We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing! We absolutely loved the hotel!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Georges Hotel Galata

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Georges Hotel Galata
Ranked #85 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Cologne, Germany
1 review
“Amazing! We absolutely loved the hotel!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

Relaxed neighbourhood with trendy shops and restaurants. Stylish boutique hotel. Great location because it is just in between the Galata Bridge (to ferry and Sultanamet) and the Istikal Caddesi. Staff were excellent, very helpful, friendly, sympathetic, 5 stars service!!! Excellent à la carte breakfast menu which we could order anything from, anytime and anywhere (we had our bfast sometimes at our room balcony). Beautiful interiors, everything is done with taste, great view from rooftop, free wifi, coffee machine, ipod dock...Cleanliness and Very comfortable bed. A pleasure to be at Georges Hotel. Will definitely come back!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgesHotelGalata, Director Comercial at Georges Hotel Galata, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Dear Mia W,

Thank you very much for your time and review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your experience at Georges Hotel Galata and will visit us again.
We will be looking forward to serve you again!

Best regards from all Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    91
    10
    7
    4
See reviews for
42
232
24
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

Just returned from a long weekend in Istanbul staying at the Georges Galata. Fabulous hotel, excellent staff, they could not have been more helpful, the views from the rooftop restaurant are stunning, a wonderful weekend in a superb hotel, all staff spoke good english too and really could not have been nicer, i would reccomend this hotel to anyone, one of the best i have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 567Joanna1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgesHotelGalata, Director Comercial at Georges Hotel Galata, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Dear 567Joanna1972,

Thank you very much for your nice review.
We are always happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Georges Hotel Galata and would recommend us to anyone.
Again, thank you for your time and positive feedback.

Best regards,

Georges Hotel Galata Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Georges. The staff were excellent and always lovely and happy to answer any questions. We had a room which looked out over the Golden Horn and Bosphorus, and if you have the chance, I would definitely advise you to get one of these rooms. The view is spectacular. Although the hotel is on the other side of the river from a lot of main sights, it's simple to get to them with a walk and then by tram. The area around the hotel is very modern, and it is a 5 minute walk to Isklital street for restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgesHotelGalata, Director Comercial at Georges Hotel Galata, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear Kathjs,
Thank you for time and positive feedback.
We are happy to know you enjoyed the stay with us and would recommend us.
We would love to welcome you again!

Best regards,

Georges Hotel Galata Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

You will be SO pleased you stayed here. The restaurant was great with fabulous views too! Great location: near Galata Tower, fabulous rooms: clean and chic, incredibly helpful staff: they booked dinners and entertainment! Make sure to shop in local boutiques in this area! Taxi's will try to drop you up the road and the hotel has no signage, so make sure you have detailed info provided from hotel before you arrive.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgesHotelGalata, Director of Sales at Georges Hotel Galata, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear Beth001,

Thank you for your time to share your experience with us and for your lovely comments.

Shall your travel plans bring you back to Istanbul, we would be happy to accommodate you again.

Best regards from Georges Hotel Galata Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

Wonderful room - only 20 rooms each with a gloriously soft bed, beautiful style, fantastic bathroom. It was the perfect place for a romantic break and the breakfasts were excellent, served on the terrace looking over the Bosphorus. It is the sort of place you don't want to leave, and will love coming back to after a day's sightseeing. The staff are absolutely brilliant. The staff in the restaurant are so efficient and know exactly what you want before you've even asked. Greeting us everytime we came in, we really trusted their recommendations.

I couldn't recommend this place more. It is easily located next to the Galata tower in an area with numerous good restaurants within a minute's stroll.

Many thanks for an unforgettable stay.

Room Tip: With only 20 rooms - they will all be lovely. View of a concrete building from #7 but, with the quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LCBailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgesHotelGalata, Director of Sales at Georges Hotel Galata, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear LCBailey,

Thank you for your nice comments. We are happy to know we met your expectations and would love to welcome you again.

Thank you for sharing your stay with us!

Georges Hotel Galata Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

We travelled as a family of 4 (Two children: 9 and 13 years) and stayed 5 nights. We had connecting rooms (Room 2 & 3) on the lower ground floor. The rooms were very spacious and stylishly decorated in a simple yet elegant manner. Both rooms had large balconies although it faces some other buildings. There was not much of a view as we were on lower floors. The terrace has a beautiful view and we look forward to our breakfast every morning because of it. Breakfast can also be served in the room which we chose to do one morning.

One of the reasons I chose the hotel is because of the design and decor and I was not disappointed. Modern and very chic.

We like the location as it is in the middle of Serder-i-Ekrem a small street with several stylish boutiques, shops and restaurants. We also like that the hotel is rather discreet, like a secret hideaway. Galata Tower, Tünel, Karaköy tram stop, Istiklal Çaddesi are all within walking distance. Plenty of restaurants nearby and yet the hotel was very quiet.

The staff were very friendly and helpful too. We arrived early in the morning, around 8 am and they allowed us to have breakfast and rest at the terrace area since our rooms were not ready. They were always ready to answer any questions we had and were very efficient.

I would recommend this place to and would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FNor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgesHotelGalata, Director of Sales at Georges Hotel Galata, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear FNor,

Thank you so much for your sharing with us your experience at Georges Hotel Galata. We are extremely happy to hear you enjoyed the rooms, the breakfast, the rooftop terrace, the design, the location and the staff.

We would be glad to welcome you again.

Best regards,

Georges Hotel Galata Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

Spent 5 nights here on my first trip to IST and it's a serious winner. Georges is beautifully designed -- modern, clean design, and very comfortable. Rooms you want to come home to.

The staff is across-the-board warm and efficient. And the rooftop restaurant, where you are served a fantastic daily Turkish breakfast, is simply perfect. With a sweeping view of the Bosphorous and old city, it provides the perfect way to start every day of your visit. The staff at the restaurant was warm and inviting.

The location is ideal. It's a short (5-7 minute) walk to the Galata Bridge, your jumping off point for the old city. And a short (5-7 minute) walk to the main drag of the new city's Istiklal Cadessi. I'd been concerned that the hotel might be in no-man's land, but it turns out to be the ideal location for everything.

It's hard from me to come up with a single reason not to recommend this place, and if you can afford it, I say book it!

Room Tip: If you can afford a top floor room facing the old city, grab it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UprightAndStowed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgesHotelGalata, Director Comercial at Georges Hotel Galata, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Dear UprightAndStowed,
Thank you very much for your lovely comments. We are happy to have met your expectations and even exceeded them.
Such positive feedback as yours is the best reward to our daily work!

Thank you again and hope to welcome you soon!

Best regards,

Georges Hotel Galata Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel
Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel
#48 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Beyoglu
Tomtom Suites
Tomtom Suites
#8 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Karakoy
SuB Karakoy
SuB Karakoy
#35 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#3 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Karakoy
10 Karakoy A Morgans Original
10 Karakoy A Morgans Original
#40 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Beyoglu
Bankerhan Hotel
Bankerhan Hotel
#25 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georges Hotel Galata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georges Hotel Galata

Property: Georges Hotel Galata
Address: Serdar-i Ekrem Sok. No: 24 Galata, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34420, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Georges Hotel Galata 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a majestic historical building in Galata, the heart of modern day Istanbul, this award-winning hotel offers guest rooms with spacious balconies, breathtaking views and outstanding personalized service. The popular rooftop bar allow spectacular views over the Bosphorus and the Golden Horn. Marble bathrooms with walk-in rain showers, parquet flooring and advanced technology are standard in each room at Georges Hotel Galata. Rooms feature a flat-screen TV, an iPod docking station, toiletries, an espresso machine and free Wi-Fi. Guests can take in views of the city while enjoying a drink at the rooftop bar, one of Istanbul's most Instagram-ready spots. Located in the trendy district Galata, the hotel is within 5 minutes' walk of Istiklal Avenue, the Galata Tower and the trendy Karakoy district. The attractions and sights of the historical Old City are just 2 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia and Odigeo so you can book your Georges Hotel Galata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing