We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hayriye Hanim Konagi Hotel
Ranked #51 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Lund, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A real gem”
Reviewed 6 July 2012

This hotel is probably the nicest I've stayed at. Not luxurious, but very nice. The hotel staff is very friendly and caring, without feeling intrusive.
The hotel is not in the tourist area, but right next to the big sulamaniemosqe. The hotel is placed on a hill, which means that you have a lovely view from their roofterrace over Bosporus and the Golden horn. And it only took a short time time walk down to the central harbour with the spiesmarket and the new mosqe. A little longer to walk back to the hotel uphills...

The area is the old parts of Istanbul, where the rich people used to live during the ottoman empire. Today the area is sadly dilapidated. The steet is a part of UNESCOs worlds heritage and in urgent need of repair.

I warmly recommend this hotel to people who like to get of the tourist center. After a long day of sightseeing was the small pool valuable.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yvonne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    113
    24
    8
    4
See reviews for
102
306
38
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

The Hotel is an old building that has been totally restored. In the middle of vibrant Istanbul the Hotel and the old courtyard are an oasis of relaxation. Great staff, very Friends, very helpful. The atmosphere is like family. It was my second time there and I was very pleased - again!!! Wonderful breakfast buffet, sitting at the pool.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rolandschroeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

On a short business trip I had chosen this hotel, due to the relative low cost compared to Best Western, Hilton, Crown Plaza, etc.
The HHK hotel is a 4 star hotel with a 5 class service for a very attractive price.
I turned out the best decision I could have ever made!
Great room with a superb view over the Bosporus and the Golden Horn, relative small but very attractive swimming pool and a hamam after a hard day in the office and rooftop terrace with a great view for a closing beer, soda or a glass of wine.
Only a 10 minute walk to the old city and it's Grand Bazar and a 15 minute walk to the Aya Sofya. The Suleymaniye Mosque is right behind the hotel.
But most of all, the staff is so helpful, interested and friendly, that I am sure to book again. Next time I will book direct at the Hotels own website.
If you are planning a business trip and would like to see something of Istanbul as well, choose this hotel, but also if you plan a romantic weekend or short break with your wife or girlfriend it is an excellent hotel, also highly recommended by others.
Thank you very much staff and owners of the HHK Hotel!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dsb188590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

A lovely hotel with excellent staff and beautiful decor. Nice little pool with wonderful view over the Golden Horn and city. Next to the impressive Suleymaniye mosque and easy access to attractions in Istanbul. Delicious food and reasonable cost. We would definitely go back and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Cheapest rooms are small, but comfortable. Worth being in an upstairs, larger room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catbloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Yes, as other travelers have stated, the area around the hotel is a bit dilapidated. But, do not judge the hotel because of that. I felt completely safe the entire time I stayed at this wonderful hotel. The staff is extremely kind and attentive. It is only about a 10-15 minute walk from the touristy areas. I truly enjoyed my stay and would highly recommend this adorable hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RachelApps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hazlemere, Bucks
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

HHK Hotel was an Ottoman mansion in the 1850s and refurbishment (completed in 2012) is absolutely beautiful with gold leaf ceiling and panelling, modern shower rooms with crystal taps and continued thru the room on bedside lights and chandeliers. Sumptuous dressing of windows with swags and tails in fabulous fabrics.

Breakfast is an array of cold meats and cheeses and delicious Turkish breads plus
wonderful home made jams, fruits, cereals, and a hot buffet of eggs, potatoes, pastries and frankfurters, etc. We ate dinner once in the hotel and it was excellent, as was the tremendous menu in the nearby Café Haliç, owned by the same family and with the same fantastic views overlooking the Golden Horn and Bosporus.

The hotel is well within walking distance of all the major sites in the old part of the city and the frequent, modern trams quickly take you over Galata Bridge to Taksim Square and Independence Avenue, the Oxford Street of Istanbul.

The service from everybody at the hotel was fantastic and we would particularly highlight for praise Ulaş on reception, the breakfast waiter and the concierge who handled our bags.

We will be back!

Room Tip: Views from the rooms overlooking the Golden Horn and Bosporus (towards Taksim and the Galata Tower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EricandJeanette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gijón, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

I went with a friend for a week, and I have to say that it is probably the best hotel to stay in Istabul. Close to Suleyman´s mosque and to Grand Bazaar, it is also easy to go by walk to Sultanhamet and other interesting places. Rooms are really beautiful and clean, and breakfast looking at Galata Tower and the is amazing! Everybody was very kind to us, so I am sure that if i come back to Istanbul I will stay in the same place...

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Raquel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#6 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,963 reviews
The Grand Tarabya
#62 of 1,141 in Istanbul
483 reviews
Sultanahmet
Agora Life Hotel
Agora Life Hotel
#58 of 1,141 in Istanbul
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#4 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,948 reviews
Sultanahmet
Walton Hotels Sultanahmet
Walton Hotels Sultanahmet
#25 of 1,141 in Istanbul
132 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#11 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hayriye Hanim Konagi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hayriye Hanim Konagi Hotel

Property: Hayriye Hanim Konagi Hotel
Address: Demirtas Mah.Hayriye Hanim Sok.No:19. | Suleymaniye, Istanbul 34116, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Grand Bazaar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hayriye Hanim Konagi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HHK Hotel Hayriye Hanim Konagi was built in 1850 and it is an original Ottoman mansion house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hayriye Hanim Konagi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing