We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but very small rooms”
Review of Chora Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chora Guesthouse
Ranked #538 of 1,047 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good location, but very small rooms”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed in the single bed room and to put it simply, it was like staying in a store room with only space for a single bed and nothing else. Bathroom is across the passage and very small. Price & location wise I think this room was good with a kicker AC but with no space to keep/.open your luggage. Claustrophobics need to stay away from the single room. Breakfast was absolute worst (one plate with a slice of cheese, butter, mayonnaise, bologna and a cold egg. Would rather have had the room without breakfast.

Room Tip: If you are claustrophobic, don't take the single room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarisAlavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    17
    7
    5
    6
See reviews for
4
20
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Offenburg, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I reserved the single room via the HostelWorld website which claimed the bathroom is ensuite. Turned out the bathroom is situated across the public hallway from the room, which was standing space only. This is fine for someone on a budget but prefers not to stay in a hostel. And this traveller probably should be tiny as well.
The hot water did not work for me but it was tolerable since it's summer. The air-conditioning is great though.
I stayed five nights and noticed that they hoover the rooms and corridors daily. Since the staff is mostly around, they air the rooms pretty good during the day. The staff was not friendly to me, but one street away (Akbiyik Cad.), everyone is trying to get you into their restaurants. The guesthouse has fantastic proximity to the important sights in the old city and it is possible to meet other travellers while hanging out at Akbiyik Cad.

Room Tip: Don't take the single room unless you are fine with sleeping in a closet! The window looks out i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aftersnow21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We cancelled and decided to stay at the same hotel for the 3 extra nights after our tour. We had to pay more, but at least we felt more secure. The only thing going for this place was that it was cheaper, not really a bargain though at $69. There was strong odor from the bathroom, the room was small, furnishings depressing. Breakfast room had a view, but it was smaller than what it looks like in the pics there. The rooms look worse than the pics here as well. The lock on the door was not secure. The winding staircase both outside and inside were impossible to maneuver with suitcase.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jan4706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My partner and I traveling around Europe on a motorbike for six months. So we were pleasantry surprised with the location, price and amazing view Chora has to offer. The owner is very helpful and friendly and accommodating. He made sure our bike was secured. We highly recommend Chora for the budget traveler

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terese2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longreach, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Very Clean and 3 minutes walk from Hagia Sophia. Lots of nice restaurants close by. The room was tidy and clean and nicely furnished, maybe a little small but if you consider that you only sleep and shower there it is more then enough. Free Wi-Fi works fine and Breakfast is served on a terrace with an amazing view (bring your camera). I don't recommend it for old people or people with mobility problems since the stairs are very steep and narrow. The owner is nice and friendly.

Room Tip: Just ask not to get the one room that is right next to the restaurant..... ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirko S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
226 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

ı was there with my girlfriend we stayed there 5 nights it was great place... breakfast so good and view also great you can see other side and you can also see the the marmara sea as well... Metin was very hospitable person.we are so satısfıed at stayıng here...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorgun2134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

The place was ok, nothing special is in an area close to Blue Mosque and Santa Sofia, very turistic area, seems like a Disneyland resort. The rooms really small. The staff was horrible, unfriendly and nasty. I wouldnt recommend to stay at Chora Guesthouse.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SergioC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,949 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,725 reviews
Sultanahmet
Angel's Home Hotel
Angel's Home Hotel
#93 of 1,141 in Istanbul
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,141 in Istanbul
3,277 reviews
Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Oryapark
#212 of 1,141 in Istanbul
114 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#157 of 1,141 in Istanbul
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chora Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chora Guesthouse

Property: Chora Guesthouse
Address: Akbiyik Cad., Terbiyik Sokak No. 22 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #538 of 1,047 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Hotel Class:3 star — Chora Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Chora Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing