We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City
Ranked #167 of 1,160 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel is very clean. All furnitures and materials are new. Staffs are very kindly. Location is wonderful. If you stay there you can reach all touristic place by walk. Sleeping quality is high. I didn't want wake up when I stayed there. Price is normal. I advise this hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ozge83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

177 - 183 of 358 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

Just next to the entrance of the Topkapi palace
the rest you should see yourself
It' maybe the first Pension/hotel to start up in the Old City.Refurbished.. Its just gets me into the sightseeing mode and so for my friends.
Good breakfast
Confortable and authentic

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Selmito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Great hotel, superb location (walking distance to Blue Mosque and Hagia sophia), service was on-par with a fantastic continental breakfast in the mornings (so much variety!). All in all a perfect place to stay

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I have been to Istanbul on many business visits but this time I really stayed in the best hotel. I found this stunning hotel by accident after a complete disaster booking in another hotel. Not only was the staff extremely helpful with great English communication skills, I also got a really good rate for such a fine establishment just a couple of meters away from the awesome Hagia Sophia. What magic to open my window every morning and so close I could almost touch it.
The rooms were an absolute delight for me. VERY spacious, newly and modernly furnished with an impressive rear view mirror projected TV (1st ever). My room had a Nespresso coffee machine and the pods were replenished every day. I LOVE my coffee. The bed was just the way I like it - huge and soft with crisp white linen.
The hotel is extremely conveniently located. Within very easy walking distance of just about every possible attraction. A block away from the tram stop, around the conrner from 2 Starbucks and my ultimate treat, the oldest and best hamam in Istanbul - Cagaloglu (expensive but worth every cent). The hotel is situated in an area with lots of nice restaurants - my favourite on every trip is the Sultanahmet Fish House.
There is no doubt in my mind that I will happily return to this hotel for all future trips and can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JolizeSheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I went there on a weekend. I wanted a place close to the main attractions in Istanbul. The hotel is not too far from the stop of tram (mainly 3 minutes by walking).

The rooms are big and clean. The beds are very comfy.
The people at the reception are not always nice.
the breakfast was quite rich, they offer several kind of fruits and various food.

it was not high season, so it was calm.

I loved the room design. it is modern yet very warm. The bathroom are properly equipped and spacious.

It is in the heart of all attractions, it is surrounded by good choice of restaurants.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view on Hagia sophia
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devilmind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

This property has a great location nearby or Istanbul important attractions. Rooms are spacious modernly furnished. Double beds are not available throughout the property. Housekeeping is not up to expected. Room service is average. I still think this property is great for solo travellers who are interested in seeing all important historical attractions in Istanbul.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Ahmad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I arrived 6 hours early, and still they managed to get me a room within a couple of hours. They also offered me a complementary breakfast while I waited for the room, so top marks for the helpful staff on in the daytime. The hotel itself is brand new, the rooms absolutely stunning. The bathrooms again have one of the best showers I've ever used, with 3 different shower types (yes you read that right 3!!) and there is also a built in bidet as standard in Istanbul. The corridors, the reception, the terrace, breakfast room, again marble and new fittings are everywhere, it feels like a palace. There is also an English pub attached to the hotel, which also serves non-alcoholic cocktails and food. This was a nice relaxing place where you could chill after the frenetic busyness of Sultanahmet. One of my friends also arrived very late, but the kitchen especially opened up and cooked her a delicious meal, so again top marks for service. Now after you are vowed by the stunning hotel, comes the real USP for this place. The location. You are literally on the street of the Hagia Sophia, probably a 2 min walk, also the Basilica Cistern is on this street, with the Blue Mosque about 10 min walk, past the Hippodrome. This hotel is the best to explore Sultanahmet, and the tram is nearby if you need to go anywhere else. Really can’t recommend this enough for the location, and the hotel. Between us we had 3 rooms, and there were 2 women in our party, the staff were very courteous and polite always. There was no weirdness as has been suggested in a previous review. And when (God Willing) I return to Istanbul I will stay here again! Oh and breakfast has tons of choice too.

Room Tip: There is some construction going on, but honestly it didn't disturb me or my friends. A room hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DimmiKhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
#122 of 1,160 in Istanbul
1,325 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sura Design Hotel & Suites
Sura Design Hotel & Suites
#129 of 1,160 in Istanbul
940 reviews
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER The Home Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER Acropol Suites & Spa
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER Sea Mansion Suites & Spa
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER Regency Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City

Address: Alemdar Mah. Yerebatan Cad. No:13 Eminonu/Cagaloglu, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hagia Sophia)
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 1,160 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £62 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City , is a deluxe category hotel and situated at Sultanahmet square. Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City has opened at 2011. Hotel has 63 rooms categories of deluxe and superior rooms and offers its guest a magnificent service. All rooms has their own espresso machine, wireless internet connection, LCD televisions and general air condition.. Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City offers a rich choice of food and beverage services; 2 restaurants, one Garden Restaurant and (an A’la Carte restaurant,) a bar and a café… Hotel is surrounded with all major and cultural landmarks. Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Basilica Cistern, Topkapi Palace are in a short walking distance to Hotel which is one of the best choices for leisure guests expecting upscale service. You will be fascinated with direct view of Hagia Sophia Museum when you have a look from your window or enjoy the historical atmosphere while drinking a coffee at unique terrace of the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing