We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm welcome and friendly service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sultan Tughra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sultan Tughra Hotel
Ranked #89 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Warm welcome and friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We had a five night stay in the Tungra and enjoyed our visit immensely. The hotel is off the beaten track but within easy (and interesting) walking distance of the Sultanamet tourist attractions. The rooms are comfortable and lavishly decorated - fun to stay in - with nuts, Turkish delight and a bottle of wine on arrival. The bathroom facilities are excellent - powerful showers and good quality toiletries. Mert was always friendly and helpful, eager to make our stay as pleasant as possible. Breakfast is buffet style - cereals, meats, cheeses, dried and fresh fruit and a hot plate - though we were usually too full from the night before to do it justice! Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teech55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    82
    12
    6
    5
See reviews for
49
268
36
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

This was our first trip to Turkey, we were not sure where the best area would be to stay and we were so pleased with our choice. The staff were so helpful and kind, it was in a great location and easy walking distance to the main tourist attractions. The beds were comfortable and it was very clean and tidy. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Whenever you go to a new city in another country you are always apprehensive about what you will find but our stay at Sultan Tughra helped put our worries to rest. We received a very warm welcome and the staff worked hard to meet our every need. The hotel itself has a unique charm and is quite comfortable and clean. Breakfast was made to our order every morning. The location is within walking distance to the main sites. All the staff were very attentive but we must make a special note for Mert. His attention to detail and his wonderful sense of humour made our stay a truly memorable experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoriRO4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

We absolutely loved this place. Everything was spot on. There is a character that is easy to indulge in! Breakfast was rich. Hospitality of the management team was of high standard. Hotel is well situated and you will not be far from main attractions in the city. Well done!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CRAZYHORSE694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed three nights at the Sultan Tughra hotel and had a wonderful welcome from Mert, who was always ready to help. He has an excellent sense of humour.
The hotel is small with commensurately small bedrooms but with everything we needed and a comfortable bed. The hotel is ideally placed for all the main istanbul attractions - 10 minutes walk to the Blue Mosque. The decor is remarkable - very ornate. Breakfast was very good, the Turkish coffee which Mert produced with no encouragement was delicious and there was a constant supply of Turkish Delight.
An ideal place to stay while visiting the sights of Istanbul.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GJE890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

My friend and I just came home from an exciting trip to Istanbul. We stayed three nights at Sultan Tughra. The staff was helpful and very patient with our ongoing questions about sights and how to get to... they were so sweet to us and we felt welcomed.
The rooms are clean, not that big but spacious enough for a pleasant stay. Besides that the decor underlines the story of the Ottoman Empire. Red carpets, glitter and gold.
The hotel is perfectly located in the charming and quiet area of Sultanahmet. Close to the grand sights such as The Blue Mosque, Grand Bazar etc.

Room Tip: Get a room on the first floor. The basement rooms are bigger but have smaller windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mert K, Genel Müdür at Sultan Tughra Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear our valuable guest,
Thank you so much for your review!!.
As a Sultan Tughra Hotel family, receiving your kind review here in İstanbul gives us the most motivation for our family. We appriciate you taking the time to review your stay and we will be very happy to host you again with the same passion at the Sultan Tughra Hotel .

Best Wishes from İstanbul
Mr. Mert KILIÇÖZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel and from beginning to end I had a great experience. The staff including Mr, Mert was excellent. He made sure that every guest was taken care, whether it was booking a tour or arranging for a car to take you to the airport customer service is their number one priority. This hotel reminds me of the bed & breakfast hotels we have here in California. The decor and cleanliness of the overall hotel was perfect. My room was downstairs from the main floor. In spite of being close to the stairs it was almost always quiet. My room was small as most rooms in Istanbul are but it was just me so I didn't mind. Every morning I was greeted by Mr. Mert who remembered by name and knew exactly what I wanted to eat including the very delicious Turkish coffee. Since the hotel is off the main tourist street you don't have to listen to the street vendors or drunken tourist shouting in the middle of the night. All in all I enjoyed my trip to Istanbul as well as my stay at the Sultan Tughra.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Byron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#44 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Sultanahmet
Rose Garden Suites Istanbul
Rose Garden Suites Istanbul
#52 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#17 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Premist Hotel
Premist Hotel
#42 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#79 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#31 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultan Tughra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultan Tughra Hotel

Property: Sultan Tughra Hotel
Address: Sultanahmet Mah. Keresteci Hakki Sok. No: 17 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sultan Tughra Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sultan Tughra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing