We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ferman Sultan Hotel
Ranked #270 of 1,161 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The hotel is located in Sultahnamet area, quiet area with little traffic and a restaurant nearby. The main attraction Blue mosque, Aya Sophia and Grand Bazaar are located in walking area around 1km .
The rooms are very clean, bathroom average , breakfast is good with a nice view of Bosphor and of Istanbul.The front desk person are very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gabitul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
There are newer reviews for Ferman Sultan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

The location of the hotel is very central. You can reach sights as the blue mosque or Aya Sophia without problems by foot. Even the tram station is not far away.
You cannot beat the price we paid for three nights in this hotel. Therefore it was absolutely fine. The room was located in the souterrain and the light was not good, but the room was clean. It is badly soundproofed and you have to get used to it. The rooftop is great. You have an amazing view! Breakfast was ok but I would not recommend the orange juice.

The best was definitely the service from Abdurrahmon. When we arrived he offerd us something to drink (water, coffee and tea are for free) and he informed us about the hotel and sights in Istanbul. He was very accommodating and made us feel very welcome.
There's a laptop in the lobby for everyone to use and they always have Turkish delights provided.

The hotel is no luxury one but it definitely fulfills its purpose.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eva K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This was our first hotel on our TSC Tour and we were very pleased. Clean, comfortable, very friendly and attentive. When we walked in, the front desk person, Abdulrahman, came around to the sitting area, offered us beverages and sat down with a map to orient us. The view from the 4th and 5th levels is restful and exciting at the same time. We even took photos of our ceilings! Excellent location; we walked across the street for dinner and to the market, and all over Sultanahmet. Our two daughters in their early 20's were safe walking the area alone at night and enjoyed twin beds in their room. The toilet in our first room did not flush properly and we were a little chilly with no blanket. When we returned from our tour we were given a huge room with a properly working toilet and a jacuzzi! Unfortunately, we were too busy saying goodbye to Istanbul to take time to use it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The hotel is situated in a quiet street with little traffic. Parking was available every day in front. Breakfast was great on roof top terrace with unobstructed view of Sultahnamet highlights, the Bosphorus and the wider Istanbul city.

The room was large, bathroom was average but excellent shower water pressure and beat. The cleaning service was very quiet and efficient.

We put three stars due to sleep quality. The bed was comfortable with plenty of pillows but the cover kept slipping off the bed ( silky bottom). Also the rooms are not well isolated so we heard everyone and everything at all hours. We kept waking up early due to the room next to us had screaming kids opening and closing the doors...

The hotel staff tried very hard to recommend restaurants and activities for us but it felt like a sales pitch where they would get a commission should they send us there.

Room Tip: Get a room on 2 or 3rd floor, avoid first floor as it is right next to the reception Ask for a room...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ISAandCHRIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This hotel is in a great location. The hotel is clean and there is a good selection at breakfast. The absolute outstanding feature of this hotel is the level of service of the staff. They made my husband, my two children and I feel so welcome. They were happy to help print my online plane booking out and nothing was too much effort. We would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Excellent stay in Istanbul over the Easter holidays. We were happy with our choice of hotel due to its strategic location in the middle of the old Constantinople's historical neighborhood, just few hundred meters from Haiga Sophia, Blue mosque and many other attractions. Nice, cozy street, a good restaurant across the street. The view from the breakfast terrace is just fantastic, you can see the Blue mosque on one side and the Marmara see on the other. Room was decent, nothing luxurious but clean and met expectations. The personnel, and most importantly two guys, Abdurrohman and Serdar were extremely helpful and creative in suggesting and organizing our tours and sight seeings. Would definitely recommend this hotel to friends.
Souren&Marina

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Souren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Great location near all old Istanbul sites. Rooms were ok, but the highlight of this hotel is the staff and the breakfast view. The staff were fantastic, helping with local language, recommended restaurants, and general turkey knowledge. From the 4th floor breakfast restaurant you can get a great view of the blue mosque. Rooms are basic, but meet expectations.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ian v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Ferman Hotel
Ferman Hotel
#228 of 1,161 in Istanbul
752 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Fehmi Bey
Hotel Fehmi Bey
#373 of 1,161 in Istanbul
181 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ararat Hotel
Ararat Hotel
#172 of 1,161 in Istanbul
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Cesme Hotel
Sultanahmet Cesme Hotel
#267 of 1,161 in Istanbul
218 reviews
Sultanahmet
Timeks Hotel
Timeks Hotel
#320 of 1,161 in Istanbul
117 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sumengen Hotel
Sumengen Hotel
#262 of 1,161 in Istanbul
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferman Sultan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferman Sultan Hotel

Address: Binbirdirek Mahallesi Suterazisi Sokak No: 8 | Fatih-Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #270 of 1,161 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £38 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ferman Sultan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ferman Sultan Hotel is a new decorated special class boutique hotel in Sultanahmet considered to be the heart of Istanbul which is world capital of culture. "City of Sultans" or "Sultan of Cities". Ferman Sultan welcomes all the clients with warm and traditionnal Turkish Hospitality with friendly staff, good quality and smiley faces and high standards. Our Hotels incredibly central location is only a few steps walking distance to the hub of Istanbul's greatest Byzantine and Ottoman historical treasures including Hagia Sofia, Blue Mosque, Hippodrome, Topkapi Palace and the world famous Grand Bazaar. Due to its convenient location, it offers a great advantage for guests those who wish to explore the old city, Sultanahmet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ferman Sultan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing