We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel in great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Taksim Lounge Hostel
Ranked #132 of 1,236 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Location was perfect, 5 mins by walk from Taksim Square. Room and bathroom was nice, staffs were very friendly. Breakfast was basic but at least you can have it as much as you want. Considering the price and location there is no better hotel in Turkey.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Khaihoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
There are newer reviews for Taksim Lounge Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2012

Probably the best-located hostel in Istanbul - less than five minutes walk to Taksim Square.
(By the way - do yourself a favor and don't stay in Sultanahmet unless you have less than three days in Istanbul. You're better off in Beyoglu where things aren't as caustically touristic.)

Basic details: the wifi works, and the bathrooms were fairly clean too. Common room isn't huge, but it works and I met some other travelers there. Breakfast was basic, but flexible on hours - if you wake up late, they'll still let you eat. The 8-bed dorm I stayed in was smallish, but sheets were clean, room didn't get terribly cold (December) and large lockers were available in the room. Good value.

The dudes that run this place are on hand 24 hours a day and are happy to give you some advice on where to go and what to do.

I'm sure there are some other great hostels in the area too, but this one worked for me. Wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Last winter I stayed for a few days this hostel,it was so clean and cheap.So central location and I just walk to İstiklal Street and Taksim square,There are many bars,restaurants that all kinds of foods Turkish special all other.I can stay again .I enjod my stay.Thanks a lot .

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dilek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

WOW. I am so disappointed. The situation was quite bad, that it's almost comedic.
We had booked for FOUR/4 nights.
The first night, it was obvious they did not have our booking on file (but we have email and official confirmations from booking.com), but the manager seemed nice at that point and we were shown to our room.

The next day around midday, they started drilling directly into the wall adjacent to the bed head. How do I realise this apart from the migraine inciting thunderous drilling? - the drill actually penetrated the wall a few inches from where my head was laying on the pillow in bed (as a doctor we call this procedure a burr hole..but it's generally reserved for surgical procedures in hospitals, and not a surprise occurence whilst sleeping in bed on a vacation).

The hostel manager was informed. He instantly was concerned ..... for the wall..and didn't apologize, or seem embarassed or ask if i was ok. He told us somebody would come into the room to spackle/cement up the hole in the wall. We laughed it off, and tried to enjoy our holiday.

Soon after we realised, the toilet had a festinating stench coming from the toilet drain. It made us sick, to the point of buying and lighting much incense to overcome it.

The breakfasts in the morning consisted of cornflakes and old bread. No worries, as though it was a little substandard compared to the 18 other hotels and hostels we'd stayed at in turkey, we try to stay humble about these things and again laughed it off.

The drilling continued throughout the day, from outside the hostel, and inside (as they were jackhammer removing the plaster on the walls to expose the natural brick). I videotaped and photographed everything.

This continued all day for day 2, day 3 and day 4.
The renovations had turned into the most extensive job and there was rubble on the stairs and on the floors. The hostel, should have by any western country's standards been closed for renovation. It was incredibly unsafe.

Finally, we cracked on day 4 when I slipped on the marble stairs on all the rubble and electricity/power cords laying on the stairs. There was a thick cloud of dust/smoke from the plaster, and did I mention the electricity and power went out. So there was NO:
1) NO light (we had to use flash lights in the room)
2) No power
3) NO hot water

Then, the dust triggered an asthma attack, just what I needed.
My husband and I realised what we were putting up with was actually a severe safety hazard, and requested a polite word with the manager to inform him of these issues.

His response:
- (non apologetically demanded that we shouldnt care because we should be out of the hostel during the day and not return until night time)
- that we should pay in full because he couldn't see the issue or inconvenience (wowza...! Should this guy be running a hospitality business??)
- We felt very threatened by his attitude and left in order to secure another hotel. We just wanted to leave ASAP.

As we were leaving through the lobby, the dust triggered another asthma attack. I needed my puffer and to get out of the hostel into the fresh air.
The hostel manager refused to let us leave, demanding we pay in full. He did not care a guest/client/customer was having an asthma attack. I angrily asked him to let us go or call an ambulance.

If after reading this, you are still considering going here, you're giving your business to an unkind, greedy, unprofessional human being, when there are tonnes of fantastic turkish people who run hotels\hostels who will do anything they can to make sure you have a comfortable stay. THEY deserve your business. NOT this guy.

I'm a Doctor, my husband is an Engineer, we're pretty easy going people, and we have never experienced any hotel/hostel manager this greedy and the condition of the hotel this bad (and we came to Turkey straight from working in a 3rd world country).

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ktotheD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
en9in, Guest Relations Manager at Taksim Lounge Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2012

Dear Guest ,

We checked your booking and could not find it at first because we do not work with booking.com yet.So you had it from different booking agent.
You were supposed to check -out but you extended your stay .But we told you that we need to start renovation and you were only people in the hostel staying.And it was low season so we had to start it.

You were saying you would be outside and it is ok.So we started to do it but your husband came downstairs and told us that we did not expect that much can you make us a discount for that instead of saying my wife is asthma and i am worried about her and we should leave.

and i think you were using your being asthma and even your husband do not care so?

And you forgot to say you were just taking your bags and leaving the door without saying anything .and not paying even the dates you stayed and had no problem.

It is not honest behaviour.And we saw you leaving but you and your husband was using being asthama so much so we could not say anything .

And you forgot to say that this greedy man did not take any money from you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

First off, great location. Close to trams across golden horn bridge and the lively shopping and restaurants.

Room is comfortable, bathroom had a smell coming from the drain, had to burn incence.

NOW for the good bit. We booked for 4 nights. From the 2nd day, large renovations with jackhammers and drills constantly throught the day. Loss of electricity and plaster all over the floor. By the 3rd day we had had enough and found somewhere else.

The owner was only interested in his money and offered no apology for the noise, dust or safety hazard. The hostel should have closed for renovations.

Did I mention that they almost drilled through the wall where we were sleeping...mere cms from our heads!

It's also normally loud, and breakfast is very basic. I am not a hostel princess.

I wish I could but I would NOT recommend this place to anyone after these conditions and the way they were handled.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grenda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

I have been travelling for 9 months and have stayed at many hostels. This is a great, intimate and comfortable hostel very close to Taksim Square and near many great little restaurants and bars.

I don't write reviews however I feel inclined to do so because the receptionist was so kind and allowed me to pop in and out to get at my luggage that I stored there during the day for my late flight out of Istanbul.

As far as hostels go, the standards here were fine - I would not read into the negative feedback from other users - they tend to sound like hostel princesses - it is a hostel, not the Grand Mariott. I would say Taksim Lounge is the best value for money hostel I have come across.

Tom

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

The experience was really bad, we asked for a room for 3 person with private bathroom but when they gave us the room it was a 4bed room with shared bathroom.
The bathroom was really uncomfortable and quite dirty , without soap and to have a shower was really a feat. The room was without key and they gave us the key on 2nd day, so we should bring the most valuable stuff with us for the first day
They didn't give us anything else , also the towels were only a dream. The bed linen were dirty with hairs everywhere. And of course the breakfast , I couldn't call actually breakfast, was bad made only of cold milk tea and bread as is.
At the end of the stay we would pay as per our agreement but they decided to multiply the per person fee for 4 people even if we were only three. We had a discussion and after some time we persuaded them that the agreement was for 3 person.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fedewild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
en9in, Guest Relations Manager at Taksim Lounge Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2012

Dear Guest,
First of all you were not supposed to stay with us in the other say you did not have booking with us.
You were brought to our hostel by another hostel because of their overbooking.
And our triple rooms were booked before so i took you in four bed room but you paid just for three people.
We did not understand why you complain about that.Cause other hostel paid for the difference.

And i told you that we do not have dorms with private bathroom.You said ok.

And our rooms clean for a hostel and after every check -out we change every sheets even if you stay one day.
And if you came earlier for breakfast you would have seen more than bread ,milk and tea.
Our breakfast time 7:00-10:00 in the mornings not at 13:00 pm.

Thanks anway taking your time to write about us next time we will try more to make you happy.


Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Taxim Lounge Hotel
Taxim Lounge Hotel
#382 of 1,159 in Istanbul
42 reviews
Sisli
Icon Hotel Istanbul
Icon Hotel Istanbul
#820 of 1,159 in Istanbul
46 reviews
Beyoglu
Grand Hotel Halic
Grand Hotel Halic
#587 of 1,159 in Istanbul
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Tulip By Molton Hotels
Tulip By Molton Hotels
#490 of 1,159 in Istanbul
639 reviews
Beyoglu
Feronya Hotel
Feronya Hotel
#532 of 1,159 in Istanbul
252 reviews
Beyoglu
InnJoy Hostel
InnJoy Hostel
#116 of 1,236 in Istanbul
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taksim Lounge Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taksim Lounge Hostel

Address: Katip Mustafa Celebi Mh. Mucadele Cikmazi No:5 | Taksim, Istanbul 34433, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 1,236 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range: £10 - £21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Taksim LOUNGE HOSTEL has changed its name to InnJoy Hostel- If you are looking for a clean, quiet , comfy and central place where you can chill and have fun, Taksim Lounge is the right place in Istanbul.LocationTaksim Lounge Hostel has the perfect location to reach any destination in Istanbul with ease, as its right in the centre of Istanbul and very close to main bus routes and the Istanbul Underground and the Airport shuttle.Another advantage of our location is that we're only 15 min. away from most of Istanbul's famous tourist attractions(old town), we're also only a short walk from Sirkeci international train stationWant to relax?We have big and really nice terrace where you can chill and meet other travellers to share your story.Want to cook?We have well equipped kitchen to cook and use tea /coffee facilities for free.Want to sleep?We have really comfy beds where you can have good sleep.Need help or info?All staff that work in our hostel welcome you and hope to offer you a service that leaves you with fond memories of your stay.We offer you all the information you may need about the city: tourist, local information, the news and possible activities that you can arrange from the receptionHungry?We serve free continental breakfast in the mornings.Want to party?Our location is surrounded by thousands of bars and the very famous pedestrian street Istiklal street (long shopping street that runs to this square) within two minutes walking distanceFacilities:-Free Individual Lockers and Locks-Free Towels, Linens and Duvets-Free Coffee and Tea, all day-Free Breakfast -Free Wireless Internet Connection -Free Luggage storage-24 h hot water-24 h reception-No curfew or lock out We do not accept local guests .Please do not book with us .We can cancel your reservation and no deposit will be refund ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Taksim Lounge Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing