We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgivable Moments”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sultan Tughra Hotel
Ranked #116 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unforgivable Moments”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We Spent 4 Nights in the Hotel ( Me and My Soul mate) to enjoy our Quarterly Honeymoon vacation. The Location is very good and near the old city center and all the historic attractions for someone who wants to enjoy history and the real Istanbul flavor.
My Experience with the hotel started with an amazing upgrade to a bigger room ( which is still small unfortunately - But Thanks alott for your generosity and kindness) ... the room setting was amazing as well and romantic with all the sultan themed and luxury room allover - Not to forget the hot bathtub.

Breakfast is a pleasure with the lovely AZIZA leading the team and changing the menu served everyday. She is an amazing, all smile, funny person with a lot to offer and serve.

I would recommend this hotel for anyone who wants to live and feel like a sultan in the old city area and would like to enjoy the luxury of a nice boutique hotel.

Minor things to take into consideration: AC in the room is weak/the Room is Very Small ... Nothing is Perfect, so its just minor things and can be totally overtaken with all the other perfect stuff the hotel offers.

Room Tip: The Higher, The Better ---> the Bigger As Well
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K_Mamich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    82
    12
    6
    5
See reviews for
49
269
36
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel in early July for 2 nights. At first look from the outside it looks a bit small and old but once inside, you can definitely see why it's rated so high in tripadvisor. The manager Mert can't stop pleasing you, and we got a free upgrade to 3 person deluxe room. Location wise is walking distance to all the main attractions but it's still at least a 15 minutes walk. Room decoration is great however a bit small and has not much of walking space once you open up two luggages. However we didn't spend much time in the room so it was not much of a problem. Overall great experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunis, Tunisia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My husband and I recently chose this hotel for a quick trip to Istanbul and it definitely did not disappoint. It's location in the old city - a quick walk away from the Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque, the Grand Bazaar and several restaurants - was picturesque and very convenient. I must also emphasize that the service was excellent: Our early arrival and late departure were accommodated; our room was upgraded and always very clean; the breakfast options were generous; and the staff were very friendly and always ready to help. The rooms themselves are wonderfully done up. To top all of this off, this hotel provided very good value for money. We will be returning to this hotel for our next trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EMacTung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I stayed at Sultan Tughra for a week during summer vacation. I wanted a spot in the heart of Istanbul where I easily could walk to the major attractions, and was very happy with my choice. Istanbul of course is a very big city, but if you want to spend time in the old part of town, this hotel has the perfect location.

What probably makes Sultan Tughra stand out is the remarkable service. On arrival I was greeted with a very warm welcome, and I actually got to choose from a few different rooms. I was offered a more expensive room on the main floor, but choose one of the rooms in the basement since that was bigger. Please note that the view from there is non-existent, though there are windows.

The hotel and rooms are very cool and very "over the top" decorated, with lots of red colors and gold details. My room had a mirror in the ceiling above the bed! The room was clean and air was very good. The temperature outside was like never below 30 degrees celsius, so I'm glad that the air conditioning worked perfectly. Bed was amazing and I slept really well. A bit TOO well actually, since I missed breakfast almost every day ;) When I did eat breakfast it was lovely, and the woman making it was the nicest person ever.

The bathroom was modern and fresh, exept for the floor. The floor is pebbled and probably hard to clean, so it looked a bit dirty. With that said, it wasn't a big deal for me.

WiFi was very fast and worked perfectly.

Finally, the best thing about this place is the service. The staff is genuinely kind and helpful in every way, and you feel at home when staying here. If you want a big hotel where you can blend in and go by unnoticed it's not the place for you, but if you prefer a personal hotel with warm and welcoming atmosphere this is a must!

I really recommend Sultan Tughra, and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johan_Norlund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Ah, what wonderful memories we have of this hotel with its over-the-top decoration in white, gold and deep red. Although we booked a standard double room in the basement (which would've been tiny, but adequate), Mert (the well-spoken and very helpful hotel manager) kindly upgraded us to the room off the Reception which had an exotic interior, small yet very comfortable. We returned a week later for one more night before leaving Turkey and had the absolute surprise of our lives when told we'd been upgraded to the Sultan Suite - complete with loads of space and a jacuzzi bath! Oh, we felt like royalty. The breakfast buffet (prepared by the colourful and friendly Azize) served in the lounge was excellent and the Turkish coffee and other drinks were free and available 24/7. With wifi available in our rooms. Situated in a quiet backstreet, the location is excellent! Close to Blue Mosque AND the Bosphorus. If ever we return to Istanbul, we will DEFINITELY book here again.

Room Tip: Top floor if you can afford it - it's decadently wonderful. Room off Reception was quiet and had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linnie143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Although tucked away from the hustle and bustle of Sultanahmet, this Ottoman inspired hotel is no less of a sensual experience. The rooms are wonderfully over the top (even the complimentary nuts are served in felt lined bowls!), but extremely comfortable. The staff more than match their surrounds. Mert - the manager - made us feel very welcome, and the breakfasts were very tasty. This was my sixth visit to Istanbul, but this hotel we mean this trip lives long in the memory.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2014

A fantastic little hotel in a quiet neighbourhood but very close to all main attractions.
Mert, Hakan and the rest of the staff treated us like princes and made our stay at the Sultan Tughra a splendid one. Very nice ad light room, good bed and delicious surprises for breakfast every day. Will definitely consider to come back to this place and these people.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harm_van_Bolhuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#41 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Sultanahmet
Rose Garden Suites Istanbul
Rose Garden Suites Istanbul
#48 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Sultanahmet
Premist Hotel
Premist Hotel
#43 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#78 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#11 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Sultanahmet
Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel
Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel
#104 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultan Tughra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultan Tughra Hotel

Property: Sultan Tughra Hotel
Address: Sultanahmet Mah. Keresteci Hakki Sok. No: 17 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sultan Tughra Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sultan Tughra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing