We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a weekend getaway”
Review of Serdar-i Ekrem 59

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Serdar-i Ekrem 59
Ranked #131 of 1,195 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great place for a weekend getaway”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed at Serdar-i Ekrem 59 for a long weekend in Istanbul and it was a wonderful experience.

The location is great to explore Istanbul, the situation close to the Galata tower and the Istiklal shopping street makes it a great refuge to dive into Istanbul's nightlife (there are a couple of great restaurants within 10 minutes walking distance) and it's also quite close to the Galata bridge where you can cross descend into the tourist masses looking at ancient history. The great thing is that it's located in such a way that it isn't that crowded but you're still close to everything.

We had a wonderful experience at Serdar-i Ekrem 59. Zeynep was extremely helpful and made us feel very welcome. When we arrived she even lent us a rechargeable public transport card (seriously, Istanbul's public transportation system is awesome!) so we could get around and about with public transportation.

We had a room on the first floor which was stylishly decorated. The room was clean, although they didn't clean it every day (which was fine by us). Because of the location of the house there were only windows on the front of the room which made it a bit dark inside. In fact if we have to complain about something this would be the only thing but we understand that it's not something that can be fixed, I hope the higher up rooms have more windows.

All in all, it was a great couple of days and we would definitely stay here again when we're in Istanbul!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiekeFlurin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
45
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I stayed two nights. The location of the hotel was very convenient for me to cover all my meetings in one day. Metro stop is within couple minutes walk. Excellent view, large size room, and clean. Zeynep has been courteous and helpful. I would highly recommend this lovely place on all aspects.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AGDpogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

This place is great. It's near Galata Tower which is a great landmark to be beside as everyone knows where it is. I stayed there for five days and not only was the hospitality fantastic and the room gorgeous but room service was very good and the place in general was quiet and calm.

Never visited Istanbul before and was delighted with the find. One downside, the room I was staying in, which was on the ground floor, could use another main light - the room could be a bit dark sometimes. That's the only downfall but it wouldn't put you off.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aileen36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

My husband & I stayed for 4 nights in a one bedroom apartment and it was perfect. Centrally located, clean, elevator, excellent wifi. It is on the hilly side but nothing that can't be managed.
Close to transport, restaurants & the main avenue.Zeynap was very helpful with bookings & recommendations. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lisa070660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I have visited Istanbul numerous times, but stayed for the first time in Serdar-i-Ekrem 59 this summer. I was very impressed, and will return for future stays. The location and quality of the rooms are two things that I liked the most. The location is in a quite street, but at the same time close to everything. The rooms are really exceptional, and one can tell that a lot of thought went into their design. All of this makes Serdar a great refuge from the hustle and bustle of the metropolis that is Istanbul, while simultaneously being in the heart of it all.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ajdin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

A very enjoyable stay here with amazing hospitality. The property are Studio apartments with great Character. The interior walls are the original walls and add amazing character to the place.

I would recommend this place and I hope to go back there next year.

Since these are studio apartments you do not get breakfast included but you have your own kitchenette. So you can make your own breakfast if you like or just walk out to many close by places to eat. Galata tower is 5 min walk away, and also close to Taksim Sq (20mins walk)

Room Tip: All rooms are good. We stayed on the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raju B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2013

My wife and I stayed at Serder-i Ekrem 59 in June 2013, and couldn't have had a better week in Istanbul. The property is ideally placed, with the cafes, bars and restaurants of Galata right on your doorstep. Great places, whether you want breakfast or a beer. The main sights of the city are all within easy reach and Istiklal is just up the road.

The manager, Zeynep, is fantastically helpful and welcoming. More than that, she's a lovely person and became a friend.

We stayed in the bay window apartment for five days before moving to the sea view apartment for our last two days. Both were perfect size and the decor was homely but stylish and chic. The view from the sea view apartment is as good - in fact, even more spectacular - than people here have described.

Go to Istanbul and stay at Serdar-i Ekrem 59: you won't regret it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imran_96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#8 of 1,134 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,930 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,134 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,715 reviews
Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Oryapark
#235 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,134 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,229 reviews
Beyoglu
The Marmara Pera Hotel
The Marmara Pera Hotel
#155 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Yazar Hotel
Yazar Hotel
#348 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serdar-i Ekrem 59? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serdar-i Ekrem 59

Property: Serdar-i Ekrem 59
Address: Serdar-i Ekrem Street No:59 Galata - Beyoglu, Istanbul 34425, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 1,195 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Serdar-i Ekrem 59 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serdar-i Ekrem 59 is a small, 5 story building situated in a trendy yet quiet street of Istanbul's Galata, Beyoglu district. The main street (Istiklal Caddesi), main squares (Tunel and Taksim), subway and tram stations are all found in two minutes walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Serdar-i Ekrem 59 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing