istanbul is fantastic as you quickly get the feel of local life. There are many shops, bars and restaurants within a short walk and it is easy to get around Istanbul to the many sites. From the windows in the apartment you can see 3 of the big attractions - the Topkapi Palace, the Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque. We sat and watched the hustle of the waterways with the entrance from the sea, the Bosphorous and the Golden Horn all in this view. To get around we bought the "Akbil" electronic access card for tramways, funicular and ferries and were delighted to find we could share one card. First through the turnstile hands it back to second and this is all legitimate as you have paid for the number of rides you use - plus 6 TL start up fee for the card which is tiny. You can top up the credit on the card as easily as buying it from most newspaper stands.

Service at the apartment was just great - helpful but not intrusive. They even sent a jacket we left behind by post back to Australia. No charge for that! We hope to go again and have recommended this place to several friends.

Room Tip: Room 5 at top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

The small hotel is situated just below one of the most popular shopping-streets, yet it's in a very quiet area. Few cars drive by as it is verry narrow and steep. We loved the hotel. We stayed at the top and started the morning by sitting in the window sill enjoying the warm sun and the view. Short distance to everything, but yet out of the tourist crowds. The staff was very helpful and sweet, yet not intruding. They even provided us with turkish coffee to take with us home! Thank you for a wonderful stay, we will recommend your hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hilde K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#8 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,919 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#24 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Yazar Hotel
Yazar Hotel
#354 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
The Marmara Pera Hotel
The Marmara Pera Hotel
#156 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#124 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,434 reviews
Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Oryapark
#222 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serdar-i Ekrem 59? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serdar-i Ekrem 59

Property: Serdar-i Ekrem 59
Address: Serdar-i Ekrem Street No:59 Galata - Beyoglu, Istanbul 34425, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 1,186 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Serdar-i Ekrem 59 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serdar-i Ekrem 59 is a small, 5 story building situated in a trendy yet quiet street of Istanbul's Galata, Beyoglu district. The main street (Istiklal Caddesi), main squares (Tunel and Taksim), subway and tram stations are all found in two minutes walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Serdar-i Ekrem 59 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing