We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noisy hotel, expect a lack of sleep and a 30 min commute to old town” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Faros Hotel Taksim

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Faros Hotel Taksim
Ranked #230 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Noisy hotel, expect a lack of sleep and a 30 min commute to old town”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

A hotel which should probably be rated as 3 stars at best. Biggest issue was the distance it was from any of Istanbul's main attractions. Every day we were travelling to old town which isn't a short distance. Absolutely nothing to do in Taksim.

Pros:
If you want to be in Taksim rather than old city
A good breakfast

Cons:
Location is poor if you want to see the main sites
Paper thin walls, could hear neighbours around plugging in appliances, taking on the phone, watching TV, walking around upstairs etc.
The doors are very heavy and need to be slammed to close properly. Therefore doors slamming at all hours of the night.
Bathroom is not separate, so no privacy in showering or going to the bathroom. Also causes whole room to fill with steam.

Room Tip: Any room away from neighbouring guests, probably top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anon3387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farostaksim, Genel Müdür at Faros Hotel Taksim, responded to this review, 29 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments. We openly welcome feedback from our guests whether positive or negative, as it is in this way that we can monitor our guests feedback, so that we may improve our standards of service to meet our guests expectations.

We wish you all the best for your life in hope to see you with us again.

Greetings from Istanbul.

Kind Regards,

Rabiye SARI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    142
    42
    14
    6
See reviews for
66
158
50
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We chose this hotel simply for its proximity to the Havatas stop at Taksim. And a good choice it was. So close to Taksim and Beyoglu. It's a boutique hotel with charm. The rooms are on the small side but clean. The staff were very accommodating, with early check in, earlier than normal breakfast for us to catch the bus. One of the staff even carried our luggage for us all the way to the bus stop! Would recommend for short stay or for couples. As on this occasion it was my teenage son and myself, the bathroom was not very convenient with no walls for privacy. Enjoyed the stay all the same.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank REDD29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farostaksim, Ön Büro Müdürü at Faros Hotel Taksim, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.Faros Hotel team would like to thank about your extremely valuable observation about our hotel facilities and services provided by our staff.

The entire team of Faros Hotel Taksim will be looking forward to welcoming you again.

With my best regards

Zafer Karayel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Great hotel with excellent front desk staff. Great location, just 1 block from taksim square. They made me a Turkish coffee every morning. Breakfast was decent. My only suggestion to staff would be to repair water damaged walls in the bathrooms and increase the timing on the motion detection lights. Sometimes the hallway lights would turn off before I could find my room key. Also the hotel is on a back road and a little difficult for taxis to find. Many of the buildings on that street are abandon, which may be disturbing to some. I booked the rooftop suite. There are only two 801, and 802. Ask for the bigger one (I think it's 801) which faces the front of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KipRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farostaksim, Ön Büro Müdürü at Faros Hotel Taksim, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable comments. Please note that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedbacks such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis.

All our staff sends you the warmest regards and hopes to see you soon again.

With my best regards

Zafer Karayel

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
132 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Firstly, I hope that the staff of Faros read this. I want to say thank you for the exceptional service. You all work very hard and it is appreciated. The way you welcome me each and every time I walk in or out is a great touch. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff. Wifi excellent in all parts of hotel. Free Apple Mac to use in lobby if you need it. Breakfast is a nice touch too. Thank you! Location couldn't be better. Taksim is alive at night and day. Only feedback for improvement : if a guest puts Do Not Disturb on door then do not telephone the room to ask if they want maid to make up room. Thanks. Also maids please don't slam doors and make noise in corridors. I like to sleep late so it did disturb me some days. Again, maids do a great job so it's just a suggestion. I would stay here again and have no hesitation in recommending. The staff here are incredible, helpful, kind and fun.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dreamonixx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farostaksim, Ön Büro Müdürü at Faros Hotel Taksim, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.Faros Hotel team would like to thank about your extremely valuable observation about our hotel facilities and services provided by our staff.

All our staff sends you the warmest regards and hopes to see you soon again.

With my best regards

Zafer Karayel

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

The choice of hotel in Istanbul can be overwhelming, so save yourself a time-consuming hunt and book yourself into this charming little hotel, 3 minutes walk from Taksim Square. The rooms may be small and there is no view as such, but the rooms are clean and everything functions. The best thing though about the Faros are the staff who are all charming, helpful and have a delightful sense of humour, especially Zafer and Murat.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farostaksim, Front Office Manager at Faros Hotel Taksim, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your comments.Faros Hotel team would like to thank about your extremely valuable observation about our hotel facilities and services provided by our staff.
Zafer Karayel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

When I write this review I stay at this hotel
Everything is perfect, all staff are polite and very friendly,the breakfastis good and the locationis perfect, our room is very clean and the view of the trace is perfect

We really love it.
Thanks to reception of night to suggest it to us.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simahaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farostaksim, Front Office Manager at Faros Hotel Taksim, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest
We appreciate your valuable comments; and we are delighted to learn that we were able to make you comfortable in our property and to secure a pleasant stay for you in general. We sincerely hope to welcome you back soon.
Zafer Karayel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Loved this hotel! The facilities were very clean and modern. The staff was so quick to respond to any request. They helped with booking reservations to shows and restaurants and arranged travel arrangements for us. Good breakfast buffet. Strong Wi-fi. Would definitely recommend to those who want to stay in Taksim Square

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Haniyyah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farostaksim, Front Office Manager at Faros Hotel Taksim, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest

We hope to host you in our hotel again with an unforgettable memories and would be really pleased to see you again here.

Zafer Karayel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Villa Pera Suite Hotel
Villa Pera Suite Hotel
#142 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Beyoglu
Midtown Hotel
Midtown Hotel
#137 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Sisli
Ibis Styles Istanbul Taksim
Ibis Styles Istanbul Taksim
#334 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Next2 Hotel
Next2 Hotel
#79 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Beyoglu
Titanic City Hotel
Titanic City Hotel
#183 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Beyoglu
Point Hotel Taksim
Point Hotel Taksim
#168 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faros Hotel Taksim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faros Hotel Taksim

Property: Faros Hotel Taksim
Address: Kocatepe Mahallesi Taksim Caddesi No: 55 | Taksim, Istanbul 34437, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #230 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Faros Hotel Taksim 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Faros Hotel Taksim, a boutique design hotel which is located in the 'Conference Valley' of Istanbul-Taksim city center and on the routes connecting Europe and Asia. Faros Hotel Taksim offers a unique hotel experince with its 28 specialy decoreted guest rooms and 2 roof top suites. Faros Hotel Taksim also offers 6 connecting rooms facing to the main street for Family stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Faros Hotel Taksim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing