We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City
Ranked #157 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We were booked into the hotel as part of a tour. We were impressed by the size of the room and found it more than adequate. The breakfast wasn't so impressive but still enough choices and fresh fruit available.
What we found so good for us was that it was walking distance to the Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia as well as the Grand Bazaar. As we were only able to spend three days in Istanbul this time (our first) we found this a big plus.
We also found the nearby restaurants very hospitable, especially the Barbecue Restaurant which was right next door.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rrireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
There are newer reviews for Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

184 - 190 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

This modern two year old hotel is located in Sultanahmet less than 200 hundred metres from the entrance to Hagia Sophia and close to the Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace is almost on top of the the Basilica Cistern and a short walk to the Grand Bazaar. You couldn't hope for a better location, yet during our visit in the high season the hotel did not apear to be at all busy. Perhaps the name confuses people, given that the Holiday Inn has a similar name.The rooms are luxurious and spacious with marble bathrooms and multi-function shower units. Many rooms have expansive views of Hagia Sophia. The staff are friendly and always helpful. If we had to make any negative comment it would be about the buffet breakfast which could do with more variety, however, still not bad. Highly recommeded for anyone who wants to stay in the heart of all the activity in Istanbul.

Room Tip: Ask for a Hagia Sophia view room
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NOVO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We were booked into this hotel by our cruse company as a bolt-on extension three nights stay in Istanbul prior to a Black Sea cruise. Based on Tripadvisor room tips we contacted the hotel weeks in advance of our arrival to ask if we could request a room at the front of the hotel to have a view of the Hagia Sophia and also to have a room on an upper floor which would be quieter. An email came back to say there was no record of our small group (3 couples) being booked into the Hotel. A few exchanges of email later we finally had confirmation that we were staying there and that our room request had been noted and would be actioned. When we arrived in Istanbul two hours later than scheduled due to a nightmare British Airways flight and chaos at Ataturk Airport, all we wanted to do was check-in to our room and head out for dinner. We were allocated a room on the first floor but with the Hagia Sophia totally obscured by a large tree. My husband headed back down to Reception to be given a totally unhelpful response and a flat refusal to accept that any previous room request had been received or promised. I was too tired to unpack my laptop to show the email confirmation & getting into a row with Reception is never a great way to start a holiday.

As it happened the actual room we had was spacious, clean, light and bright with an excellent bathroom and one of the best showers we have had in a hotel anywhere. The beds were single but not small and the linen was white crisp and immaculate. The pillows were incredibly comfortable. It was just very disappointing to be starting a trip with a poor impression of a hotel’s efficiency, customer care and being left with the feeling that Reception could not care less whether we were happy or not. So I’d agree with previous reviewers who say that the front desk staff sometimes let down what is otherwise a very good hotel in a fantastic city.

During our stay there was a lot of internal noise transmission from other guests. Some nationalities are louder than others and give no consideration to high volume conversations in the breakfast area and corridors etc. The noise levels continue in the guest bedrooms with loud radio and TV coming on at unacceptably early hours of the morning. Such is the nature of international travel though and one might expect a hotel of this standard to have better insulation and soundproofing between rooms. Maybe we were just unlucky with our neighbours. There was no noise from outside in the street however, the large bedroom windows have a double blind system with one being for privacy / shade and the other a soundproof shutter system. Even though we were directly above the outside dining area there was no noise transmission. Air con is efficient and the free WiFi was quick, stable and 100% reliable.

The hotel is well situated, the breakfast hot and cold buffet was perfectly acceptable and the coffee was a lot better than we have had in previous stays in Istanbul hotels. So would be stay there again? yes probably we would.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

small so not crowded hotel at best location near Hagia sophia and Blue mosque. neat transportation if you want to go anywhere in the city. walking to Topkapi museum and palace. restaurants and shops too.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OmMalik2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We arrived on Sunday afternoon and noted construction, loud construction going on outside our window (back of the hotel.) At nine I phoned the front desk to ask when the noise would stop and was told "at 10". At 10:20, I went down to the front desk asking the same question and was told "in 15-20 minutes." This was very loud, jack hammer type construction with spot lights lighting the construction site. At midnight the noise was still going on, and I again went down to the front desk. We were finally offered another room. By this time, any possibility of a decent nights sleep was long gone. The room, across the hall, was quiet, but had two single beds- not very romantic to say the least. Our remaining three nights there were fine,however there was never any apology from management about the horrible first night. If the hotel obviously had quiet rooms available, why not assign them initially? And why all the lies about when the construction would stop?

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Our travel agent booked us into the Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City and we took it on faith that it was a good place for us. Glad we did. The rooms were spacious and gave an excellent view of the Hagia Sophia. The morning buffet breakfast was more than anyone could ask for, and we were just steps away from many of the excellent sites in Istanbul -- Topkapi, Hagia Sophia and so many more. Pricing was most reasonable. If we go back to Istanbul -- which we thoroughly enjoyed -- we would stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Hagia Sophia.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The reception and concierge one of worst service I ever had .do not help you with anything at all .for example we asked them the list of best Turkish restaurant they said that the do not have . we asked about boat trip there is only one otherwise you have to find yours . No visitor are allowed to come . However only one chair is available in the reception area .

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abdullah s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
#122 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,296 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sura Design Hotel & Suites
Sura Design Hotel & Suites
#109 of 1,159 in Istanbul
926 reviews
Sultanahmet
Eresin Crown Hotel Sultanahmet
Eresin Crown Hotel Sultanahmet
#205 of 1,159 in Istanbul
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER Acropol Suites & Spa
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER The Home Suites & Spa
Grand Bazaar
FER Hotel
FER Hotel
#9 of 1,159 in Istanbul
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City

Address: Alemdar Mah. Yerebatan Cad. No:13 Eminonu/Cagaloglu, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hagia Sophia)
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £61 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City , is a deluxe category hotel and situated at Sultanahmet square. Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City has opened at 2011. Hotel has 63 rooms categories of deluxe and superior rooms and offers its guest a magnificent service. All rooms has their own espresso machine, wireless internet connection, LCD televisions and general air condition.. Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City offers a rich choice of food and beverage services; 2 restaurants, one Garden Restaurant and (an A’la Carte restaurant,) a bar and a café… Hotel is surrounded with all major and cultural landmarks. Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Basilica Cistern, Topkapi Palace are in a short walking distance to Hotel which is one of the best choices for leisure guests expecting upscale service. You will be fascinated with direct view of Hagia Sophia Museum when you have a look from your window or enjoy the historical atmosphere while drinking a coffee at unique terrace of the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing