We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Prime Location, Good Price”
Review of Gumusyan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gumusyan Hotel
Ranked #637 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 20 November 2012

The Hotel Gumusyan is really interesting. My husband and I spent 3 nights at the hotel and it's location is fantastic. We arrived on a Thursday evening and when went out into the city the street was pumping with energy and people. The shops (starting aproximetly 30m from the Hotel entrance) were all open well after 21:00 with people selling food from carts outside and playing music. Some places which serve as a bistro during the day become bars and nightclubs in the evening. The hotel itself is very trendy; you enter through the restaurant which is new and well decorated - this was confusing at first as the 'reception desk' is in the restaurant but not a problem once we figured it out. Our room was really well equipped, clean and also very trendy décor. We had breakfast included as well. This consisted of various rolls, pastries, baked goods, olives, scrambled eggs, cereals & yoghurt. We've travelled quite a bit in Europe and I thought this breakfast was great value for money.

The main tourist attractions are at Sultanahmet (Hagia Sofia, Blue Mosque, Basilica Cistern & Grand Bazaar) which is about 15 minutes away with public transport - you need to take the 'Tunel' to the bottom of the hill and then it's about 3 stops with the tram. The Taksim area (where the hotel is situated) is very popular at night which does mean that it is very noisy. The windows are not well insulated so I can imagine that this could get quite loud (as it carries on well after 03:00 in the morning); my husband and I slept with earplugs in so this did not bother us at all, but it is something to be aware of. The only negative about our room was the shower: the shower did not drain properly so that if you left the water running for more than 30 seconds it flooded the whole bathroom. This meant that we had to turn the shower off while applying soap etc. and wait for the water to drain before attempting to rinse in 20 seconds again. We did mention this to reception but when we got back to our room nothing had changed, when we mentioned it again they said they would check again but nothing changed. I was really sorry about this as our overall impression of the hotel was really positive, but the shower did make it quite uncomfortable. All things considered we would recommend the hotel to friends and stay there again, but I would expect them to make more of an effort to fix the problem next time.

We truly had an amazing experience in Istanbul.

Room Tip: If at all possible, I would recommend trying to get a room which is not on the street side as that m...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dominique S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
There are newer reviews for Gumusyan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2012

Very well located, interesting decor, but ridiculously noisy at night, wish we'd been able to read review dated Oct 2nd before booking. Had #52 suite looking onto a wall with several large metallic chimneys from restaurants/bars on the side making you feel you were constantly on a plane. How can it be 'good value' if you haven't been able to get minimal sleep to enjoy this amazing city!?

Room Tip: See my comments ( we were in suite no 52, on the 5th floor )
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sylvie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gumusyan, General Manager at Gumusyan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2012

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for your kind attention to our hotel and sharing your reviews in tripadvisor.com.

We are very appreciated of your words about our decoration,staff and location.

For the noise please notice we are making several meetings with the municipality to control the sound and improving about this everyday. Because our hotel is in a central location, take all this noise under control will be in time.

Hope to see you at our hotel again in the future to check the improvements.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We loved this hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful and our room was lovely and extremely comfortable.
Istanbul's nightlife is noisy and the Gumusyan is in the thick of it!
In spite of the noise at night from outside, we had a great stay.
Highly recommended - especially if you like staying out very late !

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris250160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

This pretty little hotel is in the heart of the city. Services and accomodation were entirely as expected and the hotel had a great atmosphere and cool design. Sure the surroundings can get a little noisy at times but within such a vibrant city full of bars, cafes and restaurants I think you would find this to be true the city over wherever you stayed. The breakfast was mainly a continental buffet which was adequate, the only criticism I'd have is a lack of attention to refilling/restocking depleted coffee/dishes, once more was requested this was taken care or.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cd0wling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We had great expectations after viewing the photos on the website and on arrival at the hotel. However, the reality is very disappointing...and we will never return. The hotel interior and the rooms are indeed beautifully designed, there is a simple but well cooked western menu, but...and it's a huge BUT...the rooms are SO noisy. The music and noise from party people immediately outside the hotel is so full on that we never slept before 3am. We tried a second room but it was even worse and directly above a bar/club. The night manager deserves a medal as we were definitely not the only ones that were up all night unable to sleep due to the noise. The reception staff also left a lot to be desired in terms of service or going the extra mile!! We are going home in love with Istanbul but ruined from 5 nights of sleep deprivation :(

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank emmaclark2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Pretty good location, considering the price.The hotel is very near to the tunel. Only a 20 min. Walk to Istanbul Modern if u are an art lover. It is also 5 minutes to the metro station. Friendly service. A new hotel, large bathrooms and has a pretty cool design, they kept the old brick walls in the rooms and used raw pieces of wood and metal as furniture...The only problem is the 'crazy partying' going on forever around the Asmali Area which is the hip night life area, quite trendy lately. Even if the loud noise ends around 4 in the morning, the 'street cleaning car's start, which is even worse...oh, lets not forget the very in restaurant they have downstairs, it is usually packed on friday and saturday nights...I would definetaly recommend if u are not very picky about ur quality of sleep;)

Room Tip: Try the ones located at the back, there is no real view anyways...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Garlicmarlic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank alev i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Hotel Gritti Pera
Hotel Gritti Pera
#714 of 1,159 in Istanbul
48 reviews
Beyoglu
Stories Hotel Kumbaraci
Stories Hotel Kumbaraci
#450 of 1,159 in Istanbul
101 reviews
Beyoglu
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#497 of 1,159 in Istanbul
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
By Murat Crown
By Murat Crown
#410 of 1,159 in Istanbul
56 reviews
Beyoglu
Pera Arya Hotel
Pera Arya Hotel
#939 of 1,159 in Istanbul
24 reviews
Beyoglu
Babu Hotel
Babu Hotel
#686 of 1,159 in Istanbul
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gumusyan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gumusyan Hotel

Address: Asmali Mescit Cad. No.9, Istanbul 34430, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #637 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £38 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gumusyan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The GUMUSHIAN Hotel was built in the 19th century by Ohannes Gumushian, a after serving as a family residence for over a century.The GUMUSHIAN has reopened as a magnificent boutique hotel with 15 rooms and restaurant after complete restoration and modernization.The location of the hotel is in the heart of Istanbul,are the center of the cultural,shopping and night life districts of the city.All the GUMUSHIAN’s bedrooms are furnished in beautiful materials and fabrics.All rooms are also spacious and well decorated.Suites contain their own bedroom,lounge and large balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gumusyan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing