We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel in the Old City”
Review of Kumru Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kumru Hotel
Ranked #60 of 1,079 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We just returned from a five night stay in Istanbul at the Kumru Hotel which was fantastic. The location is perfect for walking through the quaint cobbled streets to all the main attractions of the Old City, yet it is not right in the center of the tourist area so you can still feel like a "traveler" when you walk back through the charming Sultanahmet neighborhood to reach the hotel after a day of sightseeing. The hosts, Melissa and Abdul went out of their way to make us feel welcomed and their suggestions for things to do were invaluable since we hadn't brought a guide book. Our standard double room was spacious and comfortable and there was no noise at all from the street which we overlooked. The Turkish breakfast of eggs, cheeses and fresh baked breads was excellent. We had an amazing time in Istanbul and we are already hoping to come back again in the near future. We will definitely stay again at the Kumru hotel!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank krisontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2012

We absolutely LOVED Kumru Hotel!! The owners, Melissa & Abdul, were so incredibly helpful and accommodating. They helped us plan our itinerary for the weekend, printed out maps to help us find our way around the city, gave us recommendations for places to eat, and were overall FANTASTIC hosts. The rooms were clean, good-sized, with large windows to let in lots of light. The beds were really comfy, which is a plus! The decor was SO beautiful, artsy, tasteful and modern! Breakfast on the terrace was quiet and peaceful, and the food did not disappoint. Typical Turkish cuisine, but an added bonus was Melissa's homemade banana bread. Yummy!! Location was great. 10 minute walk from Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, and Basilica Cistern. 15 minute walk from Grand Bazaar. Aside from our honeymoon, this was one of our favorite trips ever - thanks to Kumru Hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCT672, Owner at Kumru Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2012

Thanks so much for you kind words. We are glad you liked our hotel, but more importantly we are thrilled you had a great time in Istanbul. Our goals is to provide a comfortable base for our customers to enjoy this fascinating city and we try to do what we can to assist, if that is what guests want. You were lovely guests and we so enjoyed meeting you and hope to see you again someday in Istanbul.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We stayed in March for five nights at this wonderful and newly opened B&B. The location is just perfect. Though it is in walking distance to major sights, the sea, and the tram, it is still far enough away from the main tourists-trap-area. The small cobbled streets with their old houses have a quite unique feeling and it was very quiet in the evening. The breakfast served at the terrace (heated with radiant heaters) was superb. The food was very fresh and the selection of bread, cheese, sausages, and jam was compelemented by tomatoes, cucumbers, eggs, dried fruits and freshly squeezed orange juice. Sometimes, we were served some freshly and deliciously self-baked banana bread, waffles with maple syrup, börek or pizza slices. We loved the terrace and the view, but the hosts told us, that they are preparing an even nicer rooftop-terrace as a future place to serve breakfast, where you can overlook the blue mosque and the sea. But the best thing about our stay were the perfectly hospitable guests who tried to get every detail perfect and make our stay a most memorable one - in which they definitely succeeded. It was really relaxing to return to the hostel in the evening when it got chilly and be offered a tea and some talk. They also provided us some useful tips for sights and restaurants whenever we asked. Thanks for your warming hospitality!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Su_Xiaoshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCT672, Owner at Kumru Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel and our services. We do try hard to make every guest feel comfortable and secure and to assist in anyway we can to help make their entire trip to Istanbul or beyond a memorable one. We are newly opened and have a few additions coming as you mentioned. When the rooftop terrace is opened this spring we will have better views of the sea during breakfast. Thank you for the comments on our location. For those looking for a close but quite alternative to the more touristed areas of Sultanahmet we think this is an ideal location, although some may want to be closer to the sites, regardless of the noise etc. We so enjoyed having you stay with us and getting to know you. We wish you well and hope someday to see you back in Istanbul.

Regards
Abdurrahman
Co-Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Kumru is a wonderfull small family hotel in the middle of Old Town Istanbul. This means that most of the interesting sites to visit are all within walking distance. Within minutes you can visit the Aya Sofia or the blue Mosque or stroll in the Grand Bazar. And you know what makes the trip so nice? Staying in this wonderfull hotel called Kumru.
Kumru opened its dores in november 2011 and is the place to be in for a good nights rest. The beds are absolutely comfortable. It was so great after so much walking around in Istanbull that we could come back to a nice clean hotel, take a hot bath, put on one of those big bathrobes, that comes with the service and lay down on these beds to rest.
The owners Melissa and Abdul will tell you all they know about istanbull (and they know a lot!) With their help we were able to arrange tickets to see the Dance of the Derwishes. And you know what? This too was within walking distance of the hotel!
Nearby are several small restaurants where you can eat for reasonable prices. We recommend the Stone house, with a special claypot dish from Cappadocia.
The hotel is really squickly clean, something Melissa, the American owner of the hotel, is taking care of that the job is done properly. Abdul, the Turkish owner of the hotel, knows the ins and outs of Istanbul. If you want to buy a rug, he is the expert to consult before you buy something, so you don't pay to much. He even speaks a mouthfull of several different languages.
Ofcourse, the hotel is dealing with some minors bugs, which will be dealt with by now, I am sure, like regulating hot and cold water. But they were minor bugs and did not dampen our enthousiastic feeling of the hotel accomodations.
We liked the big flatscreen tv in the room where we could select from more than 900 channels from all over the world.

Kumru Hotel thank you for a wonderfull stay. Sjura

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjura s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

During our 10 days in Turkey we stayed in a couple of hotels in and outside Istanbul. Kumru Hotel was the best of all. Our experience with the hotel owners and staff was absolutely positive - they are extremely friendly and helpful. They always offer their guests help without imposing. The room was very clean, including the stylish bathroom. The view from the hotel is not that of a sea or the Blue Mosque but a typical Istanbul small street that well corresponds with the hotel's setting near the Kücük Ayasofia, in a neighbourhood where one can well experience the real Turkish element.
The breakfast on the terrace of the hotel was another experience. It was rich and tasty.
We were also well advised by one of the hotel's owners on a trip outside Istanbul that was definitely worth it and that enriched our stay there.
If we go back to Istanbul, we will definitely stay at the Kumru Hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Initially booked in 3 nights at Divas Hotel. They were supposed to be my last 3 days of the trip before heading back. The bad reception service I got that evening at Divas really turned me off. Went up to the bedroom, very small (nice view though), with no bath tub.. Not worth the price I pay for. After checking in at the Divas went strolling down to find a place to have a bite to eat. By passing this new hotel ( thought it was a restaurant) the guy at the reception was waiving at me and my friends. We decided to go in and check it out. Showed us the room, large bathroom with bath tub, brand new reno. I just learnt that they had just opened for 2 weeks. This Turkish reception person turned out to be the owner of the hotel. So nice of him to show us the way to a good restaurant around. We decided to get out of the Divas Hotel the next morning and stayed at Kumru Hotel for the next 2 days. It was the best decision of the last leg of my trip. The Hotel also arranged for us this lovely restaurant at the fish market for the new year eve evening, met some nice German couples. Had a good experience and the vibrance that the Turkish celebrating New Year count down I would never forger.... I would recommend this hotel to anyone without hesitation.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CSSN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

First time in Istanbul with friends. Stayed for 7 days and found this pleasant and comfortable hotel in the Sultanahmet neighborhood. Within walking distance of the Hippodrome, the Blue mosque, the Hagia Sophia and the tram that runs towards the Grand Bizarre and spice market.
The staff was very kind and hospitable and treated us to a large breakfast each morning and gave us lots of help in finding our way around the city.
Our rooms were very well appointed with beautiful, large marbled bathrooms.
I highly recommend Hotel Kumru for anyone visiting this marvelous city.

Room Tip: Even smallest rooms are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roxinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCT672, Owner at Kumru Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2011

Thank you for the kind response. With just opening the week of your stay, we appreciate your input and patience as we worked through some bugs. We hope to see you again soon at the Kumru Hotel and are glad that we met your expectations.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Burckin Suites Hotel
Burckin Suites Hotel
#320 of 1,159 in Istanbul
445 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#72 of 1,159 in Istanbul
957 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#17 of 1,159 in Istanbul
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Best Western Antea Palace Hotel & Spa
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#761 of 1,159 in Istanbul
621 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#24 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kumru Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kumru Hotel

Address: Kardirga Liman CAD Yusufaskin SOK No 6, Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 1,079 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range: £23 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kumru Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kumru Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing