We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-rated. Definitely not 5 star”
Review of WOW Istanbul Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
WOW Istanbul Hotel
Ranked #245 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This is supposed to be the 5-star partner of the neighbouring WOW Airport But it is not nearly a 5-star hotel or hotel experience. I think they try and the service is OK and the people are nice but the rooms, food, executive lounge and amenities are poor, 3-star at best. If they consider this 5-star I can only imagine what the sister 4-star WOW Airport is like. I shudder about that.
I am here at the hotel now for a conference in the attached conference centre. I checked in last night. Room is OK but again not even 4-star by my impression. No a/c so I had to change rooms today after a sweltering night as the climate system was blowing hot air all night. No chair for the desk. Meagre workspace. Barely enough room for a computer. The executive lounge is hardly worthwhile. Cold hot snacks were awful. Breakfast was meagre. No one could speak English in the lounge. I paid extra for this lounge access, of course, but it is certainly not what one expects and especially not at a "5-star" hotel.
So in summary, take this place with a grain of salt but do not expect anything close to 5-star experience whatsoever.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mrisin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WOWIST, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at WOW Istanbul Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your recent visit to our hotel.

We are very sorry that some aspects of your experience did not meet your expectations and you rated our hotel with two stars. We always do our best to surround our precious guests with attention and friendly service. Your both positive and negative comments have been taken into serious consideration and reviewed with related departments and Management. Necessary actions has been taken in order to improve our services and meet your expectations.

Once again thank you for your feedback and sincerely hope that you will stay with us in the nearest future.

Kind Regards,

Ela Özgür
Guest Relation Manager
WOW Istanbul Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (424)
There are newer reviews for WOW Istanbul Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 424 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

I only ended up here because the Elite World Business Hotel was overbooked and did not want to honor my reservation (that's another story; I did not stay in EWBH, so I won't review them, but I was not pleased at my treatment there) so they sent me here free of charge, claiming it was a five-star hotel. I don't know if I was in the "five-star" wing or the "four-star" wing, but I would say that the Wow Hotel was "fine" but not "wow". Staff at reception were fine but not incredibly warm; the lobby was fine but not particularly impressive, and the room was fine but not wonderful. The room has a sealed glass case from which one can buy essentials like razors, toothpaste, toothbrush, etc. In my experience, high-class hotels usually provide these free of charge if a traveler forgets them, so I found the glass case a bit tacky. Without asking me or informing me, the hotel gave me a room with two single beds, instead of a big, comfortable double or queen. In short, the hotel is fine, but I did not feel like a special customer. That's not the end of the world, but the best hotels really go all out to make their guests feel welcome. The big selling point is that the Wow Hotel is a five-minute cab ride, at most, from the airport (the shuttle does not run until 6 a.m., I believe); very convenient for early flights.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask if you are in the five-star or four-star wing, as the website leads you to believe th...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JUD-Turkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WOWIST, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at WOW Istanbul Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing the WOW Istanbul Hotel on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is important and we are grateful for the time taken to share your experience with us.

We are sorry to read that your previous stay has not been satisfactory. Please accept our apologies. Your comments have been taken into serious consideration and reviewed with related departments. Please be assured that necessary corrective actions will be taken.

Hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back and prove that we can serve you better.

Kind Regards,

Ela Özgür
Guest Relation Manager
Wow Istanbul Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This hotel has a very good location very close to the airport. Shuttle service is available. At night the frequency is only each hour which is not enough if you missed the last one for 5 minutes. I had to take a taxi!
Noisy rooms maybe because ther was a broken window which didn't allow a perfect closure!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ehotel.de
2  Thank Emmanuel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Stayed in this hotel as it was close to the airport and I had a 15 hour layover. This was a great choice. There is a free shuttle service every half hour but I arrived too late for shuttle so took a cab to hotel for only 10 lira. My room was quite large with comfortable bed and nice large bathroom. There is free WiFi in the room and stocked mini-bar. Breakfast was very good with a nice selection of fruit, breads, hot items, cheese, sliced meats, cereal, eggs, sausage and more. It's a great hotel if have a long layover and want to be near the airport or convention center but location is not good for tourism as it is not near the center of Istanbul close to main attractions. I would stay again if I had an overnight layover as it is a really nice hotel with good service. I got a good deal through olotels.com.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank phillinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Having rated the hotel as decidedly average my experience of the convention centre was very good. I had a large bright room for my group of 24 delegates. The IT worked very efficiently. My tables were laid out as I asked. Water, notepads etc were provided and replenished. The staff were friendly and helpful. The lunches provided for 200+ people were excellent in both quality, variety and quantity. One of the better conference venues I have attended.

Room Tip: One with windows that can be opened - some of the internal rooms were quite airless and hot.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

The people at the hotel are nice and the free shuttle into town is great. However, the AC in our room never worked (even after asking the front desk.) And the place just feels a bit old even though it was built just a couple years ago.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Aaron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank eerzincanli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
0.1 mi away
WOW Airport Hotel
WOW Airport Hotel
#212 of 1,159 in Istanbul
577 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rox Hotel
Rox Hotel
#277 of 1,159 in Istanbul
195 reviews
0.8 mi away
TAV Airport Hotel
TAV Airport Hotel
#252 of 1,159 in Istanbul
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ramada Encore Istanbul Airport
Ramada Encore Istanbul Airport
#367 of 1,159 in Istanbul
156 reviews
2.0 mi away
Elite World Business
Elite World Business
#107 of 1,159 in Istanbul
608 reviews
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Florya
Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Florya
#179 of 1,159 in Istanbul
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WOW Istanbul Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WOW Istanbul Hotel

Address: Istanbul Dunya Ticaret Merkezi No: 15-17-19 | Yesilkoy, Bakirkoy, Istanbul 34149, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #245 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £49 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — WOW Istanbul Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WOW Istanbul Hotel is located at 1 km distance from the most important airport of Istanbul, Ataturk Airport, and at 200 m walking distance from Istanbul Exhibition Center and CNR Expo Center where the important exhibitions are organized. And the metro station which will allow you to go to historical places such as Topkapi, Sultanahmet is in the garden of the facility. Renovated in 2014, WOW Istanbul Hotel features all luxury of a 5-star hotel with its specially decorated 56 executive, 3 suit and 216 standard rooms. Restaurant Mezzanine and Choppers Point, where the most exclusive examples of Turkish and world cuisine are served, create different with skillful kitchen team of Istanbul. Everything for a healthy life has been considered in WOW Istanbul Hotel with swimming pool in the top floor covered by glass ceiling, fitness center, Turkish bath, sauna, massage saloon and Vitamin Bar. 'Executive' floor having rich service range with areas for special receptions and special catering buffets has been specially designed for our guests who would like to receive exclusive service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ctrip TA, Prestigia, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your WOW Istanbul Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing