We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FAB!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Georges Hotel Galata

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Georges Hotel Galata
Ranked #92 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“FAB!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012 via mobile

Hotel is right by Galata Tower in the trendy area , so Fab location, fab rooms, fab top floor bar with best views (plus you have breakfast here!) , not only that the staff are so friendly and can't do enough for you.
Loved our stay here and will make it our "place to stay" whenever we visit Istanbul (twice a year). We also took our friends to our hotel bar for late night drinks and they were insanely jealous.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sde76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgesHotelGalata, Director of Sales at Georges Hotel Galata, responded to this review, 6 December 2012
Dear sde76,
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed so much Georges Hotel Galata and you will visit us every year.

Looking forward to welcome you soon again!

Best regards from all the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    91
    10
    7
    4
See reviews for
42
232
24
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
twickenham
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

Myself and 3 girlfriends stayed here for a long weekend.16-19 Nov. Lovely hotel, hidden amid the cobbled streets. It is a walk up the steep hill from the tram. A small and discree hotel. The rooms are clean, modern very comfortable. Fantastic roof terrace, a must for breakfasts, or sundower cocktail or two. Very friendly, helpful staff. Very nice boutique shops nearby, stones throw from galata tower. Well worth a stop or two here would definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melissa1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgesHotelGalata, Director of Sales at Georges Hotel Galata, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Dear melissa1966,

We are happy to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your stay at Georges Hotel Galata so much and would be pleased to accommodate you once more.

Best regards from all

Georges Hotel Galata’s team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
8330
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Very nice boutique hotel in a great area, well located for interesting restaurants and trendy shopping. Walking distance to attractions on the Golden Horn (approx 20 - 30 minutes). The only buts would be the fact that there is very little lighting in the public areas of the hotels. It is apparently part of the 'concept' that the reception area, ground floor restaurant, staircases etc, are kept very dark, also during day time, even only lit with candles during day time, which seems a bit bizarre, and even dangerous as regards the staircase. Rooms are tastefully (but not very practically) decorated. Very nice breakfast options, and gorgeous views of the city from the rooftop restaurant/bar. Friendly staff. Possibility to borrow an ipad. Go for a room with a view.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the Bosporus are clearly the best but also more expensive. If you get a room wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 8330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgesHotelGalata, Director of Sales at Georges Hotel Galata, responded to this review, 20 November 2012
Dear 8330,

Thank you for your feedback and nice comments.
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your experience at Georges Hotel Galata.

Best regards,

Georges Hotel Galata Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
İSTANBUL
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

George hotel is a faboulus decorated hotel located at the middle of one of the most historical places of Istanbul, Galata. The hotel has a great bar (which is a little bit expensive) having quite good wines.

The hotel is the mixture of Turkish and French culture. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CAN A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgesHotelGalata, Director of Sales at Georges Hotel Galata, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Dear CAN A,
Thank you very much for your kind review and your recommendation.
We look forward to welcome you again.

Best regards,

Georges Hotel Galata Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

I have visited Istanbul several times and the stay on this hotel is/was the best one. The location is perfect, the service really great, helpfull and friendly staff, really serviceminded.

The only negative i can say about this hotel is that they don´t have a reception area, only one bar and sometimes in the night it can get a little bit noisy.I will recommend this hotel and will stay there again when i am in Istanbul!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hippimio2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgesHotelGalata, Director of Sales at Georges Hotel Galata, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Dear hippimio,
Thank you so much for your feedback. We are extremely happy to have exceeded your expectations and will be honored to welcome you once more.

Best regards,

Georges Hotel Galata Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

(Travel Date: 10/12/2012 - 10/16/2012)

Before booking this hotel, I read plenty of reviews and also noted all the negative reviews I came across and I had high expectations of this hotel since it was really costly for us Singapore travelers (cost SGD450 per night, Deluxe Sea View Room, Level 2, No. 10) - well Georges Galata definitely did live up to all my expectations! Boutique as it can be, there is no hotel relationship manager, there is no front desk, there is no buffet breakfast, there is no swimming pool... but what it did offer was a plenty.

Luxurious creature comforts, free wifi, coffee machine, ipod dock etc… excellent ala carte breakfast menu which we could order anything from, anytime and anywhere (we had our bfast sometimes at our room balcony, sometimes at their lovely rooftop bar, sometimes way early at 7.00 am and sometimes late at 11.30 am!) and we could order multiples of what we liked from the menu eg: croissants. Food was good, good portion and great presentation. Great view from our balcony, lovely lovely french design and decor, lights coming from the floor and ceiling of our balcony at night. The small gestures but v nice touches like daily turn down services and chocolates, the subtle fragrance that greets you once you step into the hotel/your room etc. I am particular about cleanliness and I always judge a hotel by the type of towels that I am given, well, it was all clean, white and fluffy and the housekeeping was great, as we did not have to call housekeeping for additional things as they'd top it up if they see that we are running low on shampoo or shower foam or moisturiser etc. Lotsa complimentary coffee capsules which myself and my husband appreciated as we drink lotsa of coffee in a single day. And yes, the bed was awesome!

Staff performance was excellent too, location was hard for the cabby to find and they gave directions to our cabby on the phone all the way until we reach. Once our cab reached the hotel door step, two porters were on standby, opened our cab doors and greeted us with "welcome to georges" : > I was pleasantly stunned for a moment. All staff understood english and some could even chat and carry on conversations with us (except for one instance when my husband tried to order food once over the phone, maybe it was his singaporean accent that was hard to decipher?)

Like what most reviewers said, the only bad thing was having to leave this place.

Room Tip: Groceries shop near the hotel and lotsa eateries, cafe and shopping! Galata tower is just steps away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GLEE76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgesHotelGalata, Director of Sales at Georges Hotel Galata, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Dear GLEE76,

We are very pleased to have read your nice comments about Georges Hotel Galata.
In behalf of all team “Thank you very much much”.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

Like many other hotels in the area, Georges is french-inspired, and proviedes a good atmosphere. Everything from design to background music is typic parisian, the menu is filled with French cuisine (ok food) - you even get croissants for breakfast!

The terrasse is great with a romantic atmosphere, and we enjoyed the sun the whole day. We had a great view of Istanbul and the famous sites. Georges also has a pretty good selection of drinks in the bar - FYI :) Our room was nice and private, and the staff was very polite and nice, but limited english knowledge (this never became a problem).

All in all a good experience - would recommen it for couples.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiDaiquiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgesHotelGalata, Director of Sales at Georges Hotel Galata, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Dear KiwiDaiquiri,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Georges Hotel Galata, appreciated our French Touch and would recommend it to other couples.

Best regards

Georges Hotel Galata Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel
Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel
#49 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Beyoglu
Tomtom Suites
Tomtom Suites
#8 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Karakoy
SuB Karakoy
SuB Karakoy
#36 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#3 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Karakoy
10 Karakoy A Morgans Original
10 Karakoy A Morgans Original
#41 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Beyoglu
Bankerhan Hotel
Bankerhan Hotel
#16 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georges Hotel Galata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georges Hotel Galata

Property: Georges Hotel Galata
Address: Serdar-i Ekrem Sok. No: 24 Galata, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34420, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Georges Hotel Galata 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a majestic historical building in Galata, the heart of modern day Istanbul, this award-winning hotel offers guest rooms with spacious balconies, breathtaking views and outstanding personalized service. The popular rooftop bar allow spectacular views over the Bosphorus and the Golden Horn. Marble bathrooms with walk-in rain showers, parquet flooring and advanced technology are standard in each room at Georges Hotel Galata. Rooms feature a flat-screen TV, an iPod docking station, toiletries, an espresso machine and free Wi-Fi. Guests can take in views of the city while enjoying a drink at the rooftop bar, one of Istanbul's most Instagram-ready spots. Located in the trendy district Galata, the hotel is within 5 minutes' walk of Istiklal Avenue, the Galata Tower and the trendy Karakoy district. The attractions and sights of the historical Old City are just 2 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Prestigia so you can book your Georges Hotel Galata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing