We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings: great hotel...suspect service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City
Ranked #154 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings: great hotel...suspect service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

It's difficult for me to classify the Hagia Sophia Hotel as 'good' or 'bad'; the hotel is very modern, in a great location, with excellent amenities at a fairly affordable price. However I feel that it is harmed by the service level at the hotel which is highly variable.

It certainly didn't start well. My wife arrived late in the evening in Istanbul before I did and was told that she didn't have a reservation (which we clearly did). After calling me halfway around the world and me making a half dozen calls, the hotel admitted that we had a reservation but that they didn't have any rooms available. After a few more calls to our travel agency and getting the manager out of bed they suddenly found a room.

The Hotel Manager was the one person at the hotel we could rely upon to provide good service during our stay; other staff members were ambivalent for the most part.

Regarding the rooms, they are all large with modern equipment. There wasn't anything too much to say, some of the more interesting features where the TV being hidden in the mirror and the glass wall between the bathroom and bedroom (which can be separated by curtains) . When we first arrived we stayed at a room facing towards the Hagia Sophia which is a truly amazing view -- I got the feeling that these rooms were actively managed by staff for certain guests so be sure to ask for a room facing this direction as I don't think its a given that this will be provided.


It was a bit strange that some rooms where not on the same level as the elevator which required carrying luggage up a few stairs when we got to our floor number.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LuggageGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    109
    24
    7
    4
See reviews for
54
144
21
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is an excellent base for anyone planning a short break in Istanbul. The hotel is located extremely well for the major "must sees" in the city and pretty much all the rooms have views over the Hagia Sophia itself. Didn't eat in the hotel but the bar staff were friendly and efficient as werer the front desk team. No swimming pool but, to be honest, you won't have time for that anyway.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

The location of the Hotel is perfect. The best view to Hagia Sofia. Good breakfast an good wi-fi. The staff is very attentive ang profesional. I visited the hotel several times and I will be back soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank STEFANOS P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
170 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We stay for 2 night all are fine standard .
Fantastic location closed to everything .
No pool no fitness .
Breakfast ok axeptable coffee good viennoisie no.
Wifi good important for me working all the time...
Airport transfer a bit expensive at 50 euro on way neighbours do the same service for 30 euro only.....
We dont try the resto .
Room confortable bed very good shower excellent super top.
Aminities are good .
Total price per day 180 euro in my opinion as all in turkey expensive for quality service proposed.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank superstar0307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

I really had great time, location is very central and the breakfast is quite rich, staff was amazing especially asude helped us a lot. I recommend it strongly, the only minus i would say was the reception staff was not really helpful. and why there are no mirrors in the rooms ?!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Feyza Ç
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena, Montana
Level Contributor
92 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

An elegant, modern, relatively small hotel right in the heart of the old city. The rooms and public spaces are sleek and efficient. Each day there is a wonderful breakfast buffet that includes abundant local fruits and vegetables, cheeses, breads, yogurt, plus the usual eggs. If you can get a room with a view toward Hagia Sophia, you'll enjoy the spectacular sight of that building at any hour of the day or night.

Room Tip: Try to get a view toward Hagia Sophia.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Botticelli1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Clean white sheets are a prerequisite when I book my own hotels. This one was found by our tour company and so didn't expect much. On the contrary, it was clean, comfortable and modern. The wifi was reliable and easy. Free bottles water in the room As well as tea and coffee. View of Hagia Sophia was a bonus.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodntonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aysegul S, Front Office Supervisor at Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
We would like to thank you for your kind interest and accomodation at our hotel. Your comments is important for us .
If you have a good stay and have great time in our hotel , it makes us happy.

Please don’t forget to have comfortable accomodation with best service in our hotel and to get great time in this location .

We wish you have very good memories in our hotel, that you will remember with a smile.

I hope to see you again.

Best Regards,


Onur Gül
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
#114 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sura Design Hotel & Suites
Sura Design Hotel & Suites
#105 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER Acropol Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER Regency Suites & Spa
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER The Home Suites & Spa
Sultanahmet
Eresin Crown Hotel Sultanahmet
Eresin Crown Hotel Sultanahmet
#210 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City

Property: Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City
Address: Alemdar Mah. Yerebatan Cad. No:13 Eminonu/Cagaloglu, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hagia Sophia)
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City , is a deluxe category hotel and situated at Sultanahmet square. Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City has opened at 2011. Hotel has 63 rooms categories of deluxe and superior rooms and offers its guest a magnificent service. All rooms has their own espresso machine, wireless internet connection, LCD televisions and general air condition.. Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City offers a rich choice of food and beverage services; 2 restaurants, one Garden Restaurant and (an A’la Carte restaurant,) a bar and a café… Hotel is surrounded with all major and cultural landmarks. Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Basilica Cistern, Topkapi Palace are in a short walking distance to Hotel which is one of the best choices for leisure guests expecting upscale service. You will be fascinated with direct view of Hagia Sophia Museum when you have a look from your window or enjoy the historical atmosphere while drinking a coffee at unique terrace of the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing