We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cute, small & cozy”
Review of Jakaranda Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jakaranda Hotel
Ranked #128 of 1,047 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Des Moines, Washington
1 review
“cute, small & cozy”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Had been staying w/friends nearby - what luck it was to have chosen this lovely 9 room hotel
in a good location just off the busy nearby streets, where I stayed 9 days, near good restaurants and the pedestrian street, Istiklal, with a 10 minute walk to Taksim Sq. The breakfast served was more than enough to sustain me until dinner. What mattered to me the most, were the friendly, helpful men at the reception desk, especially the young fellow speaking very good english. A final assist was that a "transfer' expert was at the hotel a few hours before my flight
home, and he ushered me, a 70 yr old lone traveler, efficiently through the departure process at the crowded IST airport.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    30
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
10
24
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

They thoroughly deserve their certificate of excellence. From the minute we landed in Istanbul they provided a shuttle to take us to the Jakaranda where we were greeted by friendly staff who showed us to a very nice room with a mini bar (soft drinks only) . The breakfast was second to none, it was delicious and was served between 7.30 and 10.30 so you could lie in if you wanted (beds very comfortable) "the rooms were cleaned every day and fresh towels provided. I would recommend the hotel to anyone and will certainly be staying there myself again in the future.we stayed for seven nights.

Room Tip: Not many twin rooms so book in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We have been there for 7 days with my husband and 7 Yrs old daughter. Room and Bathroom very clean. The Bed was very comftable.The Manager was very friendly and helpful in all kind of ways. He gave us infos about water parks busstations and all areas what we can visit.
The breakfast was very considerably and voluminous. hot milk, coffee, orange juice, turkish tea
2-3 kinds of cheese, tomates, cucumber, black n green olives,eggs, salad, two kinds of bread,marmalade, watermelone and cereals. the employees were also very friendly.They always kept the room key when we went out for sightseeing, at the beginning we were distrustful but later we saw that they only does it for our own security.
its a non smoker hotel which is for my opinion very good.the hotel is very central. so in a few step you are at the istiklal cad, the famous shopping street in beyoglu and you need about 10 minutes walk to taksim place. the only one thing was that in this area is party all time. so it depends in which room you are but in our room we could always hear the party people. we were very happy about choosing this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tulee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The hotel is located in the heart of Istikal street and strategic to move pity the services is not excellent like the room.During my staying in my room have some electtic problem solve in few hours and the room services is not excellent

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francesco_FS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
70 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Jakaranda for a week during April 2013.
From the moment we arrived the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
The rooms are on the small side but are very nice and this is to be expected for the price and location.
The bathroom has a great big shower.
During our stay, the staff realised it was my friends birthday and surprised her with a tray of wine and fruit.
As someone who has stayed in too many hotels in Istanbul to mention and also lived in the city for 2 years, in its price range, you will NOT find a better hotel to stay at.
I will definitely return and have recommended it already to friends and family.
Be aware due to its fantastic location, the streets around the hotel are busy on weekend evenings, but the hotel is well noise insulated.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peteyp999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2013

I got introduced to this hotel by a friend who had previously stayed there and i must say that i really enjoyed my stay. The hotel is small but very comfortable, with air-conditioning and good showers. The hotel is also a few meters away from the famous Istiklal Street in Taksim square with lots of shopping, pubs, etc. I will definitely be back in the near future and stay at the Jakaranda Hotel.
Special thanks to a staff member Ceyhun for all his great hospitality and service.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naheed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights on our kebab tour of Istanbul. The hotel is in just about the most central location you could ask for, right in the heart of this throbbing, pulsating, enchanting city.

The staff were delightful and very helpful, the room was nice, the breakfast was excellent, really top class and we were within spitting distance of Istiklal and numerous kebab joints where we could sample the finest Adana kebabs known to man or beast. We are both huge fans of kebabs and this location was right up our street.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JF-RMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
ODDA Hotel
ODDA Hotel
#452 of 1,141 in Istanbul
268 reviews
Beyoglu
Babu Hotel
Babu Hotel
#614 of 1,141 in Istanbul
17 reviews
Beyoglu
Mr. Cas
Mr. Cas
#360 of 1,141 in Istanbul
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Occidental The Public
Occidental The Public
#135 of 1,141 in Istanbul
229 reviews
Beyoglu
Lavanta Hotel
Lavanta Hotel
#405 of 1,141 in Istanbul
113 reviews
Beyoglu
Next2 Hotel
Next2 Hotel
#80 of 1,141 in Istanbul
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jakaranda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jakaranda Hotel

Property: Jakaranda Hotel
Address: Huseyin Aga Mahallesi, Buyuk Bayram Sokak, No:14, Istanbul 34435, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 1,047 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jakaranda Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High quality property in classical new hotel, with all amenities, providing extensive comfort. Jakaranda Hotel is well located in the shopping centers of Taksim Beyoglu and Galata. The hotel is ready to serve you 9 modern designed rooms in modern city Istanbul, just walking distance to Taksim Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jakaranda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing