We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location, but so basic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Galata Palace Hotel
Ranked #368 of 1,081 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We ware with a group of 32 persons and had the bad luck of having one of the smallest rooms (istanbul room on 4th floor). the curtains let the light throurgh, so you got awake very early morning, my hairdryer did not work and was not repaired for three days although I asked every day. also the bath room was very small ant the tap of the shower got broken the room was so small, only 4 hangers for clothes. But ok, the weather was nice the location of the hotel is very good and the staff is friendly. Always free water and coffee. Breakfast is just ok , not al lot of choice.
I would only go back if i would have one of the more comfortable rooms, which some of our group members had.
the carpet in the hotel room was not clean
beds were ok and we slept well;

Room Tip: ask for a bigger and more comfortablle room not on street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christiane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2012

We didnt planned to stay in this hotel originally but we found it by chance while a walk and went inside to check if they have anything free. The staff was friendly, they showed us a free room, which was big, clean and comfortable so we booked it for two nights. The hotel is in a side streed right next to the Galata Bridge. In a 3min walk one can reach the sea, one of the best restaurants for traditional turkish breakfeast Namli, a famous shop with sweets Koska, the Galata Bridge from where u can take the tram to anywhere. I would say its very central located. Not every room is same , but we had the luck to get a big one. The room itselfe was clean, so was the bathroom, altough it could have been a bit cleaner. The toilet wasnt working for some time, but it got repeared. What i mind a bit is, that they dont offer normal blankets, just thing ones. In the summer its not an issue, but its not really comfortable when the weather turns a bit colder. We took late chek-in and went to eat, altough we came back a bit late, they were not angry with us so we could prepear our bags and leave later as planned. overall we were satisfied and had a nice stay. The hotel should maybe care more about small details and also care about the smoking inside the hotel, becouse sometimes we could feel smoke in the air...

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noorika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

its not nice no swimming pool nothing the breakfast not Delicious don't go there ever

Room Tip: room on the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yasmeen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

I don't know how somebody can say that this place is recently renovated. The carpets are terrible, dirty and the bathrooms were not clean . It was supposed to be a smoke free hotel but our experience was the opposite. Location was fine but to top it all off the manager Esa processed the credit card twice and when we can back home we realized what he had done. Even after telling us he will sort it out he is now ignoring our calls. We have left it up to the bank to sort it out. Overall poor experience. Loved the city though.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

It's wonderful hotel, very comfortable and clean
Very nice for relaxing and the best things at hotel it's near from the sea and tram and many beautiful places
Thanks for mr.Esa (General manger) at hotel, he is a helpful man

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KhaledSfzg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We spent a lovely vacation in Istanbul staying at the Galata Palace. First the position: the hotel is strategically situated at only 100 mt from the tramway stop of Karakoy and the pier of the boats to the asiatic side and the Galata bridge as well.The Hotel is new, has opened only 3 months ago. Our room was big , clean, and the bed had a high-comfortable mattress. We really appreciate the politeness of the entire staff especially of the director mr. Eldek. We surely advise the hotel for a business trip either for a vacation.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vale77Treviso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

I was in istanbul for a business trip along with my colleague. After staying in another hotel in sircosi for 2 days i was very much disappointed by the size of the hotel rooms in Istanbul. However i was pleasantly suprised with Hotel Galata Tower. The location was perfect for me as all basic amenities are available close by. The staff is very courteous including the manager Mr Isa Eldek who helped us with lot of other information that we seeked about the place. In istanbul, its difficult to find people speaking english however the staff here, who could speak english pretty well, helped us a lot. The buffet breakfast was also very nicely arranged and they have a very good size lobby where one can relax and have breakfast. The hotel is very well maintained and gives you the feeling of a 4 star hotel. The bathroom is also big as compared to other hotels i stayed in Istanbul. I would like to visit this hotel again when i go to Istanbul. Mainly for their friendliness and comfort stay.

Room Tip: Try getting room on the higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpsakhrani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Karakoy
Peninsula Galata Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Galata Boutique Hotel
#367 of 1,160 in Istanbul
193 reviews
Karakoy
Port Hotel Tophane-i Amire
Port Hotel Tophane-i Amire
#688 of 1,160 in Istanbul
37 reviews
Karakoy
Ada Karakoy Hotel
Ada Karakoy Hotel
#70 of 1,160 in Istanbul
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Karakoy
Nordstern Hotel Galata
Nordstern Hotel Galata
#309 of 1,160 in Istanbul
92 reviews
Beyoglu
The Purl Hotel
The Purl Hotel
#499 of 1,160 in Istanbul
27 reviews
Karakoy
Hotel Morione
Hotel Morione
#403 of 1,160 in Istanbul
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galata Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galata Palace Hotel

Address: Kemankes Mah.Gumruk Sok.No:7 Karakoy-Beyoglu, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Karakoy , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #368 of 1,081 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range: £28 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Galata Palace Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Galata Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing