We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Compact, cosy and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sultan Tughra Hotel
Ranked #119 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Décor was unusually ornate, lots of red, gold and mirrors. The room, in the basement, was lit by a large number of low powered lights, and was largely taken up by a huge comfortable bed. The bathroom was similarly compact, and there was very limited shelf space for placing toiletries etc., and nowhere for placing the soap at th wash-basin. Shower flow was excellent and easily controllable, as was water temperature.
Breakfasts were good, provided by a delightful lady who appeared to be an excellent baker if her cake, bread and pastry were any guide. She .also made tasty omelettes to order
The desk staff too were extremely friendly and helpful..
The fish restaurant a few metres up the street from the hotel was excellent, as was the one up the alley going straight after the short tunnel on the hill going right after the first restaurant. nearby cookery school restaurant Akbiyik Cad. 72a was also worth a visit.
The Blue Mosque is only a few minutes walk away, and the location of the hotel is very convenient for the major sights of the old city

Room Tip: Basement room will be darker ,but may be cheaper than upstairs room. Worth checking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Acahualpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (499)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

217 - 223 of 501 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

Superb attention from Mert and the delightful Azizzeh? Who looked after the lounge and breakfast area so kindly and effectively. Their attention made the difference between an ordinary hotel and a most enjoyable experience

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobl85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We thought this was an excellent place to stay. The hotel is very opulent and stylish, and the location is great for exploring Sultanahmet and a short walk along the coast to Eminonue and the ferry ports, or an even shorter walk to the tram.

We found the staff very friendly and accommodating, (especially Mert) and were delighted to be upgraded to the suite on the top floor for both of our two nights.

Very clean and very quite. A great choice if you want to stay somewhere a bit different.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Upon checking in, we knew we picked the right (boutique) hotel in Istanbul. Mert, who greeted us and helped us throughout our stay, was welcoming and cheerful. We had coffee, tea, and snacks while he helped us with our itinerary for the day. Our room was decorated ornately -- definitely not your typical hotel room. Toiletries are good quality. When we returned to our room that evening, there was a plate of fresh fruit and a bottle of wine waiting for us. The breakfast spread the next morning was immense -- plenty of options for everyone.
The location of the hotel is perfect. It's within blocks of the main sites in Sultanahmet, yet on a quiet street. We slept soundly.
Everything about the hotel was great but it was Mert and the service that really made it stand out. We would not hesitate to stay here again if we return to Istanbul.

With a map, the hotel isn't too hard to find. We came from the tram. We used a taxi to take us to the airport, which is obviously much more direct.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdventuristGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I really cannot praise this hotel highly enough. Everything about it is absolutely first class, The rooms, the location, the service, the cleanliness, the breakfasts - everything. We stayed for five nights for our wedding anniversary. After the first two nights our room was upgraded, but honestly we would have been happy in any of the rooms. The décor was very distinctive and really splendid, and we had flowers and snacks in our room (the flowers may have been because it was our anniversary, though). Hot drinks are available at all times, and we had a great chat over Raki with the manager Mert and the night manager one evening. Mert was an absolute star, advising on what to see (and what was not worth seeing). We did not find either of our rooms too small (you won't be holding dinner dances in them, after all!). The range of breakfasts was brilliant, and the "cook" was always ready to help. Only problem for us was that I left my camera at home - oh, well, we'll just have to go back again!

Room Tip: They're all good. Don't be put off by the basement rooms, they're just as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights in March for a city break - the hotel is perfectly situated to see many of the sights and you can go on foot (in fact recommended as a lot of taxi drivers can't find it!). We booked as we wanted to stay somewhere a bit more traditional than the big chain hotels and it didn't disappoint us. Very opulently decorated in reds and golds and spotlessly clean. We were on the very top floor (no lift), not much of a view but worth it for the peace and quiet. We heard one call to prayer on our first morning there (about 5am) but it didn't disturb us too much - in fact we didn't even notice it after that. Breakfast was lovely, buffet style but a lady who would cook you eggs any way you wanted them and Turkish coffee always offered. My one (small) critiscism is that they could do with a few more bins, we just had one small one in the bathroom. Other than that (and it's hardly worth mentioning) it was perfect!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank crazygreys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

A 5 minute walk to the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia. On the way there is a great neighborhood of Restaurants and Shops. Lovely room in a restored Boutique Hotel Mansion. The building has been here for 119 years. Breakfast was wonderful. Service is 5 diamond

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Bonarrigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#73 of 1,159 in Istanbul
513 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#74 of 1,159 in Istanbul
957 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#70 of 1,159 in Istanbul
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
#133 of 1,159 in Istanbul
482 reviews
Sultanahmet
Best Western Citadel Hotel
Best Western Citadel Hotel
#189 of 1,159 in Istanbul
456 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antis Hotel
Antis Hotel
#328 of 1,159 in Istanbul
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultan Tughra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultan Tughra Hotel

Address: Sultanahmet Mah. Keresteci Hakki Sok. No: 17 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £29 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sultan Tughra Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Sultan Tughra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing