We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Georges Cosmopolitan and luxurious”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Georges Hotel Galata
Ranked #111 of 1,178 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I was there last week for business and enjoyed very much my stay at Georges: friendly staff, delicious French food, wines and champagne.
Location was also good as it was close to tram with east connection to old town. Great choice if you go for business or leisure

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pistaxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgesHotelGalata, Director of Sales at Georges Hotel Galata, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2012

Dear pistaxo,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback about your stay at Georges.
All our team would really be happy to welcome you once again.

Best regards from Istanbul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (507)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

373 - 379 of 507 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2012

I booked this hote with a voew to staying there in May 2012 after seeing the other good reviews on the hotel.

After booking (a deluxe seaview room) I was informed that the hotel could not honour my booking; as they had incorrectly displayed the room as available when it had in fact already been sold.

In order to try and resolved this, they offered me a deluxe room (usually €60 less than deluxe with seaview) with an upgrade to a partial sea-view (usually €20 euro cost which they said they would waive due to the inconvenience) and that they would refund me the difference between the two rooms. The only thing is; they wanted to refund me €9!!!

Offering to resolve double booking a room by ripping off a customer is certainly not what I would call exceptional service and they certainly won't be having my custom now or in the future. After hard negotiation they were willing to give me €19 back from the price of the deluxe with sea view; which would have left me a loss of €41 (€21 if I were paying for the €20 upgrade which they said they would "waive"). This may not be huge sums of money but surely in a situation like this they should at least be offering me the price it would have been to book that room at the time I booked the sold out room?! I strongly advise against booking with this hotel to avoid being conned yourselves and possibly missing out on booking a better deal elsewhere!

Room Tip: Don't book one!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
12  Thank GazFen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgesGalata, Owner at Georges Hotel Galata, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello from Istanbul,

you wrote a review about our property a few years ago, we are still deeply sorry that you were not satisfied with us and trust me, your words did not fall on deaf ears - we immediately changed our procedures and standards to make sure no one ever experiences something similar.

Now, a few years later, we (as in, everybody in the beautiful city of Istanbul) are trying to recover from the horrible events here in Turkey over the past 2 years. I am sure that you are aware of what happened here in Turkey - we here at Georges were fortunately able to keep our doors open and welcome guests, your constructive criticism back then helped us to improve and that is one of the reasons why people kept coming, even during the worst times.

Now, in 2018, we are resetting ourselves; trying to "hit the ground running" and to do our part in making Turkey, Istanbul, Galata and Georges as great as they once were.

We would like to invite you to a free night in a Deluxe Seaview Room here at Georges, a token of our appreciation; your review helped us immensely and we would like to show you a) how thankful we are and b) that we can do way better.

Please contact our manager at GQ(at)georges.com to arrange the details for your free stay :)

From Galata with love,

Georges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Quality, style, very cool area and amazing Bosphorus view. Everything you don't like about chain hotels, this hotel does NOT have.

Room Tip: Rooms with the view will make this stay special
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgesHotelGalata, Director of Sales at Georges Hotel Galata, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Dear Dan L,

We really appreciate the nice review about Georges Hotel Galata and are happy that we have exceeded your expectations. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you once more.

Best regards

Georges Hotel Galata Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed for two nights during a business trip. If you are looking for something unique a special this is the right hotel. Unfortunately there was party going on in the restaurant during the first night of our stay which was very loud. But i guess that is not every night like that.
Location is perfect even it is not on a main street. We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atriman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgesHotelGalata, Director of Sales at Georges Hotel Galata, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Dear atriman,

First of all, let us thank you for the time spent on sharing your comments with us and for the positive feedback.
We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at Georges Hotel Galata and we are looking forward to welcome you next time.

Best regards from Georges Hotel Galata team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

This hotel was a great experience through and through. From letting me check in extremely early, to helping guide me thorough Istanbul and restaurant reservations, they made my 24 hours in Istanbul stand out. The location is amazing as well in a really vibrant and creative part of town with lots going on. I wish I could have stayed longer. They are new so i cna only see them getting better!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Igy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgesHotelGalata, Director of Sales at Georges Hotel Galata, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2012

Dear Igy C,

We would like to thank you for your positive feedback about your stay with us and are glad that we were able to meet and even exceed your expectations.
We work on continuously improve ourselves and offer day by day only the very best to our guests.

Kindest regards,

Georges Hotel Galata Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Excellent place to spend holidays in Istanbul. Charming hotel, great location, charismatic team who is always available and willing to help/ please. Definitely recommend the hotel as it is the cherry on the cake to make a trip to Istanbul unforgettable.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sofiacsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgesHotelGalata, Director of Sales at Georges Hotel Galata, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Dear Sofiacsa,

We appreciate very much the lovely comments about your stay at Georges Hotel Galata and are pleased that you have enjoyed it so much. We really look forward to welcome you once more when your travel plans bring you back to Istanbul.

Best regards,

Georges Hotel Galata Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We stayed in the Georges Hotel near the Galata Tower and were very impressed with everything about it. The concept is modern yet effective, the service and staff were top drawer, and the bar and restaurant were welcoming, delicious and always hosting a cool crowd. The patron, Alex, is omnipresent and hosts the whole affair very stylishly and ensures your stay is as you would wish. All in all a classy act at a very competitive price. The position is also fantastic and means exploring Istanbul on foot (recommended) is as easy as it could be.

Room Tip: Ask for Sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgesHotelGalata, Director of Sales at Georges Hotel Galata, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2012

Dear Edwar S,

Thank you so much for the time spent on sharing your experience with us.
We are really happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcome you once more.

Best regards from all the Georges Hotel Galata Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Witt Istanbul Suites
Witt Istanbul Suites
#4 of 1,178 in Istanbul
1,054 reviews
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#21 of 1,178 in Istanbul
266 reviews
Beyoglu
Tomtom Suites
Tomtom Suites
#14 of 1,178 in Istanbul
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel
Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel
#74 of 1,178 in Istanbul
721 reviews
Karakoy
10 Karakoy Istanbul
10 Karakoy Istanbul
#53 of 1,178 in Istanbul
394 reviews
Karakoy
SuB Karakoy
SuB Karakoy
#36 of 1,178 in Istanbul
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georges Hotel Galata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georges Hotel Galata

Address: Serdar-i Ekrem Sok. No: 24 | Galata, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34420, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 1,178 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £63 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Georges Hotel Galata 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a majestic historical building in Galata, the heart of modern day Istanbul, this award-winning hotel offers guest rooms with spacious balconies, breathtaking views and outstanding personalized service. The popular rooftop bar allow spectacular views over the Bosphorus and the Golden Horn. Marble bathrooms with walk-in rain showers, parquet flooring and advanced technology are standard in each room at Georges Hotel Galata. Rooms feature a flat-screen TV, an iPod docking station, toiletries, an espresso machine and free Wi-Fi. Guests can take in views of the city while enjoying a drink at the rooftop bar, one of Istanbul's most Instagram-ready spots. Located in the trendy district Galata, the hotel is within 5 minutes' walk of Istiklal Avenue, the Galata Tower and the trendy Karakoy district. The attractions and sights of the historical Old City are just 2 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Georges Hotel Galata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing