We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Georges Hotel Galata - boutique hotel in Istanbul”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Georges Hotel Galata
Ranked #118 of 1,154 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Luxembourg, Luxembourg, Luxembourg
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Georges Hotel Galata - boutique hotel in Istanbul”
Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

We just spent 4 nights at Georges Hotel Galata in Beyoglu (Istanbul). This small boutique hotel in a cosy and bohême district of Beyoglu is ideally located to discover this fantastic city. The rooms are big, nicely decorated, each with a terrace - the higher, the better the view! The hotel has a wonderful roof terrace with splendid views of the Bosporus, Sultanahmet district and Halic. We had breakfast there every day in the sun and once dinner - delicious French food and friendly service.
We definitely recommend Georges Hotel Galata!

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank CricN6101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgesHotelGalata, Director of Sales at Georges Hotel Galata, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Dear CricN6101,

Thank you so much for your lovely comments! We are happy to hear we were able to meet and hopefully even exceed your expectations.
Looking forward to accommodate you again soon.

Best regards,

Georges Hotel Galata Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    98
    11
    7
    6
See reviews for
48
249
28
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

My wife and i stayed at the Georges Hotel last fall... I meant to write earlier. we had just finished a week on a Gullet then a week bike tour. we were ready for quiet comfort. Our room was beautiful yet had no view. We didn't care as we were either touring or enjoying the roof top bar and restaurant. That is were I want to focus. The rooftop is an amazing amenity for the hotel. All meals can be served there but sitting in the couches with a cocktail is amazing. The view is great and the food is uniquely Turkish. For you wine fans ... the wine list is french.

Don't be discouraged if finding the hotel is difficult... it is .. but you get a special experience that is walk able to many places of interest. This hotel is a great find!

Room Tip: Ask for the view rooms early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgesHotelGalata, Director of Sales at Georges Hotel Galata, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear Sean C,

Thank you for your review. We are happy you decided to share your experience with us and extremely satisfied to hear you enjoyed it very much.
We are looking forward to accommodate you again at Georges Hotel Galata.

Best regards,

The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We stayed at the Georges Hotel while in Istanbul for a 5 day visit. We discovered the Georges first in an article in our weekend paper’s travel section and then on Trip Advisor and booked through the hotel’s web site.

The hotel is well located in Galata, close to Istiklal Cd (shopping street / restaurant area) and an easy walk over the Golden Horn to Sultanahmet district. We frequently walked back from the area around Hagia Sophia to the hotel.

We arrived well before the published check in time of 2 PM. The staff offered to take care of our bags and we were offered breakfast in the hotel’s terrace restaurant. Our room was ready a couple of hours earlier than we expected.

The breakfast offerings a simple but very good, especially the traditional Turkish breakfast. We had 5 breakfasts and 1 dinner in the hotel. The dinner was room service on our terrace and was of reasonable quality and taste. Service in both the restaurant and for room service was excellent – staff are friendly, attentive and accommodating.

We absolutely loved our room. It was very spacious and had a large terrace with an amazing view over the Bosphorus and the Golden Horn. The bed was very comfortable but could use a light sheet for nights when it’s too warm for a duvet. The bathroom was large with double sinks and a rain shower. The only downside was a lack of cupboard space in the room, which kept us living out of our suitcases.

The rooms on each floor are off a small central landing with a spiral stair case around the elevator and this occasionally means elevated noise levels when people leave the terrace restaurant. However this never interfered with our sleep or enjoyment of the room.

The real standout for us was the staff and the service they delivered. Everyone we dealt with was friendly, helpful and obviously enjoyed their jobs. This started before we arrived at the hotel with the provision of a map we could give our taxi driver so he could find the hotel to arranging a visit from a doctor late one night to deal with an illness.

Alex, the owner, has built a wonderful hotel and an excellent team. We will definitely stay at the Georges again the next time we are in Istanbul.

Thank you to everyone at the Georges for making our stay so enjoyable!

Room Tip: View from the Panorama Bosphorus Suite is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canucks-down-under
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgesHotelGalata, Director of Sales at Georges Hotel Galata, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Dear Canucks-down-under,

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience at Georges.

Comments such as yours are our best reward to our daily work!

We are looking forward to welcome you again soon!

Best regards,

Georges Hotel Galata Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

After spending weeks traveling all over Turkey, we were thrilled to have booked this wonderful boutique hotel for our last three nights. The room was high ceilinged, spacious, elegant with glass walled bath, ancient tiles, a balcony overlooking the Bosphouous, clean crisp linens, slippers, L'Occitaine soaps and shampoos, simply fabulous food and drink - and a bartender who was able to make a superb dirty martini!! The mattress was so comfortable, like sleeping in a cloud. Oh...and there is a pillow menu! You are given four fabulous pillows but can then order any of five others. Really, this was a super hotel!

The interior of the hotel was so unusual: one enters the dimly lit bar/restaurant area and is warmly greeted by staff who assure you that you are in good hands! There are about four fooms on each floor. The glass enclosed elevator opens onto a spacious elegantly tiled lobby on each floor, off of which there were four rooms. Black marble run thru with white on the steps up to the rooftop bar and restaurant - the view is unspeakably smashing in every respect.

The staff is quite experienced, having benefitted from stints at large North American and/or European hotel chains. They were efficient, friendly, had excellent suggestions for restaurants and made certain cabs were called, etc. Truly, they could not have been nicer. In other hotels we found some lovely personnel saddled with staffing very inferior hotels...OR, we found staff at elegant hotels who were bowing and scraping. This staff had just just the right touch.

To read more, look up this hotel in the New York Times. A review there led up to the Goerges.

Room Tip: It seems that all rooms are the same - elegant and simple!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monastir36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgesHotelGalata, Director of Sales at Georges Hotel Galata, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Dear Monastir36,
Thank you for your review and positive feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your experience at Georges.
We would love to serve you once again!

Best regards,

Georges Hotel Galata Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Georges is a very trendy boutique hotel that's perfectly located, just a few steps from the Galata tower and near all the nightlife in Beyoglu. It's an easy walk to the ferries at Karakoy or Tophane, the Tunel stop, or to the metro. The rooftop bar/restaurant has an amazing view of the Bosphorus and the Istanbul skyline. The rooms are very cool, minimalist but not boring. Some have sea views. The beds are super comfortable and there's a Nespresso machine in all of them. All that may sound perfect, and for many visitors it is. But I wouldn't recommend Georges for everyone. There's no reception desk. The unmarked entrance is a restaurant, and finding staff members is sometimes a challenge. The bathrooms are bit odd - glass boxes with Venetian blinds jutting out into the room and low lighting. Storage space is at minimum. The stairway is very dark, which creates a cool mood but resulted in a few members of our party sliding down on their rears. This is a hotel for hip, well-heeled, in-the-know couples, who travel light. Families and business travels may be better off elsewhere, but certainly drop in for a drink on the roof.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcopolo1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgesHotelGalata, Director of Sales at Georges Hotel Galata, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Dear marcopolo,

Thank you for your comments.
Hope to see you again at Georges Hotel Galata.

Best regards,

The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

I spent a week with two colleagues in Istanbul and we used the Georges as our base in Istanbul.

The upside is a trendy location, great staff, nice rooms, wonderful terrace, convenient walk to the ferry to get to the Asian side.
The down side is that taxi drivers have a hard time finding the place (Which is probably down to the quality of the taxi drivers in Istanbul who have a problem finding any place). Fortunately Galata tower is a 2 minute walk and the tower is easy to find for every body.
We didn't use the restaurant for a full dinner but the snacks we had and breakfast were totally acceptable. Having said that I wanted to slip the barkeeper a copy of the bartenders guide and a book on motivation. This part can be definetly improved on!

We will definitley use The georges again on our next trip to Istanbul

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamburg1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgesHotelGalata, Director Comercial at Georges Hotel Galata, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Dear Hamburg1965,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Georges with us.
We are happy to hear that you will come back on your next trip to Istanbul.
We will keep on improving the quality and service in order to offer only the very best to our guests.

Best regards,

Georges Hotel Galata Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney, australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Georges is a beautiful hotel but our stay there was a total train wreck - the low score reflects our experience. Some of what went wrong was undoubtedly the capriciousness of luck, but some of it boils down to issues which we felt need to be addressed. Those being noise generated within the hotel and a staff which reacts slowly and reluctantly to Things Which Arise.

But the good stuff first. This is a very beautiful, very sexy hotel. A design buff’s wet dream, really. It’s pared back but not minimal in that rather boring, ascetic way of minimalism. It’s funky and elegant at the same time. The ground floor is a bar/reception which is designed to be low-lit and intimate. The top floor is a restaurant/terrace, with a fantastic view and a decidedly luxurious feel. In between there are several floors of rooms. Those rooms are lovely - crisp, white panelling schmoozes up against raw brick. The beds are long legged, as graceful as dancers, and impossibly comfortable. Thick mattresses, good pillows, high thread count linen. The bathrooms are glass boxes (with venetian blinds), which is a very creative solution to the eternal problem of how to fit a bathroom into a bedroom without it looking ugly and an afterthought. The bathrooms themselves are of black stone and beautiful, soft blue tiles. There is an abundance of L’Occitane toiletries in the bathrooms and an espresso machine in the rooms. No wardrobe, however, but short hanging space provided in an alcove (so ladies, leave the ballgowns at home). Some might find the furniture sparse, but what there is has been well chosen (the use of fake rather than real leather is a small niggle). Another small contention was that in our first bathroom, which was huge, our lavatory had been placed rather eccentrically so that when sitting, our knees were inches from a wall. Bathrobes were also hung from that wall, so that the overall feeling was of going about one’s business in a wardrobe!

So what went wrong?

We arrived mid afternoon but our room was not ready, so instead of the in-room welcome (there is no reception), we were left standing amidst the jumble of our luggage in the bar. The music was intrusively loud, the lighting was low and we felt like we’d fetched up, out of hours, in a club. We were offered a welcome drink - nice touch - but there seemed to be some uncertainty about whether we were actually expected. To have someone flicking again and again through the list of guests was not a particularly reassuring thing to be privy to. This issue solved, however, we were shown to the terrace to wait. The terrace had a fantastic view and the overall feel was of comfort and luxury. Our room, when we were shown to it, was lovely, and having sorted ourselves out, we went off for the rest of the day.

When we arrived back after supper it became clear that there were going to be noise issues. We were on the 4th floor, where the lift stops, and every time it was called from anywhere in the hotel, it gave out a loud clicking noise similar to the banging of a door. Because the lift stops on the 4th floor and the restaurant is on the 5th, people would tromp up and down the stone stairs. We could hear their footsteps, their conversations by the lift, even their nose blowing. A lot of trouble has been taken to soundproof the rooms but the doors fit badly, letting a great deal of sound in from the hallway. There are also no noise-baffling soft textures to absorb sound in the stairwall, so the sound bounces back and forth. On top of all that, sounds from the restaurant, of tables being moved etc, were frequent. We rang down and asked if we could change rooms because of the noise and were told that there were no other rooms available that night. A quick check on booking.com revealed that there were, in fact, several. The night progressed and we became more despairing of sleep. Another call to reception revealed that there were actually some rooms on the same floor, but the noise problem would have been the same so we decided to stay put. Somewhere in all this the air conditioning also failed and the room got quite hot. This was rectified within the hour.

More hours passed, we failed to get to sleep and yet another, more insistent, call revealed that actually, there was another room downstairs but we could only have it for one night. Daunted by all the packing and unpacking involved in that option, we decided to brave it out for the night but at 2.30am we had still not got to sleep and the noise was not abating. At this point we gave up and went downstairs for a few hours of sleep until 8.00am, when we were woken by the fire alarm going off. We were actually pretty pissed off by this point because this was to be our last day in Istanbul and less than five hours sleep didn’t bode well. On top of that, all the calls to reception and the long waits to hear back from them, the packing and unpacking - all took a lot of our time. But anyway, we decided to make the best of things and get out into the day. However, there was no hot water for a shower and we were told to wait half an hour before it came good again. This meant our only option for breakfast was to have it in the room. It came and was delicious - the only slight quibble was the balancing act required to eat it off a stool, and the lack of adequate crockery/salt and pepper. The option of breakfast in the room at no extra cost is a lovely one - if the management could take a cue from some more traditional hotels and provide a collapsible table, a cloth and adequate crockery, this option would be transformed into something quite magical.

We were told that a new room was possible for us. We were asked if we were ready to move there and then, but five minutes later another staff member said we would have to wait until after 2pm. Yet another staff member said we could move in forty minutes. Not wanting to waste yet MORE time on logistics we packed and asked to be moved in our absence. Coming back later for an afternoon rest, knackered as we were, we were shown to our new room on the ground floor just behind the bar. Lovely room, but sadly, the issues with noise continued. There appeared to be a delivery of something very heavy happening, with many attendant bumps and dragging sounds. There was also a heavy base from the bar music that came through loud and clear. When we went into the bar to investigate, it was empty of customers (as it was throughout out 24 hr stay) and it seemed that the music was more for the enjoyment of the staff anyone else. By this time we had reached the point of no return - the hotel just didn’t feel like a safe place to be and there seemed no prospect of sleep there. We were also looking down the barrel of a 30 hour return trip the next day. We decided we needed to leave. My husband went out to relay this and rather provocatively (we were thoroughly pissed off by this stage) mentioned a trip advisor review. It was then that we had the full attention of the staff, who fell over themselves to help, offering us a quiet and beautiful room, etc etc. What we wanted to know was why that attention and that room had not been forthcoming when it was so needed? Why had we been stonewalled every time we complained about the noise, and had we needed to follow up almost every communication to the staff with another call, because they failed to call us back as they promised to do?

The upshot of all this newfound attention was that we met the owner, Alex, who refunded us our second, cancelled night’s charge - that was a nice gesture. He is clearly passionate about his hotel and very much wants it to be wonderful. It has the potential to be just that, but somehow, at least in our case, the passion for design was not equalled by a passion to provide a good stay. It was evident this question has been much considered (the sound proofing, the desire to offer breakfast entirely at the guests’ whim, the inclusions in the room etc - a whole host of lovely touches) but somehow that didn’t translate into the reality of our stay. We left the hotel quite sadly, wishing it could have been a better experience - the one Alex clearly wants to provide and the one we had wanted to have.

Room Tip: If you're at all noise sensitive, don't stay on the ground floor or the fourth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rosemalmaison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgesHotelGalata, Director Comercial at Georges Hotel Galata, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Dear rosemalmaison,
Thank you for your review.
We are really sorry to hear that your experience at Georges was not perfect.
We would like to explain you our point of view of the unfortunate events:
- The check-in time is 2 pm and we are always happy to accommodate our guests before that but due to our reputation we are full most of the time. Therefore we always offer a complimentary drink to all our guests and if they arrive before 2 pm and their room is not ready we invite them to wait at the terrace while enjoying the views and the drink.
- In regards to the noise caused by the elevator, we really have to apologize for that inconvenient happened that day. We called the company on the next morning which came to fix it and promised that this issue would not happen again.
- Regarding the fire alarm, as you may know, all our rooms are non smoking and do have fire detectors to meet the regulations. However, that morning a guest smoked in his room and the alarm went off.
- In regards to the lack of attention of our staff we have to say that only on the day after a room was empty which was not located on the ground floor neither on the fourth floor.
As the hotel owner mentioned, we would be happy to accommodate you once more to show you that we can do much better and offer you the magical stay our guests expect.

Best regards,

Georges Hotel Galata Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Witt Istanbul Suites
Witt Istanbul Suites
#17 of 1,154 in Istanbul
1,016 reviews
Beyoglu
Corinne Hotel
Corinne Hotel
#127 of 1,154 in Istanbul
325 reviews
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#16 of 1,154 in Istanbul
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel
Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel
#56 of 1,154 in Istanbul
664 reviews
Karakoy
SuB Karakoy
SuB Karakoy
#41 of 1,154 in Istanbul
571 reviews
Beyoglu
Tomtom Suites
Tomtom Suites
#8 of 1,154 in Istanbul
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georges Hotel Galata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georges Hotel Galata

Property: Georges Hotel Galata
Address: Serdar-i Ekrem Sok. No: 24 Galata, Istanbul 34420, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 1,154 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Georges Hotel Galata 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a majestic historical building in Galata, the heart of modern day Istanbul, this award-winning hotel offers guest rooms with spacious balconies, breathtaking views and outstanding personalized service. The popular rooftop bar allow spectacular views over the Bosphorus and the Golden Horn. Marble bathrooms with walk-in rain showers, parquet flooring and advanced technology are standard in each room at Georges Hotel Galata. Rooms feature a flat-screen TV, an iPod docking station, toiletries, an espresso machine and free Wi-Fi. Guests can take in views of the city while enjoying a drink at the rooftop bar, one of Istanbul's most Instagram-ready spots. Located in the trendy district Galata, the hotel is within 5 minutes' walk of Istiklal Avenue, the Galata Tower and the trendy Karakoy district. The attractions and sights of the historical Old City are just 2 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Georges Hotel Galata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing