We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis, an experience, an exhale, and amazing value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Georges Hotel Galata
Ranked #114 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This is one of the up and coming boutique hotels of the world. I travel often and far and this gem will become my Istanbul staple. Set in a hip trending hood, just a few minute walk away from the action (food, shopping, transportation, sights), you can live like a local and use George as your base of operation.
Free breakfast 24 hrs, free internet, pillows and mattress rival best hotels anywhere. Quiet, roomy and personal. One of the best views in all of Istanbul from the bar terrace. staff is super helpful/friendly.
Its a NO Brainer! stay here!
Jack,
La Jolla CA

Room Tip: Dont worry about scoring a view room, the terrace has it all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jackabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgesHotelGalata, Director of Sales at Georges Hotel Galata, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Jack,
thank you very much for your lovely comments.
We are looking forward to serve you again very soon!

Best regards,

Georges Hotel Galata Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (491)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 491 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

Great area, right near Galata tower, lively neighbourhood atmosphere, cafes, boutique stores, restaurants. Walking distance to the Galata bridge across to Sultanahmet, took 10-15 min to walk to spice market. 5 min walk up to Istiklal street.
Rooms are spacious and bright, really well designed, they have a modern, urban and luxurious feel.
The staff were also amazing, really friendly, very professional and extremely helpful. I came down with a chest infection and all pharmacies and medical centres were closed, they arranged someone to go and get me some medicine and were back within an hour.
Would definitely recommend we had a great time, even being sick the beautiful room and helpful staff made my time in Istanbul really enjoyable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teniele T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgesHotelGalata, Director of Sales at Georges Hotel Galata, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Teniele T,
thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We are extremely happy to hear you have enjoyed your experience at Georges hotel Galata.
We hope to be able to accommodate you again soon.

Best regards,

Georges hotel Galata Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Tucked away in the hip and trendy little cobbled alleys of central area of Galata is this gem of a botique hotel. Upon our arrival we were invited up to the rooftop terrace for a welcome drink with magnificent views of the Bosporus. All members of the Georges hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful, they even took the initiative to go ahead and arrange reservations and directions, without our personal inquiry. We felt right at home at Georges, and will definitely return when visiting Istanbul again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kolkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgesHotelGalata, Director of Sales at Georges Hotel Galata, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Kolkc,
thank you so much to take time to share your experience with us.
We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay at Georges Hotel Galata and would be more than happy to accommodate you again.

Best regards,

Georges Hotel Galata Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Small, chic, quiet place with great service and staff who will take care to insure your needs are met and give you 5+ star treatment. Beautifully designed hotel with attention to detail. All rooms have great views and face the Bosporus. Easy walk to shopping on Istiklal Street and quick cab rides to all the tourist sites, The owner, Alex Varlik, met us in excellent French Restaurant the top floor when we got there. He spends time with all the guests. The hotel doesn't have a sign out front. Once you return after a long day of site seeing and being in a city of 20 million people, it's the place where you can breathe, zen down, and relax. We've traveled all over Europe, and room 19 was one of the best rooms we have ever had with an amazing view of the Bosporus and the city. We wouldn’t stay anywhere else in Istanbul!

Room Tip: All rooms face the Bosporus. Room 19 is large with the best views. Restuarant is on next level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgesHotelGalata, Director of Sales at Georges Hotel Galata, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Paul R,
thank you so much for your lovely comments.
We are extremely happy to hear that we met and even exceeded your expectations and hope to see you soon again.

Best regards,

Georges Hotel Galata Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

For our last two nights in Turkey we stayed here at the recommendation of some of our friends and Georges did not disappoint!

Location: Down the street from the Galata tower making it easy to walk to shopping, night life, river and even the historic old city (about 25 min).

Service/Facility: The staff was top notch and so friendly! The rooftop view is better than Mikla because it faces the old city. Be wary of the drink prices though - a bit steep. The food was spectacular - get the turkish breakfast :)

Room: The bed was so comfortable - like sleeping on a cloud - very relaxing. It is a modern boutique so the furniture is sparse in the room and the bathroom does not have a lot of privacy. We didn't mind but thought some might like to know before booking!

Room Tip: Higher rooms might get a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgesHotelGalata, Director of Sales at Georges Hotel Galata, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Sara K,
we are so happy to know you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
Thank you very much for your time to share your experience with us.
Looking forward to accommodate and serve you again.

Best regards,

Georges Hotel Galata Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for the last night we were in Istanbul, while wrapping up our honeymoon. The hotel is decorated very modern, yet still feels very warm and offers some of the best views in the city, with an awesome rooftop to eat breakfast and view the city. We always try and find unique, one of a kind hotels, and this was definitely a great find. Our concierge was also extremely helpful, very cheery and always willing to help. There are only 2 things that could potentially be a bit of a downside…The hotel rooms have no closets so if you are staying a while, this could pose an issue. Also, the rooms/balconies are extremely close, to where you can hear every conversation of your neighbors if the doors are open but overall great hotel, great location, great experience.

Room Tip: I would definitely stay in a room with a view, preferably on the top floor. We had a corner room wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieVanDaele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgesHotelGalata, Director of Sales at Georges Hotel Galata, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear JulieVanDaele,
thank you very much for your feedback.
We will be waiting to serve you once again.

Best regards,

Georges Hotel Galata Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

A great boutique hotel in the new city district of Galata. If your are fortunate to get a sea view room, it has awesome views - Topkapi Palace and the Bosphorus especially. The breakfast area on the top floor is sensational with everything you could ask for - Topkapi, Bosphorus, Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque

The staff are excellent and very, very helpful, especially with cab drivers who battle to find the place - part of the charm of George's is that it is hidden (sometimes a little too well). As a tip - get the concierge to mark up the map they give you. Once we had done this the taxi ride home was a lot less stressful (Sishane Metro station is close by and all the cab drivers know that)

A true gem and loom forward to coming back

Room Tip: Sea view a must...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seanster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgesHotelGalata, Director of Sales at Georges Hotel Galata, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Seanstar,
thank you for your comments.
We are happy to know you enjoyed the hotel with its views and staff.
We would be happy to serve you again.

Best regards from all Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Witt Istanbul Suites
Witt Istanbul Suites
#6 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,036 reviews
Beyoglu
Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel
Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel
#62 of 1,163 in Istanbul
696 reviews
Karakoy
10 Karakoy A Morgans Original
10 Karakoy A Morgans Original
#50 of 1,163 in Istanbul
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Tomtom Suites
Tomtom Suites
#11 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,034 reviews
Beyoglu
InterContinental Istanbul
InterContinental Istanbul
#91 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,805 reviews
Karakoy
SuB Karakoy
SuB Karakoy
#40 of 1,163 in Istanbul
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georges Hotel Galata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georges Hotel Galata

Address: Serdar-i Ekrem Sok. No: 24 Galata, Istanbul 34420, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £56 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Georges Hotel Galata 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a majestic historical building in Galata, the heart of modern day Istanbul, this award-winning hotel offers guest rooms with spacious balconies, breathtaking views and outstanding personalized service. The popular rooftop bar allow spectacular views over the Bosphorus and the Golden Horn. Marble bathrooms with walk-in rain showers, parquet flooring and advanced technology are standard in each room at Georges Hotel Galata. Rooms feature a flat-screen TV, an iPod docking station, toiletries, an espresso machine and free Wi-Fi. Guests can take in views of the city while enjoying a drink at the rooftop bar, one of Istanbul's most Instagram-ready spots. Located in the trendy district Galata, the hotel is within 5 minutes' walk of Istiklal Avenue, the Galata Tower and the trendy Karakoy district. The attractions and sights of the historical Old City are just 2 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Georges Hotel Galata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing