We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hospitality from the heart”
Review of Green House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Green House
Ranked #14 of 1,195 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“hospitality from the heart”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

If you are looking for a nice place with warm and caring people around you (staff and guests!), congratulations, you've found the right place. At the right price. Dormitory was perfect, clean, great quality matress. A real deal. I went to Istanbul while dealing with a depression. They didn't know how such a genuine welcome helped me. Talat (manager) invited other guests and myself to a restaurant. I had a wonderful evening full of joy. I shall start working soon as a concierge within a five star hotel in London. Talat is an inspiration. I explained during the interview process how I encountered a genuine hospitality from the heart in Istanbul. I hope IT will be able to ensure all our guests experience such generosity in London. A big thank you for an amazing experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank fab r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    49
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
18
23
89
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

The Green House is absoulutelly outstanding hostel with a great location in a calm hidden street near to Taksim. The staff is friendly and very helpfull. I had a chance to meet a cool people over there and am happy choosing exactly this hostel three times already!
Thanks Talat !!
Daniel

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Good hostel good staff one to go for!
Nice airco, good location, what can I say?
I travelled alone, but the pick from the airport (2 a.m.) was very nice.
All was very safe, Anna knows the area and all speak English.
Very clean! They even make your bed, very interesting for a hostel!
Break fast is ok, in the basement or in front of the hostel.
No garden or so, but you don't need it with that location!!
Very good value for money, very good service.
The only thing is the stairwell perhaps, very uneven.
But they help you with the suitcases so it is fine!

Room Tip: Good for a trip alone or for groups, good accomodation, good location, perfect price. Dedicated staf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank YvonnevRBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

The Green House has a great location, just two short blocks off of Cumhuriyet Caddesi, and close to Taksim Square and the Istanbul Hilton. The staff are very helpful - for example when my luggage went astray they phone the airline and arranged to have it dropped off at the hostel. The breakfast, which is included, had all-you-can-eat tomatoes, cucumbers, tahini, cheese, olives, milk, cereal, bread, spreads, etc. There is also a small family-run restaurant beside the hostel that serves good Turkish food. The hostel is clean and I received everything that was promised at the stated price.

Room Tip: I had a family room with its own shower and toilet, which suited me well. Dorms with shared facilit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Good stuff: Very friendly staff. I had quite a bit of luggage and they helped me get it in and out of the room. There were lockers in each room, the whole hostel was very clean, and the free breakfast was decent. The internet was pretty reliable, as well. It was such a short walk to Taksim, everything was right at my fingertips. The manager was frequently in the hostel so I could ask him as well as the woman at the front desk questions, which they always answered knowledgeably.

Not-so-good stuff: It was really hot, and it was very uncomfortable in the rooms without air conditioning! The lower levels were cooler, though. The electricity went out once for an hour or two, but I'm not sure how common that is. It wasn't a big deal.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I recommend this hostel as it is cheap, close to the main square and specially as the owner and staff are really kind, the owner really care about the clients, he treat me as friend giving me all the advice and information i could need, and Ana the "assistant" explained and bocked the best activities and tour i could do! Thanks and hope to see you soon

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diego_nicita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Our experience in Istanbul, near the Taksim Square was just amazing. What made the difference in our experience was the servicing at Green House Hostel. The breakfast is delicious and just enough to start a very energetic day. Talat, the owner, is the best host my girlfriend and I ever had, we spent a great time with him and the whole hostel team. We get well informed and slept in really comfortable beds. We highly recommend this hostel for you... My next trip to Istanbul, I will definitely go back to the "Green House Hostel Experience."

Room Tip: Ask for the apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Juan_Fayad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#122 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,459 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#8 of 1,134 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,930 reviews
Sisli
Konak Hotel
Konak Hotel
#306 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Villa Pera Suite Hotel
Villa Pera Suite Hotel
#125 of 1,134 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Sisli
#bunk taksim
#bunk taksim
#11 of 1,195 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Juliet Rooms & Kitchen
#18 of 1,195 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green House

Property: Green House
Address: Inonu Mahallesi, Cumhuriyet Caddesi, Papa Roncalli Sokak No: 15 | Elmadag, Taksim, Sisli, Istanbul 34437, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sisli , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 1,195 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence Winner every year since 2013 … what makes us so successful? Top location – right in the city’s centre. Taksim Area, which is the heart of the entertainment and social life of Istanbul but we are just a few streets back from the hustle and bustle ensuring you still get a good nights sleep! A great yet cheap hostel nestled in the centre of Istanbul. Great value accommodation in a central location for travellers to Istanbul on a budget. The ideal starting point for sightseeing, shopping and nightlife! Hostel nearest to Havatas Airport Shuttle Bus! Subway, ferry, train, taxi station, trams and buses all are close by and easy to use. We are happy to give you directions wherever you want to go. Most of the city’s main attractions such as Blue Mosque, Haghia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Basilica Cistern, Grand Bazar, Bosphorus, Dolmabahce Palace, Galata Tower and the famous Istiklal Avenue are in walking distance or short trip with public transport. Istanbul Conference Centre is just 5 minutes away from the hostel. Groups and Walk-ins are welcomed! Istanbul Taksim Green House Hostel is located in a historic building, which means no elevator however we have a variety of rooms available to suit every traveler. We have 6 person mixed/female dormitories and if you are a family or a couple in need of a night to yourselves we also have plenty private rooms available Our rooms are spacious, decorated in light colours-equipped with an air conditioner (real air conditioning, not just a fan) and central heating system, WiFi that works in the rooms and specially designed wooden bunk beds which never squeak and are very comfortable. All rooms have private showers so that you don’t have to wander the halls in a towel and hot water is available 24 hours a day. Istanbul Taksim Green House Hostel hostel is where comfort and warmth meets vibrant energy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Green House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing