We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”
Review of Chora Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chora Guesthouse
Ranked #547 of 1,081 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My partner and I traveling around Europe on a motorbike for six months. So we were pleasantry surprised with the location, price and amazing view Chora has to offer. The owner is very helpful and friendly and accommodating. He made sure our bike was secured. We highly recommend Chora for the budget traveler

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terese2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

Very Clean and 3 minutes walk from Hagia Sophia. Lots of nice restaurants close by. The room was tidy and clean and nicely furnished, maybe a little small but if you consider that you only sleep and shower there it is more then enough. Free Wi-Fi works fine and Breakfast is served on a terrace with an amazing view (bring your camera). I don't recommend it for old people or people with mobility problems since the stairs are very steep and narrow. The owner is nice and friendly.

Room Tip: Just ask not to get the one room that is right next to the restaurant..... ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mirko S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

ı was there with my girlfriend we stayed there 5 nights it was great place... breakfast so good and view also great you can see other side and you can also see the the marmara sea as well... Metin was very hospitable person.we are so satısfıed at stayıng here...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorgun2134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

The place was ok, nothing special is in an area close to Blue Mosque and Santa Sofia, very turistic area, seems like a Disneyland resort. The rooms really small. The staff was horrible, unfriendly and nasty. I wouldnt recommend to stay at Chora Guesthouse.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SergioC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

The ONLY thing Chora Guesthouse has going for it is its terrific location - a short, easy walk from the Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque. Apart from that, there isn't much left to recommend. We stayed on the third floor and had to drag our heavy luggage up 3 flights of narrow, steep stairs (no elevator). The proprietor, in fairness, helped us to carry it up but carrying it back down at the end of our stay was just as difficult and when you're in a hurry to catch the airport shuttle, you can't wait around for assistance. The room itself was reasonably clean and had a good bed, however it lacked in some of the basics - no chair (nowhere to sit other than on the bed), no telephone, no television (not that you'd spend any time in the room watching it, but it's nice to catch up on the day's news before retiring). The shower was very temperamental and we had to compromise between decent water pressure and temperature. As a result, we wound up taking tepid showers. The room has a good air conditioner - a must when staying in Istanbul. The worst part of the whole experience was that we were told not to put toilet paper in the toilet because the system couldn't handle it (think about that one for a moment!). Needless to say, we tended to use the facilities at restaurants as much as possible. The room was inexpensive but, in the end, you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterDawna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We stayed at Chora Guesthouse for twelve days in March. I had read these reviews and was a bit concerned about whether or not there was good water pressure/hot water, but don't worry--the showering experience was great! True, there is a sweet spot you have to hit on the faucet handle, and you have to turn the hot water box to "15 after the hour" mark, but once you get it you are golden. :)
Metin, the owner, was so accommodating, friendly, and spoke English. He also has the shop down below the guesthouse with whatever little things you need, very handy.
About the location: this is the best area to stay in all of Istanbul if you are interested in seeing all the sights without ever getting in a bus or taxi. The Four Seasons is a stone throw away so you know it is a desired area.
We took a taxi from IST and it was about 45 lira, not bad and only about a 15 minute ride because the taxi drivers in Istanbul drive fasssttttt.
The view from the double deluxe and the triple deluxe (we stayed in both rooms, seven nights in the double and 3 nights in the triple) are BEAUTIFUL and worth way more than what you are charged. The view was very important to me so I looked at so many hotels online, anything with a comparable view was at least three times more expensive. Another thing I really liked about this hotel: there are a lot of textiles, pillows, wallcovers etc. that are typical Turkish style. When we go places we always try to stay somewhere that reflects the local area and artisans.
We will miss Istanbul and Chora Guesthouse, hope to make it back in a few years.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lacy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

It looks like the three stars or circles is being nice, because we read these reviews and still decided to take a chance.

So, lets get to the review...

The location, really close to the two touristy popular mosques The Blue and Haya Soffia, Topkapi palace, the cisterns, nearby food and the tram. So, you are not at a disadvantage for location location location...

The room, well these people are correct in various degrees. Hot water - keep it to a brief shower as it is a small electric heater tank, and it is more a function of this being an electric heat system that makes it a little bit of adjusting to the westerners that are accoustomed to gas water heater boiler systems. The bed did suck a little, and the room is small. However, if you are a prima donna and think that you are going to get more than this, for under $70, please be real.

Back to more... the Wi fi signal is very good, there is no TV, and the breakfast was not a buffet, but one of these Turkish breakfasts I have gotten in the past where they prep you a plate, with a fixed portion of cheeses, cucumbers, tomatoes, some olives and one hard boiled egg. Good enough for me, but not a buffet which at some of the accommodations I have stayed at throughout Turkey can be generous with a diverse selection of foods, or just this or even a tad less than this. Again, you decide what fits the bill. One couple loved it in the reviews here, another here did not. I didn't mind it as I spent a long time in the military and have thick skin, my fiancee did not like it at all. I would recommend it, and state the above, it's your choice. I will say that for the same money, and if not less, you can get a more up to date room (this building is definitely older than 30 years) with more ammenities, and a better breakfast while still being close as I noted, to all the above attractions. Again, you decide. If you are a first time traveller to this country - do as much research on things such as sites to visit and the accommodations and a little about the people, and please lower your expectations so that you can be pleased with your trip - its a cost effective trip versus say an italy.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 0MichaelB0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#763 of 1,160 in Istanbul
621 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,160 in Istanbul
3,087 reviews
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#68 of 1,160 in Istanbul
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#110 of 1,160 in Istanbul
2,642 reviews
Sultanahmet
Angel's Home Hotel
Angel's Home Hotel
#77 of 1,160 in Istanbul
819 reviews
Besiktas
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
#64 of 1,160 in Istanbul
2,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chora Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chora Guesthouse

Address: Akbiyik Cad., Terbiyik Sokak No. 22 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #547 of 1,081 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Hotel Class:3 star — Chora Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chora Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing