We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, that's all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City
Ranked #143 of 1,161 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

This property has a great location nearby or Istanbul important attractions. Rooms are spacious modernly furnished. Double beds are not available throughout the property. Housekeeping is not up to expected. Room service is average. I still think this property is great for solo travellers who are interested in seeing all important historical attractions in Istanbul.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Ahmad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
There are newer reviews for Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

178 - 184 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013

I arrived 6 hours early, and still they managed to get me a room within a couple of hours. They also offered me a complementary breakfast while I waited for the room, so top marks for the helpful staff on in the daytime. The hotel itself is brand new, the rooms absolutely stunning. The bathrooms again have one of the best showers I've ever used, with 3 different shower types (yes you read that right 3!!) and there is also a built in bidet as standard in Istanbul. The corridors, the reception, the terrace, breakfast room, again marble and new fittings are everywhere, it feels like a palace. There is also an English pub attached to the hotel, which also serves non-alcoholic cocktails and food. This was a nice relaxing place where you could chill after the frenetic busyness of Sultanahmet. One of my friends also arrived very late, but the kitchen especially opened up and cooked her a delicious meal, so again top marks for service. Now after you are vowed by the stunning hotel, comes the real USP for this place. The location. You are literally on the street of the Hagia Sophia, probably a 2 min walk, also the Basilica Cistern is on this street, with the Blue Mosque about 10 min walk, past the Hippodrome. This hotel is the best to explore Sultanahmet, and the tram is nearby if you need to go anywhere else. Really can’t recommend this enough for the location, and the hotel. Between us we had 3 rooms, and there were 2 women in our party, the staff were very courteous and polite always. There was no weirdness as has been suggested in a previous review. And when (God Willing) I return to Istanbul I will stay here again! Oh and breakfast has tons of choice too.

Room Tip: There is some construction going on, but honestly it didn't disturb me or my friends. A room hig...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DimmiKhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Hi everybody , i just advice you please don't go to this stupid hotel . many rude people working there , Specially The guy , who is receptionist name is Cihan, he trick woman to show of the room then tried to kiss them , housekeeper never clean the room and change the sheets of the beds, the room always smelled as pooh! at breakfast time the breakfast manager & worker just stand in one place and look at every bite you take, so you can't take any more or eat more, all the men workers there were womenizers and rude and kept looking at women in a bad way. They follow you in the hallway and stare at you, very uncomfortable. I advise you all not to book with the hotel, specially if you travelling with women.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Candan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The HAGIA SOPHIA hotel is the height of luxury with the most spacious beautiful bedrooms and bathrooms and beautiful common areas. The staff are friendly and efficient and the breakfasts which are included in the price of the room are delicious.

To find a luxurious and spacious hotel in the middle of this City is some find. It is situated right behind the Hagia Sophia Museum, the blue Mosque and the amazing Byzantine Cisterns.

I can recommend this hotel most highly.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GillyflowerofLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The good thing about this hotel is their location and the spacious rooms. But the service is terrible, The sheets are very old and had cuts on it! The same for the towels very old towels. They didn't change the sheets. The room service never refill the minibar when they make up the room! when I asked for some tea and sugar they sent a very rude guy who kept pressing the buttons of "room service" and "Do not disturb", then gave me 10 tea bags and lots of sugar! And because they don't have a SPA I asked if there is a near one, but they said there is no SPAs in the area which was a lie because lots of near hotels have SPA. Finally I wouldn't recommend this hotel even for the location.
The air condition in the room was horrible, they said will send a technician but nothing changed.
The last thing at check out I asked for a taxi and that took about 20 min. to bring him, but if I just walked 1 min. to the main street I'll get one immediately.

Room Tip: Avoid if you can
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AbdullahAltamimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

On arrival welcome was a little unfriendly. Check in was prompt and the room was spacious (by European standards) and lovely. Interesting feature was the mirror that turned into the tv.
The location was fantastic, so close to so many interesting attractions.
My biggest and most gutting disappointment was after requesting a quiet room after reading other reviews, we were placed in a room overlooking the street, when the restaurant opened they blared loud music till very late, which after 36 hours in transit, was not appreciated!! Its a great location and good rooms but they could do better with a smile and following up requests for quiet rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kiwi_suit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We were booked into the hotel as part of a tour. We were impressed by the size of the room and found it more than adequate. The breakfast wasn't so impressive but still enough choices and fresh fruit available.
What we found so good for us was that it was walking distance to the Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia as well as the Grand Bazaar. As we were only able to spend three days in Istanbul this time (our first) we found this a big plus.
We also found the nearby restaurants very hospitable, especially the Barbecue Restaurant which was right next door.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rrireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
#124 of 1,161 in Istanbul
1,295 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sura Design Hotel & Suites
Sura Design Hotel & Suites
#111 of 1,161 in Istanbul
926 reviews
Sultanahmet
Eresin Crown Hotel Sultanahmet
Eresin Crown Hotel Sultanahmet
#203 of 1,161 in Istanbul
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER Acropol Suites & Spa
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER The Home Suites & Spa
Grand Bazaar
FER Hotel
FER Hotel
#9 of 1,161 in Istanbul
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City

Address: Alemdar Mah. Yerebatan Cad. No:13 Eminonu/Cagaloglu, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hagia Sophia)
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 1,161 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £61 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City , is a deluxe category hotel and situated at Sultanahmet square. Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City has opened at 2011. Hotel has 63 rooms categories of deluxe and superior rooms and offers its guest a magnificent service. All rooms has their own espresso machine, wireless internet connection, LCD televisions and general air condition.. Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City offers a rich choice of food and beverage services; 2 restaurants, one Garden Restaurant and (an A’la Carte restaurant,) a bar and a café… Hotel is surrounded with all major and cultural landmarks. Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Basilica Cistern, Topkapi Palace are in a short walking distance to Hotel which is one of the best choices for leisure guests expecting upscale service. You will be fascinated with direct view of Hagia Sophia Museum when you have a look from your window or enjoy the historical atmosphere while drinking a coffee at unique terrace of the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing