We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Second Stay in Istanbul”
Review of Muyan Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Muyan Suites
Ranked #16 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful Second Stay in Istanbul”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

For our second trip to Istanbul, we were looking for something different than our stay at the Four Seasons Sultanahmet in 2008. It's not fair to compare the two, since they are both very different, but I can say that if we return to Istanbul for a third time, we would stay at Muyan Suites, both for service and value. Toner and the rest of the staff are every bit, if not more, professional than those at the Four Seasons and much more helpful. The location is excellent, our room was very large and clean, and the free breakfast was a nice bonus. If I had one suggestion to improve, I would add more English speaking TV stations, since the hotel caters to primarily to English speaking guests, although I noted they had a few English speaking channels in the lobby and breakfast area, so maybe we missed those stations in our room.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    738
    124
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
229
385
55
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

My parents and i just stayed at Muyan Suites for 4 nights and it was a very pleasant stay. The staff were extremely pleasant, and its clear how much they value hospitality. After a slight mix up in the room reservation, the manager Toner, moved us into a much larger and nicer room for no charge, which was very much appreciated. On that note, Toner was a pleasure to interact with, very helpful and efficient. The night staff Toktoy always had a smile on his face and one evening as i sat in the lobby reading, even brought me a plate of fruit, which i thought was so sweet. The staff in general were very friendly, and highly attentive. Breakfast was simple but sufficient, and the hotel was convenient to all the top sights of Istanbul. The rooms were clean and nice, and the free airport pick up service, smooth, The wifi connected was very strong. All in all, a great stay. Ask Toner to explain the history behind the name Muyan for a nice little story!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kamya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Starting with a friendly email offering airport transfer the day before we booked, to walking in the door with our room ready through friendly smiles and chats on the way in and out and even a free drink when we came home tired and sweaty one day - the staff of this hotel are outstanding.

The rooms are big, however on Expedia they were listed as "one bedroom suites", they are not, they are large rooms

Great location, walking distance to historic area and easy tram/bus rides to other places

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Slau58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed at many hotels, but Muyan Suites offered the highest quality hotel, service staff, and breakfast. They picked us up free from Ataturk Airport and the on-duty staff came right out to the to meet us when the shuttle pulled up. He brought us drinks and chatted with us, giving us maps, and helping us to figure out what the best sights are to see, and how to get around the city. He had an extensive historical knowledge of the area and was eager to share it. He also went out of his way to help us figure out how to get to SAW airport quickly and affordably when we were preparing to go to the next leg of our trip. SAW is 1-3 hours away (depending on the time of day), so the help was invaluable. The free breakfast every morning was better than we had at any other hotel. There were eggs, sausages, toast, meats and cheeses, dried fruits and nuts, cakes/pastries, and an extensive assortment of fresh fruits. There were service staff available to serve drinks. Our room was beautiful and comfortable with extensive amenities available -- all you need to bring is yourself! -- and the air conditioner worked very well, cooling the room quickly. They gave us a free 1.5L of water each day, and the room had a minibar with cheap cold drinks, including water, sodas, juices, and beer. The hotel is also within a 5 minute walk from Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia. The location is very good, as we never felt unsafe for a moment.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eileen449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed here for 2 days and we loved the room. Huge (we had 2 rooms) and comfortable, nice armchairs to sink deep in after sightseeing. Big and comfortable bed - for a nice, long sleep.

Almost no street-noise though we had a room facing the street, only the song-like prayers from the mosques.

Very kind and welcoming staff. If we go to Istanbul again, we will surely stay here once more.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
171 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

If you want to experience the rich, ancient culture of the old city, you stay at a little boutique hotel like the Muyan, which is only a few short blocks to all the major attractions, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque etc. The Sultanahmet section teems with wonderful little sidewalk cafés and restaurants. We walked everywhere. Not once did we feel unsafe or unwelcome. The Turks deserve their reputation for hospitality.

The Muyan is a gem. It's off one of the side streets that doesn't look very inviting, but once you step inside all that changes. The rooms are comfortable, although the bed was very hard. Our bathroom was spacious with a good sized shower and lots of hot water. Their buffet breakfast is a lovely spread of Turkish dishes such as razor thin slices of grilled eggplant and zucchini. A variety of breads, scrambled or hard boiled eggs, sausages and cold cuts. They have everything including Cappuccino, Turkish coffee and Nescafé with milk.

The staff are friendly and most helpful. They couldn't be nicer. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Constance M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Small boutique hotel in Sultanahmet was ideal for family of three. The staff treated us like family and were able to help us about the attractions. The day and night managers Taner, Emre and Oktay were very helpful in answering all our questions and very engaging. They helped us with the Metro card which saved us quite a bit on our trip to Taksim square. My wife was sick with cold and the pharmacies were closed because of Eid but Oktay was able to get some medications for her and did not take any money for the medication. The breakfast was great every morning and the location of the Hotel is close to all good restaurants. Thanks to all the staff and will certainly stay with them if I visit Istanbul again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pramod-California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,948 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,725 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#19 of 1,141 in Istanbul
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,141 in Istanbul
3,274 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#18 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,039 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#31 of 1,141 in Istanbul
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muyan Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muyan Suites

Property: Muyan Suites
Address: Binbirdirek Mah. Dizdariye Medresesi Sok. | No:13 Sultanahmet / Old City, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Muyan Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 200 metres from Istanbul’s iconic Blue Mosque, this boutique hotel offers spacious rooms with free Wi-Fi and 40-inch satellite LCD TVs. It also organises daily sightseeing tours around Istanbul.All spacious rooms at Muyan Suites feature classical furnishings. They include a seating area and a wall-mounted TV set. Bathrobes, slippers and bathroom amenities are available in the bathroom.Hotel Muyan serves a daily breakfast buffet.Staff at the hotel’s 24-hour reception desk can arrange shuttles to either Atatürk International Airport or Sabiha Gokcen Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Muyan Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing