We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“French Style”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Georges Hotel Galata
Ranked #110 of 1,155 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
İSTANBUL
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“French Style”
Reviewed 31 October 2012

George hotel is a faboulus decorated hotel located at the middle of one of the most historical places of Istanbul, Galata. The hotel has a great bar (which is a little bit expensive) having quite good wines.

The hotel is the mixture of Turkish and French culture. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAN A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgesHotelGalata, Director of Sales at Georges Hotel Galata, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Dear CAN A,
Thank you very much for your kind review and your recommendation.
We look forward to welcome you again.

Best regards,

Georges Hotel Galata Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    98
    11
    7
    6
See reviews for
48
249
28
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

I have visited Istanbul several times and the stay on this hotel is/was the best one. The location is perfect, the service really great, helpfull and friendly staff, really serviceminded.

The only negative i can say about this hotel is that they don´t have a reception area, only one bar and sometimes in the night it can get a little bit noisy.I will recommend this hotel and will stay there again when i am in Istanbul!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hippimio2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgesHotelGalata, Director of Sales at Georges Hotel Galata, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Dear hippimio,
Thank you so much for your feedback. We are extremely happy to have exceeded your expectations and will be honored to welcome you once more.

Best regards,

Georges Hotel Galata Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

(Travel Date: 10/12/2012 - 10/16/2012)

Before booking this hotel, I read plenty of reviews and also noted all the negative reviews I came across and I had high expectations of this hotel since it was really costly for us Singapore travelers (cost SGD450 per night, Deluxe Sea View Room, Level 2, No. 10) - well Georges Galata definitely did live up to all my expectations! Boutique as it can be, there is no hotel relationship manager, there is no front desk, there is no buffet breakfast, there is no swimming pool... but what it did offer was a plenty.

Luxurious creature comforts, free wifi, coffee machine, ipod dock etc… excellent ala carte breakfast menu which we could order anything from, anytime and anywhere (we had our bfast sometimes at our room balcony, sometimes at their lovely rooftop bar, sometimes way early at 7.00 am and sometimes late at 11.30 am!) and we could order multiples of what we liked from the menu eg: croissants. Food was good, good portion and great presentation. Great view from our balcony, lovely lovely french design and decor, lights coming from the floor and ceiling of our balcony at night. The small gestures but v nice touches like daily turn down services and chocolates, the subtle fragrance that greets you once you step into the hotel/your room etc. I am particular about cleanliness and I always judge a hotel by the type of towels that I am given, well, it was all clean, white and fluffy and the housekeeping was great, as we did not have to call housekeeping for additional things as they'd top it up if they see that we are running low on shampoo or shower foam or moisturiser etc. Lotsa complimentary coffee capsules which myself and my husband appreciated as we drink lotsa of coffee in a single day. And yes, the bed was awesome!

Staff performance was excellent too, location was hard for the cabby to find and they gave directions to our cabby on the phone all the way until we reach. Once our cab reached the hotel door step, two porters were on standby, opened our cab doors and greeted us with "welcome to georges" : > I was pleasantly stunned for a moment. All staff understood english and some could even chat and carry on conversations with us (except for one instance when my husband tried to order food once over the phone, maybe it was his singaporean accent that was hard to decipher?)

Like what most reviewers said, the only bad thing was having to leave this place.

Room Tip: Groceries shop near the hotel and lotsa eateries, cafe and shopping! Galata tower is just steps away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GLEE76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgesHotelGalata, Director of Sales at Georges Hotel Galata, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Dear GLEE76,

We are very pleased to have read your nice comments about Georges Hotel Galata.
In behalf of all team “Thank you very much much”.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Like many other hotels in the area, Georges is french-inspired, and proviedes a good atmosphere. Everything from design to background music is typic parisian, the menu is filled with French cuisine (ok food) - you even get croissants for breakfast!

The terrasse is great with a romantic atmosphere, and we enjoyed the sun the whole day. We had a great view of Istanbul and the famous sites. Georges also has a pretty good selection of drinks in the bar - FYI :) Our room was nice and private, and the staff was very polite and nice, but limited english knowledge (this never became a problem).

All in all a good experience - would recommen it for couples.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiDaiquiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgesHotelGalata, Director of Sales at Georges Hotel Galata, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Dear KiwiDaiquiri,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Georges Hotel Galata, appreciated our French Touch and would recommend it to other couples.

Best regards

Georges Hotel Galata Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Located in the heart of the more modern part of Istanbul, in the shadow of the Galata tower, and on an unassuming cobbled street peppered with independent design and clothes shops, Georges was a heavenly find. Once you find it (no sign outside, this is apparently The Thing to do!), you are immediately taken into the embrace of the hotel, the warm, friendly service of the staff, and the genteel, understated but classy environment inside. Offered a coffee right away, we were shown to our generously sized and uber-comfy room (we booked the cheapest room available so goodness only knows what the more expensive rooms are like!). Nespresso coffee, Lindt dark chocolate in the fridge and L'Occitane toiletries all present and correct.

The roof top restaurant/bar is quite simply the nicest place I can remember having breakfast in a very long time. The bar itself, like the rest of the hotel, is well designed and laid out, with staff who wait in the wings, ever attentive. The food we ate both at breakfast and at dinner (French menu) was tasty, with a wide choice of options, a touch pricey but then so much of Istanbul is cheap, we didn't mind splashing out. The view stretches from the Bosphorus Bridge to the east, across the Bosphorus to the Asian side of the city, and round to the skyline of the Blue Mosque and the Haja Sofia to the west. The sunsets were spectacular, as were the peachy morning skies.

If you are looking for a sumptuous treat in the heart of a city that afforded me one of the best city breaks I have been on, then this is definitely the place to book. I would not hesitate to recommend it to friends and families and of course, dear reader, you too!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bethany_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgesHotelGalata, Director of Sales at Georges Hotel Galata, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Dear Bethany_London,

We are truly grateful for your lovely comments about Georges Hotel Galata.
Comments such as yours are simply our best reward to our daily work.
We would be more than happy to accommodate you again!

Best regards,

Georges Hotel Galata Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

This hotel lived up to the expectations from a review we read. It's ideally situated in the old arab part of the city (though our driver had great difficulty finding the hotel mainly because there is no signage and from the narrow cobbled road outside it looks like a restaurant)- easy walking distance to restaurants, transport & sites.The hotel has a great roof top open air restaurant for breakfast & dinner with what has to be one of the most spectacular views in Istanbul- across the Golden Horn to Topkapi, Hagia Sophia & the blue mosque and up the Bosphorus. We had a second floor room with a partially obscured view which was a little disappointing knowing what the view was like just a floor up. The rooms are spacious, comfortable & interesting but poorly lit. What really made our stay was the professional & friendly reception/manager staff, especially Barak..The restaurant staff were also good.

Room Tip: Book a room on a level higher than 2 with a water (not Street) view and make sure you make use of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOMISydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgesHotelGalata, Director of Sales at Georges Hotel Galata, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Dear JOMISydney,

We appreciate your lovely feedback and are happy you enjoyed the room, the views, the staff, the location, the restaurant and hope to welcome you again in a sea view room.

Best regards from Georges Hotel Galata Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

caveat -- i have not stayed in the rooms because it is always full. i keep trying to get a reservation for various friends who visit and it is always full. which, frankly, is a good sign. i've seen the rooms and they are lovely. definitely, the higher up the better for obvious view-related reasons. the restaurant is, even by istanbul standards, pricey (you could buy 3 good hamburgers elsewhere for the price of this one) but food is good. go there for the atmosphere. go for a glass of wine or tea at sunset. it has a very cozy and tranquil view.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lasarilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgesHotelGalata, Director of Sales at Georges Hotel Galata, responded to this review, 18 October 2012
Dear lasarilla,
Thank you very much for your comments about our rooftop terrace and unique French restaurant, Le Fumoir.
We hope next time you will be able to find one of our 20 rooms available for your travelling dates.
Looking forward to accommodate you at Georges Hotel Galata.

Best regards,

Georges Hotel Galata Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Witt Istanbul Suites
Witt Istanbul Suites
#17 of 1,155 in Istanbul
1,016 reviews
Beyoglu
Corinne Hotel
Corinne Hotel
#121 of 1,155 in Istanbul
323 reviews
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#16 of 1,155 in Istanbul
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel
Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel
#57 of 1,155 in Istanbul
664 reviews
Karakoy
SuB Karakoy
SuB Karakoy
#44 of 1,155 in Istanbul
571 reviews
Beyoglu
Tomtom Suites
Tomtom Suites
#8 of 1,155 in Istanbul
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georges Hotel Galata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georges Hotel Galata

Property: Georges Hotel Galata
Address: Serdar-i Ekrem Sok. No: 24 Galata, Istanbul 34420, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 1,155 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Georges Hotel Galata 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a majestic historical building in Galata, the heart of modern day Istanbul, this award-winning hotel offers guest rooms with spacious balconies, breathtaking views and outstanding personalized service. The popular rooftop bar allow spectacular views over the Bosphorus and the Golden Horn. Marble bathrooms with walk-in rain showers, parquet flooring and advanced technology are standard in each room at Georges Hotel Galata. Rooms feature a flat-screen TV, an iPod docking station, toiletries, an espresso machine and free Wi-Fi. Guests can take in views of the city while enjoying a drink at the rooftop bar, one of Istanbul's most Instagram-ready spots. Located in the trendy district Galata, the hotel is within 5 minutes' walk of Istiklal Avenue, the Galata Tower and the trendy Karakoy district. The attractions and sights of the historical Old City are just 2 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Georges Hotel Galata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing