We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for the money”
Review of Maritime Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maritime Hotel
Ranked #307 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value for the money”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I'm not a 4-star hotel kind of girl. In most cases I really don't spend that much time in a hotel room, so as long as the room is clean, quiet and the staff is friendly and reliable, I'm happy. Mari Time goes well beyond that for around $100 US per night. My fiance and I were there for 9 days and they couldn't have been more accommodating. Definitely take them up on their one-way free airport transfer. They were there promptly as I cleared customs, and a welcome sight after 14+ hours on a plane.

Their continental breakfast is yummy with an assortment of hot items, fruit, breads and local fare. And the staff speaks English rather well, and was always helpful and willing to make suggestions or give directions.

Mari Time is within walking distance from all the major sites in the old city and convenient to public transpo if you want to take a Bosphorus cruise or go over to Taksim Square. There's many awesome restaurants within walking distance too -- and despite what I read in many guidebooks -- were open late into the night. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: No elevator, but it's only 3 stories, so if you have mobility issues, it might not be the place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ariesgal65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    69
    11
    8
    6
See reviews for
75
99
17
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I booked the hotel when I and my wife spend a couple days transit in Istanbul. It was very gorgeous. We brought to the top level with the street view. Once we get there we were going up to the rooftop and it was nice view of Istanbul there. Generally it was amazing trip with the hospitality perfectly offered. Thanks for all peoples in Mari Time Hotel..

Room Tip: There is no lift, for those who have problem with up-downstairs please ask to main floor. For liftin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danang Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

This is a small hotel very close to the blue mosque and attractions in the old town area. Rooms were clean And reception staff were helpful. Breakfast wasn't to our taste but there was plenty. Good hotel and reasonably priced for a short stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XclaireeX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

I, with two friends booked this hotel through a well known on line booking agency several months ago, paid for the rooms in advance and received confirmation for a twin and a double for single occupancy. We arrived late evening on the 6th of June only to be told that there were no rooms for two of the four nights we had booked. They claimed the on line booking agency had only informed them of the booking two days earlier ( you might ask why they did not inform the agency at once rather than wait two days and tell us literally on the door step.

The offered us two rooms, both doubles in a "sister" hotel. I left my friend and went to look. Both rooms were on the roof and could only be accessed only through the kitchen area where each day they prepared breakfast. Leaving aside the noise that would have started literally outside the rooms when they started to prepare breakfasts both rooms were in clear breach of fire regulations. If a fire started in the kitchen area there was no means of escape. The second rooms were in another hotel literally next to the old railway. The rooms smelt of damp, the curtains brown with age, but had a fantastic view of a rusting railway at the same level as the rooms outside. Both rooms had an air of not being used very much! The manager of the Mari Time explained that because the rooms booked had been discounted rooms via the On line booking company it would be hard to find rooms at that price. He made a half hearted attempt to offer to pay the extra out of his own pocket ( not very convincing) easily counterbalanced by the disparaging remarks he made to my friends in my absence. The real assistance came from two guys who worked in adjacent hotels who helped me find a decent hotel and advised me how to get my money back. They were both the type of helpful people you usually meet all over Turkey. We chose to stay all four nights and not return to the hotel for the last two nights for two reasons. Firstly would anyone want to change hotels on a weekend break halfway through? More importantly the attitude of the manager did not leave me with any confidence. When a Turkish friend phoned them for an explanation they refused to talk to her. To date I have not got my money back, and I am further out of pocket because the new hotel cost more for the same standard. So this hotel might be fine, the rooms may be ok, I do not know. What I do know is that assuming their explanation is correct they could have informed us before we eft and chose instead to hope we would accept rooms that if they were in the uk ( and I have been told Turkey) clearly breached fire regulations. I have been travelling to Istanbul regularly for 30 years, this was the worst experience by a mile.

Room Tip: Clearly can't comment on what it is like to stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Akinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

This little hotel in the best location if you are visiting Istanbul for only 3-4 days. It is within 10min walking distance from all major mosques and a lovely restaurant and cafe area. The staff is really friendly and they have shared a lot of tips and helped with organising a few things which is always very nice. The breakfast is basic but you dont need more when it is this hot. The only minus was the room size (really small) and the air con could have been better!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

It should be understood that this is a small, simple hotel. If you are looking for a 5* smart international hotel, then you will be disappointed.
We had a family suite, which comprised two separate double/twin rooms (with air-con) behind a lockable entrance door. Each had a separate bathroom with toilet and shower. Perfect for a family of 4.
Location - in my view excellent. Very quiet street just a few minutes walk from the blue mosque and the tram stop.
Our rooms were clean and not in need of renovation. Kettle for tea and coffee was provided.
Breakfast was good, with a mixture of cereals and cooked food and some cold Turkish fare. The breakfast room is in the basement, so no sweeping views of the Bosporus. There is a terrace up top for sitting outside, though you have to take your drinks with you.
We were collected without charge from the airport. You should contact the hotel a couple of days before arrival to arrange this.
Staff were extremely friendly and helpful to us, making suggestions and helping out with bookings.
All in all I felt that I had good value at the Mari time.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Hotel is in excellent location easy walking distance to the Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and other museums. En suite rooms with comfortable beds. Breakfast was excellent, great choice beautifully cooked only drawback was dining room was in basement of hotel therefore no views.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Pat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Arven Boutique Hotel
Arven Boutique Hotel
#80 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Sultanahmet
Spinel Hotel
Spinel Hotel
#561 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Sultanahmet
Minel Hotel
Minel Hotel
#198 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Deniz Houses
Deniz Houses
#201 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Sultanahmet
Nomade Hotel
Nomade Hotel
#443 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#62 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritime Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritime Hotel

Property: Maritime Hotel
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mahallesi, Cayiroglu Sokak No.9, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #307 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Maritime Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mari Time Hotel is one of Little Hagia Sophia most important Design Hotel situated at the heart of Istanbul historic peninsula; at the Roman empire's Hippodrome, the Ottomans' Concourse, or Turkey's Sultan Ahmet square - where remarkable history unfolds -Treat yourself to a dream whre the matchless beauty, dynamism and vitality of the megacity that joins the two continents, at Mari Time Hotel, known for its proximity to all historic and cultural spots at the city centre. With its concept architecture, exquisite decoration and HIP service, Mari Time Hotel offers appealing, custom-designed rooms. Historic sites such as Topkapi Palace, the Hagia Sophia Museum, the Basilica Cistern, the Blue Mosque ,Museum of Archaelogy, the Grand Bazaar and the Spice Bazaar are but a few steps away from our hotel, wich will ease your experience of the nearby shopping centres and Taksim Plaza,the hub of the city's famous nightlife, and unforgettable Bosphorus cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maritime Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing