We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hosts, beautiful design, and great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kumru Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kumru Hotel
Ranked #56 of 1,028 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hosts, beautiful design, and great location”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We stayed in March for five nights at this wonderful and newly opened B&B. The location is just perfect. Though it is in walking distance to major sights, the sea, and the tram, it is still far enough away from the main tourists-trap-area. The small cobbled streets with their old houses have a quite unique feeling and it was very quiet in the evening. The breakfast served at the terrace (heated with radiant heaters) was superb. The food was very fresh and the selection of bread, cheese, sausages, and jam was compelemented by tomatoes, cucumbers, eggs, dried fruits and freshly squeezed orange juice. Sometimes, we were served some freshly and deliciously self-baked banana bread, waffles with maple syrup, börek or pizza slices. We loved the terrace and the view, but the hosts told us, that they are preparing an even nicer rooftop-terrace as a future place to serve breakfast, where you can overlook the blue mosque and the sea. But the best thing about our stay were the perfectly hospitable guests who tried to get every detail perfect and make our stay a most memorable one - in which they definitely succeeded. It was really relaxing to return to the hostel in the evening when it got chilly and be offered a tea and some talk. They also provided us some useful tips for sights and restaurants whenever we asked. Thanks for your warming hospitality!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Su_Xiaoshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCT672, Owner at Kumru Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel and our services. We do try hard to make every guest feel comfortable and secure and to assist in anyway we can to help make their entire trip to Istanbul or beyond a memorable one. We are newly opened and have a few additions coming as you mentioned. When the rooftop terrace is opened this spring we will have better views of the sea during breakfast. Thank you for the comments on our location. For those looking for a close but quite alternative to the more touristed areas of Sultanahmet we think this is an ideal location, although some may want to be closer to the sites, regardless of the noise etc. We so enjoyed having you stay with us and getting to know you. We wish you well and hope someday to see you back in Istanbul.

Regards
Abdurrahman
Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    31
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
44
69
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Kumru is a wonderfull small family hotel in the middle of Old Town Istanbul. This means that most of the interesting sites to visit are all within walking distance. Within minutes you can visit the Aya Sofia or the blue Mosque or stroll in the Grand Bazar. And you know what makes the trip so nice? Staying in this wonderfull hotel called Kumru.
Kumru opened its dores in november 2011 and is the place to be in for a good nights rest. The beds are absolutely comfortable. It was so great after so much walking around in Istanbull that we could come back to a nice clean hotel, take a hot bath, put on one of those big bathrobes, that comes with the service and lay down on these beds to rest.
The owners Melissa and Abdul will tell you all they know about istanbull (and they know a lot!) With their help we were able to arrange tickets to see the Dance of the Derwishes. And you know what? This too was within walking distance of the hotel!
Nearby are several small restaurants where you can eat for reasonable prices. We recommend the Stone house, with a special claypot dish from Cappadocia.
The hotel is really squickly clean, something Melissa, the American owner of the hotel, is taking care of that the job is done properly. Abdul, the Turkish owner of the hotel, knows the ins and outs of Istanbul. If you want to buy a rug, he is the expert to consult before you buy something, so you don't pay to much. He even speaks a mouthfull of several different languages.
Ofcourse, the hotel is dealing with some minors bugs, which will be dealt with by now, I am sure, like regulating hot and cold water. But they were minor bugs and did not dampen our enthousiastic feeling of the hotel accomodations.
We liked the big flatscreen tv in the room where we could select from more than 900 channels from all over the world.

Kumru Hotel thank you for a wonderfull stay. Sjura

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjura s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2012

During our 10 days in Turkey we stayed in a couple of hotels in and outside Istanbul. Kumru Hotel was the best of all. Our experience with the hotel owners and staff was absolutely positive - they are extremely friendly and helpful. They always offer their guests help without imposing. The room was very clean, including the stylish bathroom. The view from the hotel is not that of a sea or the Blue Mosque but a typical Istanbul small street that well corresponds with the hotel's setting near the Kücük Ayasofia, in a neighbourhood where one can well experience the real Turkish element.
The breakfast on the terrace of the hotel was another experience. It was rich and tasty.
We were also well advised by one of the hotel's owners on a trip outside Istanbul that was definitely worth it and that enriched our stay there.
If we go back to Istanbul, we will definitely stay at the Kumru Hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Initially booked in 3 nights at Divas Hotel. They were supposed to be my last 3 days of the trip before heading back. The bad reception service I got that evening at Divas really turned me off. Went up to the bedroom, very small (nice view though), with no bath tub.. Not worth the price I pay for. After checking in at the Divas went strolling down to find a place to have a bite to eat. By passing this new hotel ( thought it was a restaurant) the guy at the reception was waiving at me and my friends. We decided to go in and check it out. Showed us the room, large bathroom with bath tub, brand new reno. I just learnt that they had just opened for 2 weeks. This Turkish reception person turned out to be the owner of the hotel. So nice of him to show us the way to a good restaurant around. We decided to get out of the Divas Hotel the next morning and stayed at Kumru Hotel for the next 2 days. It was the best decision of the last leg of my trip. The Hotel also arranged for us this lovely restaurant at the fish market for the new year eve evening, met some nice German couples. Had a good experience and the vibrance that the Turkish celebrating New Year count down I would never forger.... I would recommend this hotel to anyone without hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSSN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

First time in Istanbul with friends. Stayed for 7 days and found this pleasant and comfortable hotel in the Sultanahmet neighborhood. Within walking distance of the Hippodrome, the Blue mosque, the Hagia Sophia and the tram that runs towards the Grand Bizarre and spice market.
The staff was very kind and hospitable and treated us to a large breakfast each morning and gave us lots of help in finding our way around the city.
Our rooms were very well appointed with beautiful, large marbled bathrooms.
I highly recommend Hotel Kumru for anyone visiting this marvelous city.

Room Tip: Even smallest rooms are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCT672, Owner at Kumru Hotel, responded to this review, 22 December 2011
Thank you for the kind response. With just opening the week of your stay, we appreciate your input and patience as we worked through some bugs. We hope to see you again soon at the Kumru Hotel and are glad that we met your expectations.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

WOW!!! From the warm greeting of the driver at the airport, they arranged to have a car pick me up, to the warm Chai and greeting at the desk, to the cozy well appointed room I was given. I can't tell you how impressed I am. The Staff, the decor, the breakfast on the roof. So much more than a sterile corporate hotel. I was in a jam for a room to meet my last minute arrangements for a conference and I stumbled up on this new hotel. Gave it a chance and my exprience was wonderful. They were still in the process of opening and had a few minor hiccups, but they immediately offered a discount to offset the inconvenience. (Elevator was not running yet).
The Inn Keepers, Melissa, Salhi, Ali and Abdul all went out of their way to make sure my stay was great. Hidden little tips for the native's view of Istanbul from Abdul, Ali makind sure I had the right cleaner for my clothes, Salhi with his personal tour to take me to the infamous Turkish Meatball place near the blue Mosque and Melissa ever ready with a warm cup of Chai and smile. I felt like a Sultan. Book now and I promise you will be amazed.

Room Tip: The smaller rooms face the main street and can offer a limited view of the Marmar sea. Larger room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michaelfenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCT672, Owner at Kumru Hotel, responded to this review, 22 December 2011
Thank you for the kind review. We are glad you found both the hotel and our staff satisfactory and glad to hear you plan to come back soon. We also appreciate the feedback during your stay as we have just newly opened and appreciate your time in doing this. The large rooms will be a good choice if you return with friends as it can accommodate up to four comfortably, or it can be configured as a suite with a double bed with the twin beds converted to an L shaped couch which would be very comfortable for two for a longer stay.

Kind Regards and Happy Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2011

What a jewel of a find! This was our first trip to Turkey, and we decided to focus on Instanbul since the city bridges East and West, as well as ancient times and modernity. We were quite lucky to find the Kumru Hotel, which is tucked away in a neighborhood of cobblestone streets and little shops and restaurants, while being only a five to 10 minute walk either from the beautiful waterfront or the most important sites in the city (The Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, The Grand Bazaar).

The owners are like family and bend over backwards to make sure everything is perfect. The newly opened hotel features clean, well appointed rooms of a design modern yet very comfortable. They work hard to remove all potential sources of stress, including providing a quite large continental breakfast each morning, free internet access, assistance with airport transfers, and plenty of advice about where to go and what to see.

Of course we'll be back, and I can't imagine staying anywhere else now that we've found the Kumru. Enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCT672, Owner at Kumru Hotel, responded to this review, 22 December 2011
Thank you for the kind review. We are thrilled that you had a great stay with us and am pleased we were able to help make your first trip to Istanbul a great and memorable experience. We appreciate the kind comments as we strive to make sure our guests have a great experience not only when at the hotel but that we assist in making their entire trip enjoyable.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#24 of 1,129 in Istanbul
1,710 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#27 of 1,129 in Istanbul
689 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ada Hotel Istanbul
Ada Hotel Istanbul
#15 of 1,129 in Istanbul
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#21 of 1,129 in Istanbul
841 reviews
Sultanahmet
Walton Hotels Sultanahmet
Walton Hotels Sultanahmet
#12 of 1,129 in Istanbul
128 reviews
Sultanahmet
Saruhan Hotel
Saruhan Hotel
#13 of 1,028 in Istanbul
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kumru Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kumru Hotel

Property: Kumru Hotel
Address: Kardirga Liman CAD Yusufaskin SOK No 6, Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 1,028 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Kumru Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Kumru Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing