We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“HHK Hotel is one of the best things about Istanbul”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hayriye Hanim Konagi Hotel
Ranked #47 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“HHK Hotel is one of the best things about Istanbul”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

From the moment we booked, we knew we were on a winner. We emailed the hotel to find out about airport transfer to receive a quick reply at 10pm Turkish time from Lutfiye (the Front Office Manager) telling us that they'll pick us up for free because we've stayed for more than a few nights. What a pleasant surprise.

Upon arrival, we were given some welcome drinks and warmly greeted by staff who gave us a brief run-down of Istanbul. Although, short it was a wealth of knowledge that placed us well for our five-day stay. It was hard to pay attention though when you're overlooking the skyline of Istanbul from their pool area and terrace. It was far more than we bargained for.

We were then taken to our rooms to discover a very ornate room that was very functional. the hotel itself was an old Turkish building lived in by aristocrats, which had since been restored - very pretty even in the common areas. Although not all rooms are the same, our room had a shower and Turkish bath, a very ornate vanity and one of the most comfortable beds and pillows I've slept on what at a hotel anywhere in the world. The view from our room overlooked the water and Istanbul skyline, as well as some adjacent mosques. It was particularly pretty during sunset. The rooms are relatively large and has everything that you would want for a few days.

There is a restaurant, a pool deck and communal outdoor seating area to enjoy the view during selected hours. We hadn't eaten at the restaurant in the evening, however the breakfast was plentiful and consisted of coffees, juice, teas along with eggs, meats, breads cheese and fruit. It had a Middle Eastern and European influence to it. The pool is relatively small but give its location, it's not too bad and is very functional.

The pool was about ten meters long so it was more like a domestic pool than one you'd get in a hotel, however given the space that the owners have to work with they have done a great job. If you do choose to stay the HHK Hotel then being on the outdoor seating area around sunset is worth it as you watch the city transition into the evening.

A couple of minor things that could do with some improvement is that the fridge in the room is more a wine fridge than a refrigerator, meaning that the drinks are just cool but not cold. Not great if you come back at the end of a hot day in Istanbul to crave cold water. Also, the Wi-Fi worked well more of the time but during times of peak periods, it didn't cope and would often drop out.

On the matter of security, once inside the hotel grounds you are safe as there is one entrance and the door is always locked. There are also security cameras around the perimeter. I could understand how people feel unsafe in the surrounding area as it does look a bit derelict but that is the Old City of Istanbul. My initial thoughts were "where the heck have come?" but we didn't have any problems throughout the course of our stay and even found the local kids practicing their English when we walked past.

After a good stay at HHK, we did have one event that left us with a slightly sour taste. We asked for assistance in a transfer to the airport. We were given one price and later that evening, the cost seemed to have an extra 10 Euros on top. After discussing it with the person on the front desk, we were told that it was the price and if we didn't like it we should book our own. This was not typical of the rest of our stay, so we were left a little disappointed.

All in all though, I would recommend this place to anyone visiting Istanbul and I would certainly stay there again on my next visit.

Room Tip: If you do stay at HHK for more than a couple of days, they will pick you up free of charge (check wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    113
    24
    8
    4
See reviews for
102
306
38
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

A great small and extremely pleasant hotel. It is managed with a lot of care and a very supportive and friendly attitude. Staff are always available and accessible, from concierge to catering. I strongly recommend to stay out of the usual tourist area and discover this gem and the quiet surrounding environment.

Room Tip: room 301 offers one of the most fantastic view in the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ranieriguerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kabul
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Unique hotel close to Galata bridge. Beautifully restored building with a magnificent view over Golden Horn bay. Very friendly staff. A bit difficult to find (taxi stopped at a wrong place first). There is not a lot of choice in good hotels in the area. This one is a gem.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andres017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

This old large renovated Ottoman house is a great place to stay. You are close to all the tourist city sites although of a night we got taxis to and from restaurants as there are none real close by.
The rooms are clean and a good size.
The breakfast provided fresh, heaps of variety and plenty of it.
The view fantastic. The swimming pool so refreshing after a day of walking,
The staff and two owners so friendly, kind and helpful. they will do anything at all to make your time in Istanbul wonderful and the places they recommend to visit are spot on..

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank heatheraussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Fantasic views of the Bospherous and lots of Istanbul, from shared pool-deck and upper terrace. Breakfast is excellent. Staff are very helpful and friendly. Beds and pillows are very comfortable. Great location at the top of a hill amongst quiet local neighbourhood. A steep walk to the hotel. 20-30 min walk to Sultanahmet, Grand Bazaar, Blue Mosque.
The only negative is the lack of restaurants within a short walking distance -you really need to go back to the fish restaurants under the bridge or back to Sultanahmet for evening meals or eat at the hotel.

Room Tip: There are 2 rooms under the upper deck terrace. They have great views but are very small rooms. We a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatePAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
98 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

This little boutique hotel is situated on the Asian side of Istanbul which is more cultural and authentic. First off, one is greeted like a king with a kindness that I have never experienced before in a hotel. It offers a breathtaking view of Istanbul and the Bosphorus. Clean , efficient, and walking distance to public transportation, The Istanbul Tram which is very convenient, affordable and comfortable. It is also walking distance from the Suleimaniyah Mosque (3mins) and Spice Bazar (10mins) and if you're a walker, you can reach many of the other sites on foot as well. (check map). You'll get a super package filled with brochures and maps at the front desk.

Breakfast time is charming, it's by the little pool of the hotel with a backdrop of the city, you feel that unbeatable Istanbul breeze and hear the constant cawing of the seagulls. HHK offers a generous breakfast buffet.

The main drawback of the location is that you have to walk down very humble impoverished roads and then back up to reach the hotel. At night, the narrow roads get quite dark and it didn't feel safe to me.
Taxi drivers in Istanbul tend to rip off tourists so make sure that you agree on a price BEFORE you get into the taxi (ask about local prices at hotel) or better yet , allow the hotel to call one for you if needed.

Try MANTI the local macaroni in yoghurt dish at the hotel, it's delicious.

If everyone talks of the kindness of the HHK staff, there is a reason and you'd see why if you booked it.

Enjoy Istanbul!

Room Tip: we eventually took the superior room which was the nicest. If you want to book a standard room , ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Myrza313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed here for four nights as part of a trip around Eastern Europe. This hotel was a great find, with lots of character in an interesting area of the city. The staff are excellent throughout our stay. They paid our taxi fare having arrived by bus at Istanbul coach station late at night. On arrival we were greeted with welcome drinking and the main highlights of the city were pointed out to us from the lovely rooftop terrace which has great city views. We were recommended excellent local restaurants, such as Handi nearby and a good local haman. Staff always served with a smile and went out of their way to be friendly and welcoming. The whole building is an amazing renovation of an ottoman original; the refurb pictures in reception are great to look at. Breakfast on the terrace daily by the pool was met with the sun over views of Istanbul. While other people on here have said about the neighbourhood we found people to be friendly on our many walks around the local area. There is a hill to walk up to get to this hotel but it is very short. I would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone who wants a stay in a fascinating area of Istanbul away from the many faceless chain hotels.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#4 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,941 reviews
Sultanahmet
Agora Life Hotel
Agora Life Hotel
#48 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Beyoglu
Georges Hotel Galata
Georges Hotel Galata
#90 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#5 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,915 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#42 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Hotel Niles Istanbul
#22 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hayriye Hanim Konagi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hayriye Hanim Konagi Hotel

Property: Hayriye Hanim Konagi Hotel
Address: Demirtas Mah.Hayriye Hanim Sok.No:19. | Suleymaniye, Istanbul 34116, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Grand Bazaar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hayriye Hanim Konagi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HHK Hotel Hayriye Hanim Konagi was built in 1850 and it is an original Ottoman mansion house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hayriye Hanim Konagi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing