We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramparts

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ramparts
Ranked #58 of 1,174 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
83 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

The suites are stylishly renovated apartments in an old apartment block, tucked away in Sultanahmet. The location is ideal for someone would like to immerse themself in the day-to-day activities of suburban Turkish life, being somewhat removed from the well-trodden paths. Taxi drivers sometime battle to find the place amidst the narrow streets with busy traffic.

The suites are spacious and comfortable. A well-equipped kitchen allows for self-catering and there are nearby shops to buy groceries from. There is no reception desk - the owner meets and greet you upon arrival. He was extremely helpful and friendly.

We enjoyed a comfortable 1-night stay at the Helen Suites and Aparts. Ideally, one should stay a bit longer and go self-catering.

Room Tip: The bigger the suite, the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    10
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
17
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doha
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

I visited Istanbul last month and stay in Helensuite for 3 nights. The apartment is very clean, confortable and managed in a very professional way. The most valuable experience is dealing with Mr Ugur, the manager in-charged of the apartment. Since I brought my parents, who are senior citizens, the felt very confortable with the set up and the services provided by the apartment. I recommend those who have big family to stay in this apartment if you plan to visit Istanbul in the near future.

Thanks Mr Ugur for your great hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MohdDoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antalya, Turkey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

I visited Helen Suites at the end of february 2012. As a person lived long time in Istanbul before and has a occupation on tourism department, i can say Helen Suites apart is a nice and professional hotel. I want to congritulate the manager Mr.Ugur, who payed good attention to us, and for sure Mrs Yildiz with her nice smile and kind behaves. Thank you again.
PS: soon will be there again, nearly 3 weeks later. You can take it as a reservation. ;)

Berkan TUNCER

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scdiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgeport, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

I and three friends stayed at Helen suites for 7 days in February. The apartment we shared was spotless, the neighborhood old and ethnically mixed (and therefore quite interesting to us). We were able to walk to public transportation which was efficient, fast & cheap. The manager was very helpful, answering our questions, receiving packages for us, etc. As a matter of fact, we found the people of Istanbul considerate, friendly and generous. We felt safe on the streets-even at night.
I would whole-heartedly recommend Helen Suites and the city of Istanbul as an unusual and exciting place to visit.
Noel Furie Bridgeport, Ct. USA

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

This was an opportunity to experience a first time trip to Istanbul as one of the best experiences I've had in travel.
Staying at Helen Suites and apartments meant an encounter with a manager who was so helpful in first providing a clean, comfortable and affordable unit in authentic surroundings... and in providing helpful directions to get us started in exploring this wonderful City.
Not just touristy-type surroundings, Helen Suites and apartments are located in a neighborhood that encourages exploration and was wonderful to return to each evening.
If you are coming to Istanbul, come to stay for enjoyment and economy at this terrific location: Sevgi sk #9, Istanbul,
Helen Suites and apartments

Carolanne Curry
Westport, Ct. USA

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Curryiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

I cannot imagine a better place to stay in Istanbul. To begin with, it was spotless, comfortable, and gave me a place to relax with amenities I wouldn't have had in a hotel. It is situated in a residential neighborhood that is quiet by night and cheerfully bustling with the energy of people going about their business by day. Another plus is its proximity to major sites (both by walking and by convenient public transportation that was easy to navigate).
Our host was generous and helpful beyond my expectations. He was even willing to be on call to direct my driver should he not be able to find the apartment.
All in all a more than pleasant experience that I would gladly do again.
Istanbul and Helen Suites are well worth a longer visit than I had time for. I'd love to do it again and would definitely stay here.

Room Tip: Take advantage of the airport transportation offer and you'll be very happy with it. Walk in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krystyna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,702 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Yazar Hotel
Yazar Hotel
#354 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#4 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
The Marmara Pera Hotel
The Marmara Pera Hotel
#155 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#126 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,402 reviews
Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Oryapark
#231 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramparts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramparts

Property: Ramparts
Address: Muhsine Hatun Mah. Sevgi Sok. No:9 | Kumkapi, Istanbul 34130, Turkey (Formerly Istanbul Helen Suites & Aparts)
Region: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 1,174 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramparts 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramparts is located in Istanbul Fatih, right in the center of the chamber formed by historical and touristic places. You can visit Roman- Byzantine works of art, the wonderful palaces and mosques of the Ottoman Empire; you can go on a journey to the shopping world in the stores of Laleli, Beyazit and Covered Market. Istanbul University, the Covered Market, Cemberlitas, Sultan Ahmet, Topkapi Palace, the Hagia Sophia Museum are a few hundred meters walking distance from the Ramparts ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ramparts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing