We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standing ovation for HHK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hayriye Hanim Konagi Hotel
Ranked #68 of 1,148 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Avignon, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Standing ovation for HHK”
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Before reading this short review, you have probably looked at the photos and read some
information of this old wooden Ottoman mansion turned into a very charming boutique hotel.
So you know how beautiful it is looking like and which are its modern amenities including a
swimming pool.
After a very happy fortnight stay at HHK we can confirm the outstanding qualities of this place
and its extraordinary situation in spite of the immediate neighbourhood partly in ruin and ongoing public works.
However the two trumps of HHK are its fantastic view and its crew. From the hotel you have a
view from the Golden Horn to the Bosphorus with as special attraction the permanent ballet of
ferries transporting the population between the old, the modern town and the Asiatic side of
Istanbul, further away the berthing of big cruise ships and transiting tankers and container ships on the Bosphorus.
About the staff and personnel of HHK, they are really remarkable.They are very friendly,
cheerful, helpful, attentive and engaging. They make you feel as a very special welcome host
and as a real pacha.
We sincerely felt sorry leaving HHK and hope to be back once again.

Room Tip: with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GauraC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    500
    113
    24
    8
    4
See reviews for
103
306
38
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2012

The hotel is converted from a traditional Ottoman house, on a hillside with winding streets like the ones described in the guides, so the atmosphere is intimate with personal service. The friendly staff made useful suggestions for our trips and helped with taxis when needed. The view across the Golden Horn and over the Galata Bridge is stunning and grabs the attention from the room or the balcony. We enjoyed the breakfasts and evening meal we had there. The New Mosque and spice market are quite close but the hotel provides a tranquil haven after a busy day sight-seeing. The area is very mixed, some houses renovated and some rather dilapidated, but we felt safe wandering round seeing real Istanbullis working and playing outside their homes.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katharine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We have just returned to Australia after a fantastic few days in Istanbul. We were extremely happy with the Hotel. The staff were all superb, the rooms were spotlessly clean, the outside area, overlooking istanbul, was very relaxing - watching the city lights in the evening sipping raki is something I could get used to!

While the hotel does not seem to be as close to the main sights as some would prefer - it is actually very well located as everything is in easy walking distance and Istanbul is a city to be discovered on foot.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VincentpriceOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2012

the hotel is verry nice . I like the desing in the rooms . an the view from the balcony was fantastic.The breakfast was verry good and the cay was verry taisty.I verry like the service and the room was verry good i like the nice vaitres in your hotel

Room Tip: it was all excellente:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2012

HHK was perfect for our stay in Istanbul. We like boutique hotels representative of the culture. HHK was a beautifully restored wooden mansion, but with all the modern conveniences and a wonderful view!
It was also convenient to the Bazaars and the historic old city (Suleymaniye).
The staff was the most helpful and gracious we have ever had.
Most of the transportation will probably be by taxi which was thankfully directed by the staff for us.
The Marketing Director will help with tours, restaurants and entertainment.
The accomodations and accomodating staff made for a wonderful visit.

Room Tip: Ask for the one in the picture. You might get lucky!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosanne15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

I stayed at this hotel for just one night, but wish I had stayed longer. The staff and management could not be more helpful and friendly, the room was very well appointed and the pool area was a real oasis in the middle of Istanbul. The area is run down, but the hotel looks over the sight of a new bridge and is up the hill from a new station. In a couple of years, I'm sure the area will have totally changed and it may be impossible to book a room her. As other reviewers have said, the hotel gives you a feeling of real life in Istanbul and is a short (but steep) walk to the waterfront. I ate dinner at the hotel and met several other guests, which made an enjoyable evening. If you like staying in impersonal hotels with no character, this isn't the place for you, but I definately want to go back!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank London1915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mudanya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We stayed last weekend for two nights at HHK.Before we have reserved via hotel's directly contact,we read with my wife all reviews and of course we were extremely impressed.We often visit Istanbul for business and to see some relatives.We mostly were choosing international chain hotels but I guess not any more cos we really felt like at home,slept pretty well on a very comfortable bed and satisfied with smiling face service.

That is why we are so much thankful for all positive comments and absulately agree with all . Highly recommend with self complacency !

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tolga K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#5 of 1,148 in Istanbul
2,974 reviews
Sultanahmet
Walton Hotels Sultanahmet
Walton Hotels Sultanahmet
#47 of 1,148 in Istanbul
132 reviews
The Grand Tarabya
#66 of 1,148 in Istanbul
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#4 of 1,148 in Istanbul
2,960 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#12 of 1,148 in Istanbul
2,909 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Legacy Ottoman Hotel
Legacy Ottoman Hotel
#241 of 1,148 in Istanbul
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hayriye Hanim Konagi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hayriye Hanim Konagi Hotel

Property: Hayriye Hanim Konagi Hotel
Address: Demirtas Mah.Hayriye Hanim Sok.No:19. | Suleymaniye, Istanbul 34116, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Grand Bazaar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 1,148 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hayriye Hanim Konagi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HHK Hotel Hayriye Hanim Konagi was built in 1850 and it is an original Ottoman mansion house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hayriye Hanim Konagi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing