We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect stay in Istanbul!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Serdar-i Ekrem 59

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Istanbul
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Serdar-i Ekrem 59
Ranked #124 of 1,173 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect stay in Istanbul!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

My partner and I stayed here in early May for 5 nights on the back of all the positive reviews on Tripadvisor and can only say that it was 100% the right decision. Firstly the location which - as others have commented - is ideal , on a quiet and charming road, but within easy walking distance of numerous bars, restaurants and shops. It is easy to get to the old town either on foot if you fancy a leisurely stroll or by tram/funicular. We loved the Old town for sightseeing, but found it could get very crowded so it was always great to come back across the bridge in the evenings and know that in our immediate vicinity we could either have a relaxed evening in a local restaurant or head out for a livelier night out to the nearby bars depending on what we fancied.

In tems of the accomodation itself the photos on the website are a true reflection of the apartments (always a pleasant surprise!) and whilst not huge, the mix of traditional and modern works really well. Dont be put off by the lack of any breakfast offering as there are plenty of cafes on the doorstep. The only very minor (and I do mean minor as it shouldn't deter anyone from staying here) is the soundproofing in the apartments which could be improved. The stairs and apartments have wooden floors which although adding to the charm of the decor doesn't help with the noise levels.

Finally no review of No 59 would be complete without mentioning Zeynep who's welcoming smile and hospitality really makes this place a wonderful place to stay. From giving advice on what to see when, to recommending and booking local restaurants, anything we needed she was on hand.

We would definitely stay here again without any hesitation!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meggie916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
45
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

Location is excellent with easy walking access to the popular tourist destinations. The tram is also nearby. Its in a quaint up and coming residential neighbourhood which is great for a wander to explore the trendy shops, coffee shops, restaurants and pubs. The apartment building is old but refurbished very well with style...all details covered. I stay in hotels often and it was incredibly refreshing to stay in this "real" neighbourhood in this stylish apartment, while still having easy access to everything.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed with my husband for 4 nights. We made a last minute booking and got very lucky to have apt no. 4 available for us. The room is very spacious with very comfortable bed and extra pillows. We really love how the entire apartment and the room are aesthetically designed with great attention to details. The apt is only 5 min walk to the galata tower, and about 10 min walk to istiklal street. Lots of cute little cafes and shops nearby. Be mindful that the road back from tophane tram stop (that brings you to the old city) is quite an uphill.. But the room makes up for the walk! Zeynep is such a wonderful host, very helpful and attentive. We would definitely come back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alalita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

We stayed in the apartment on the top floor & could not have asked for a better place to stay. We spent 4 nights with the most amazing view over the Bosphorus. Each night we had evening drinks watching the sun set over the Topkapi Palace, Aya Sophia & the Blue Mosque.
The Galata area is close to everything including great restaurants, bars & attractions such as the Galata Tower, Istiklal Cadessi & the Dolmabace Palace. The Sultanahmet area was a short tram ride or walk away.
Zeynep is a wonderful help. From the moment that she emailed in relation to our time of arrival to the way she organised for our bags to be in our transfer car before we knew it, was outstanding. She had helpful suggestions for everything we wanted to do, from visiting attractions to the best restaurants for dinner & breakfast.
Stay at this accommodation if you want a fabulous time in Istanbul.

Room Tip: The top room apartment is the best place to stay if you want an excellent view of Istanbul
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneWazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

The location is fantastic, central to everything one expects to see and do in Istanbul. The building is old, but beautifully renovated with original architectural integrity intact and modern amenities enhanced.: wifi, elevator, kitchenette, quality linens and toiletries, excellent mattress (great sleep), security and parking. The owners are the best-ever, kind and helpful ... making our visit thoroughly enjoyable. If you are looking for a non-commercial experience with no compromises, immersed in the Turkish neighborhood, with easy access on foot to galata tower, mosques, bazaars, baths, shops, restos and night-life then, I HIGHLY recommend this hotel.. If you are not such a walker, then trams & buses are easy steps away....

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TraynorD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the penthouse for four nights in April. For me, the best thing about the apartment was the view and the building manager, Zeynep. She was extremely helpful even after we relocated to different apartment!

The penthouse had the view of old town and the Bosphorus. It was so pretty we could stay in the apartment all day and not get tired at all.

Neighborhood had an up and coming feel to it, and was quite nice with new cafes and stores. There is a supermarket near the Galata tower with okay selection of food and everyday items where we did our shopping everyday for food.

And it was super easy to get around. Istikral street is a couple of blocks up the hill and old town is easy with the tramway, and the Tunel helped us save trips back up the hill.

I recommend this apartment to anyone who's looking for a quite and relaxing place to stay. And the penthouse for those looking for a place with a view!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SparklyTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

I spent the season holidays visiting two fantastic hotels in Istanbul. This second hotel I resided in had a perfect location and is very easy to connect to various city monuments and tourist locations. The room was very clean and comfortable and was impressively stylished! The room had amazing interior and had an excellent view. The apartments get everyday service and are perfectly well maintained. In the near surrounding, you can find fantastic little restaurants and coffee/tea shops that will refresh you and prepare for a nice site-seeing.
I would surely recommend this place to anyone searching for a clean hotel in the central area, with great service, something that reflect Turkish hospitality.

Room Tip: Room on the high floor, with a perfect view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Risto J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Yazar Hotel
Yazar Hotel
#355 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#4 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
The Marmara Pera Hotel
The Marmara Pera Hotel
#157 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Oryapark
#232 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#128 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serdar-i Ekrem 59? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serdar-i Ekrem 59

Property: Serdar-i Ekrem 59
Address: Serdar-i Ekrem Street No:59 Galata - Beyoglu, Istanbul 34425, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 1,173 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Serdar-i Ekrem 59 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serdar-i Ekrem 59 is a small, 5 story building situated in a trendy yet quiet street of Istanbul's Galata, Beyoglu district. The main street (Istiklal Caddesi), main squares (Tunel and Taksim), subway and tram stations are all found in two minutes walking distance. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing