We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hayriye Hanim Konagi Hotel
Ranked #71 of 1,154 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great staff”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed here for four nights as part of a trip around Eastern Europe. This hotel was a great find, with lots of character in an interesting area of the city. The staff are excellent throughout our stay. They paid our taxi fare having arrived by bus at Istanbul coach station late at night. On arrival we were greeted with welcome drinking and the main highlights of the city were pointed out to us from the lovely rooftop terrace which has great city views. We were recommended excellent local restaurants, such as Handi nearby and a good local haman. Staff always served with a smile and went out of their way to be friendly and welcoming. The whole building is an amazing renovation of an ottoman original; the refurb pictures in reception are great to look at. Breakfast on the terrace daily by the pool was met with the sun over views of Istanbul. While other people on here have said about the neighbourhood we found people to be friendly on our many walks around the local area. There is a hill to walk up to get to this hotel but it is very short. I would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone who wants a stay in a fascinating area of Istanbul away from the many faceless chain hotels.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    500
    113
    24
    8
    4
See reviews for
103
306
38
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This hotel was at a great location in Istanbul. Granted getting there was a bit tricky (lots of narrow winding uphill streets), but the location itself was prime. It was in the heart of old town with the most things nearby, the Bazaar, the mosques, everything.
The hotel itself was SO gorgeous! The courtyard, the pool with the view, the rooms itself.. simply beautiful. It was a boutique hotel that retained a lot of the old characteristics of the building, but made everything more luxurious.
We had complimentary breakfast every morning - and man I still miss those breakfasts! Such a nice spread of cheeses, bread, cold cuts, fresh cherries, etc. The local cheeses were fantastic!!!
The service was also great. Everyone always greeted us with politeness and were always eager to please. When we were checking out, they gifted us with a box of Turkish delights!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank sabz3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We had a great time during our stay in HHK! This boutique hotel has excellent services and friendly staff, despite the tricky location. It is very close- walking distance to Galata bridge and Eminonu, however the neighborhood is a bit "rough" but we did not have any problems. We walked everywhere during the day and in the evenings we used to get a taxi on our way back. It is true that you get a a real sense of Istanbul, its people and culture.
The view to Bosporus is great, so ask for a room with a view and not the one close to the street.
We booked a private hamam for couples through the hotel and the whole experience was great. Highly recommended it!

Room Tip: The view to Bosporus is great, so ask for a room with a view and not the one close to the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myrto S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We spent in the hotel 2 nights and totally loved it.
It's located just below the Suleyman Mosque, on the hill, the views are spectacular.
The area is very interesting: if you like going off the beaten track, you'll be delighted, as it's in the heart of a non-tourist area. Benefits? You'll get to see how locals live and eat what they eat, everything at the very low prices (you'll stop drinking water having freshly squeezed orange juice for 1TL all around you!)

The hotel itself is lovely. It has a terrace overlooking Bosphorus and a little swimming pool.
The staff are so helpful, so friendly that you can't wish for more. An absolute perfection.


It's an amazing place, I found it magical. I'll be definitely staying there on my next trip to Istanbul!

Room Tip: Just 1 warning: avoid the room at the ground floor opposite the reception desk. You'll hear eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank szczurzynka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kazan, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Hotel located in the heart of the old town in an old Ottoman mansion. The possibility of visiting all the sights . The atmosphere of comfort and care for you. The feeling of your stay by the private invitation. Design as in a palace. the presence of the hammam and swimming pool. View from the terrace of the entire city. The professional and friendly and attentive staff. The varied and tasty breakfast. This hotel has no flaws. In my view, it could cost more.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nataliekt847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

This place was in the middle of what I am told by my friends from Istanbul is the 'ghetto' - it's not exactly picturesque on your way up the hill. But I loved it. You got a real sense of Istanbul, away from the touristy area but close enough to walk everywhere. When you finally make it to the hotel, it is just lovely. A little pool in the middle of the breakfast area, a terrace with benches and armchairs, some tables to eat, and all of it overlooking the river and the city.

The service is incredible. Really friendly staff, including the owner, who let me use his Ipad when I needed to check something online rather than go to the local internet cafe, because he was worried it would be too hot for me and they wouldn't speak English. The other staff are all friendly and efficient and made us feel really at home.

Breakfast was nice. The rooms are air conditioned, with mini bars and a TV. Bathrooms clean, soft furnishings very luxurious.

Well worth the money.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms look over the concrete, which isn't great, but the curtains hide it. There are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie_RT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dharamsala, India
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We have stayed hhk hotel just 3 nights. there was unbelievable bosphorus view especially at nights !! After the dinner you can watch the sky on terrace with drinking something .
furthermore,the hotel was close to all the historical areas and shopping center.
Staff were so kind and the room was very well furnished.
If you chance to visit turkey you should stay hhk

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#5 of 1,154 in Istanbul
2,982 reviews
Sultanahmet
Walton Hotels Sultanahmet
Walton Hotels Sultanahmet
#39 of 1,154 in Istanbul
135 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#4 of 1,154 in Istanbul
2,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#19 of 1,154 in Istanbul
2,092 reviews
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#16 of 1,154 in Istanbul
253 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Legacy Ottoman Hotel
Legacy Ottoman Hotel
#244 of 1,154 in Istanbul
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hayriye Hanim Konagi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hayriye Hanim Konagi Hotel

Property: Hayriye Hanim Konagi Hotel
Address: Demirtas Mah.Hayriye Hanim Sok.No:19. | Suleymaniye, Istanbul 34116, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Grand Bazaar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 1,154 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hayriye Hanim Konagi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HHK Hotel Hayriye Hanim Konagi was built in 1850 and it is an original Ottoman mansion house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hayriye Hanim Konagi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing