We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Ottoman hotel experience - once in a lifetime!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hayriye Hanim Konagi Hotel
Ranked #47 of 1,134 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Authentic Ottoman hotel experience - once in a lifetime!”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We loved our 5 night stay at HHK so much that we extended our planned visit in Istanbul. The hotel is a beautifully restored ottoman mansion set on the hill under the Suleiymane mosque with the most fantastic view from your bedroom window of the Golden Horn, the Galata bridge and the ferries and boats crossing the Bosphurus. The hotel is also just a short 10-15 minute to the Grand bazaar, the university and the major tourist sites within the old city walls of Sultanahmet. Our bedrooms were small but perfectly decorated and a bargain for the reasonable prices charged, the breakfast was good and the staff were so friendly and helpful - we felt like we were returning home each night as we were greeted with a smile and chat at the door.
Our breakfast man had our coffee order down pat by day 2 and the complimentary tea on the top terrace upon returning from our daily sightseeing trips was a lovely extra touch.
Whilst the surrounding local area and houses are a bit run down and derelict (as they are slowly restoring the old mansions in the area) please don't be put off by this - Just don't miss the best
chance to really see and feel the true Istanbul that you just won't get if you stay in a normal
chain hotel. Not for the package tourist but definitely for those travelers seeking an authentic turkish experience that will stay with them for a lifetime!

Room Tip: If you are happy to stay in a small space, rooms 402 and 404 have the best water view right from you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank REH_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    113
    24
    8
    4
See reviews for
102
306
38
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We loved our 3 night stay at HHK. The staff were all extremely kind and looked after us very well. The hotel is in a nice quiet location with spectacular views - up quite a steep hill so maybe not for the less abled but fantastic otherwise.
Breakfast is very good with plenty of options. Make sure you only drink bottled water, do NOT drink tap water as it will make you ill! This is for all of Istanbul not just the hotel.
They kindly provided a free pick up from the airport which was very easy.

The location is great - close enough to walk to everything, but not in the loud area which is nice. The staff very kindly talked us through how to get to everything.

The sauna is lovely too.

I would definitely recommend staying at this hotel - it was great value and fantastic service with a smile!

Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KT123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We had a great time during our stay in this boutique hotel. It has a magic aura as this hotel is a renovated mansion, and the feeling was that we went back in time to the 19th century.
We took the standard room on the second floor - not big, but quite enough for a couple. and decorated well.
There is a fascinating view of the Golden Horn and Bosporus from the terrace and the restaurant.
The breakfasts were good.
The location is only 5 minutes from fascinating Suleymaniye mosque, and some 10-15 minutes from Spice market and Galata Bridge.
It is little bit away from the main tourist quarter, but is close to the buses, tram and ferry and has an authentic taste of non tourist Istanbul.
The hotel is on the hill with a great view. there is a construction site of a new bridge down the hill, but no noise at all.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tattiella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I stayed in hhk hotel 3 nights for my wife birthday,it was amazing place to stay,firstly very centrally located in an old part of the istanbul.Rooms are well decorted like a palace.Most friendly staff are all ways smile and make feel like at home.Recepcion desk gave us advise about istanbul,we walked all place walking we didn't use a taxi.One night we had eat dinner in hotel's restaurant it was very nice you can taste special turkish foods in there.In morning the buffet breafast was perfect with all turkish cheese.Highly recommend this hotel.I will stay again...

Room Tip: superior rooms are big and nice wiew from bosphours!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alina g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Excellent location within the historical area of Istanbul.Unforgetable view from the terrace.Very good service despite slight difficulties in English language .Enjoyed extremely our three nights stay.
We stayed our first night in Istanbul at Taksim area and we thought it was wonderful but this hotel is unbelievable .a pleasant surprise.
Will recommend it to couples especially.
We are from Singapore...

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nong2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I stayed in this beautiful hotel 3 nights with my friends,we were very enjoy it,service was perfect and staff were very friendly,perfect location for tourist you can go everywhere by walking,the terrace is outstanding with a bosphours wiew.They have very nice restaurant in a hotel,you can eat very delicious food in it.Rooms are decorated very cute.Highly recommend it for all toursits and couples..We will come back to HHK hotel very soon.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Der88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kos Town, Greece
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2013

İ stay this hotel 2 nights for my girl friends birtday it was really very romantic i advise this hotel for all youg couples 6 months ago i went there for business and this time i went with my girl friend if you want to feel diffrent choose this hotel

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kuranaydi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#5 of 1,134 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,948 reviews
Sultanahmet
Agora Life Hotel
Agora Life Hotel
#46 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Beyoglu
Georges Hotel Galata
Georges Hotel Galata
#104 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#4 of 1,134 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,932 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#41 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Hotel Niles Istanbul
#23 of 1,134 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hayriye Hanim Konagi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hayriye Hanim Konagi Hotel

Property: Hayriye Hanim Konagi Hotel
Address: Demirtas Mah.Hayriye Hanim Sok.No:19. | Suleymaniye, Istanbul 34116, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Grand Bazaar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 1,134 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hayriye Hanim Konagi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HHK Hotel Hayriye Hanim Konagi was built in 1850 and it is an original Ottoman mansion house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hayriye Hanim Konagi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing