We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great (if pricey) rooftop bar on this nice boutique hotel”
Review of Georges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Georges
Ranked #114 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2012

caveat -- i have not stayed in the rooms because it is always full. i keep trying to get a reservation for various friends who visit and it is always full. which, frankly, is a good sign. i've seen the rooms and they are lovely. definitely, the higher up the better for obvious view-related reasons. the restaurant is, even by istanbul standards, pricey (you could buy 3 good hamburgers elsewhere for the price of this one) but food is good. go there for the atmosphere. go for a glass of wine or tea at sunset. it has a very cozy and tranquil view.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lasarilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgesHotelGalata, Director of Sales at Georges, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

Dear lasarilla,
Thank you very much for your comments about our rooftop terrace and unique French restaurant, Le Fumoir.
We hope next time you will be able to find one of our 20 rooms available for your travelling dates.
Looking forward to accommodate you at Georges Hotel Galata.

Best regards,

Georges Hotel Galata Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (493)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

319 - 325 of 493 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2012

We were going to Istanbul for a weekend to celebrate a friend's birthday. Our friends were staying at Pera Palace, but it was fully booked. I found this hotel right here on Tripadvisor and I have to say, this hotel really lived up to all our expectations from the reviews and pics here on Tripadvisor. We really loved this hotel! The room was large, beautifully decorated with all the necessary - and some extra - amenities. We had a lovely terrace with an amazing view! The rooftop terrace for drinks and breakfast is fab! Extra plus for everything that is included; breakfast, water, coffee. Such a nice touch! We will definitely be back and I truly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatjaCato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgesHotelGalata, Director of Sales at Georges, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

DearKatjaCato,

Thank you very much for your lovely comments and for your time to share your experience with us. We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed it so much and that you will come back.

Best regards from Georges Hotel Galata team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

This is a tiny boutique hotel in a good location next to a trendy area with lots of trendy shops. The hotel is also within 5 to 10 mins of an area with lots of restaurants and bars.
The roof where breakfast is served has an excellent view across the strait to the old centre. It's at the top of a hill so there is a slightly steep short climb up if you're coming across the bridge from the centre of town.

Rooms are small but comfortable - has everything you need including comfy bathrobes and slippers. The walls separating the toilet and bedroom are glass, with venetian blinds for cover. So beware if you are staying in the same room with someone you're not comfortable doing "everything" in front of. Also water from the shower spills over the floor but overall the room makes up for that design flaw.

Would recommend.

Room Tip: Maybe choose a room on higher floors as there is noise from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iprefercleanhotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgesHotelGalata, Director of Sales at Georges, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Dear iprefercleanhotels,

we thank you very much for sharing your experience with us.

Best regards from Georges Hotel Galata team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

The second you walk in you'll feel the cozy coolness, sexiness, and luxury of the Georges hotel. It's easy to walk right by the front door to what seems like just a swanky French cafe but just past the velvet curtain and up the spiral stairs is a beautiful and cozy boutique hotel. And at the top? Amazing views over the Bosphorous and the city!

The rooms are spacious, clean, modern, and oh so comfortable. Top notch linens, bedding, toiletries, and finishes are everywhere. Breakfast is included and is absolutely delicious (try the croissants)! The staff are friendly and were so helpful in guiding me to take a day trip to Princes Island. And we were able to walk to all the sites all over the city so, so easily and there are loads of fantastic restaurants just minutes away on foot. I don't have a single complaint about this hotel. Love it!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank priskilly707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgesHotelGalata, Director of Sales at Georges, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

Dear priskilly,

We are absolutely delighted to read about your experience at Georges and wish you come back soon.

Best regards from all Georges Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

The others said it all: a very nice and individual hotel, momentary "hot spot" of the young and stylisch Istanbul crowd. A wardrobe in the room and a bathroom more "closable" would be nice but apart from that, my husband and I would fully recommend it. Very positive: complementary coffee in the room and breakfast all day! Sometimes there is a little problem with the drain...it stinks then...but we were directly given another/better room. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BerlinSista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgesHotelGalata, Director of Sales at Georges, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

Dear BerlinSista,

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you would recommend our hotel.
Whenever your travel plans bring you back to the city, we will be very happy to accommodate you again.

Best regards,

Georges Hotel Galata Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We had an amazing experience staying in this small botique hotel. The best part is the roof top terrace, overlooking the entire city and all it's attractions. The staff was fantastic, helpfull and very friendly, top service, especially Emrah will help you with all your reservations. They all speak English very well, the rooms are beautiful, best is to have the ones on the higher levels! Beautifully furnished and clean! You have to go!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nettinoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgesHotelGalata, Director of Sales at Georges, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Dear Nettinoodle,

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful experience at Georges Hotel Galata and invite you to come back once more.

Best regards,

Georges Hotel Galata Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The Georges is just down a narrow street from the Galata tower so easy walking distance from the bars and restaurants of Beyoglu and not far from the tram that will take you over the Galata bridge to the main attractions of Istanbul.
Rooms at the back of the hotel, at least from the third floor up, have stunning views of the Bosphorus and across the Golden Horn to the Topkapi Palace etc. Ours was spacious with a large balcony and, bevause it was in Galata rather than Beyoglu itself, quiet at night.
The restaurant on the top floor also has magnificuent views and is also a great place to watch the sun go down with a drink.
Staff were very friendly but not particularly efficient (for example telling us, incorrectly, that a restaurant we wanted to eat at was closed/not taking telephone bookings.)

Room Tip: The hotel is soo cool that it doesn't have a sign outside saying that it is a hotel, so beware...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dr_Bill_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgesHotelGalata, Director of Sales at Georges, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

Dear Dr_Bill_11,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us and for your positive feedback.
As well, we would like to apologize for the misunderstanding with the restaurant reservation as one of our concierges had just joined us that week.
We are looking forward to accommodate you whenever your travel plans bring you back to the city.

Best regards,

The Georges Hotel Galata team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Witt Istanbul Suites
Witt Istanbul Suites
#7 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,044 reviews
Beyoglu
Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel
Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel
#66 of 1,163 in Istanbul
702 reviews
Karakoy
10 Karakoy A Morgans Original
10 Karakoy A Morgans Original
#54 of 1,163 in Istanbul
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Tomtom Suites
Tomtom Suites
#12 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,034 reviews
Karakoy
SuB Karakoy
SuB Karakoy
#39 of 1,163 in Istanbul
587 reviews
Beyoglu
InterContinental Istanbul
InterContinental Istanbul
#94 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georges

Address: Serdar-i Ekrem Sok. No: 24 | Galata, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34420, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £55 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Georges 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a majestic historical building in Galata, the heart of modern day Istanbul, this award-winning hotel offers guest rooms with spacious balconies, breathtaking views and outstanding personalized service. The popular rooftop bar allow spectacular views over the Bosphorus and the Golden Horn. Marble bathrooms with walk-in rain showers, parquet flooring and advanced technology are standard in each room at Georges Hotel Galata. Rooms feature a flat-screen TV, an iPod docking station, toiletries, an espresso machine and free Wi-Fi. Guests can take in views of the city while enjoying a drink at the rooftop bar, one of Istanbul's most Instagram-ready spots. Located in the trendy district Galata, the hotel is within 5 minutes' walk of Istiklal Avenue, the Galata Tower and the trendy Karakoy district. The attractions and sights of the historical Old City are just 2 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Georges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing